We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Diocleziano - LOVED IT! And definitely will come back”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #47 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We went to Rome in July 2010, stayed at this hotel for 5 nights (before a cruise). The staff was awesome! They spoke English and they were very helpful. They helped us get a limo from the hotel to the cruise ship. The room (twin beds) was nice and very clean. The hotel is located on a very quiet street, it felt very safe. The Termini is a short walk (about 10 minutes) from the hotel. Lots of places to eat near by. Breakfast was awesome...deli meat, toast, eggs.. yum!

I would say the only negative is that the shower stall is super small. I'm 5'3, and petite and I barely had any room to move around. I noticed that in some of the photos on this site, the shower stalls are bigger so I guess it depends on which room you get. So make sure you ask for a shower stall that's big.

I highly recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for a nice and affordable hotel in Rome. I will definitely come back to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at Hotel Diocleziano from June 2, 2011 through June 6, 2011. This was my second time at this hotel. Every aspect of this hotel is perfect in my opinion. First, the location is ideal in that it is just a few minutes from Termini station. Second, the hotel staff is incredibly professional, helpful, accommodating and friendly, especially Tommasso and Giordano. The rooms are quite spacious for European standards and very well kept. The breakfast is quite good and the service staff does an incredible job. Having a gym facility was really a nice touch for someone like me who enjoys working out. The stocked mini-bar (at no charge to the guests) pleasantly surprised me again as you just don't see this at other hotels. Simply put, Hotel Diocleziano is a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA-CATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Small friendly Hotel - Exceptional standards of cleanliness throughout - Quality additions were free including - mini bar- room safe - newspapers- wi fi - Gym and Sauna etc .Quality breakfast. Excellent Service. Very well located for City trip -Walking distance to Termini .Hotel will arrange Sightseeing Tours etc. We would go again....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mieleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

After much angst and never having been to Rome, we settled on Hotel Dio for our Rome vacation. Everything was better than expected - the staff were superior -- at the front desk, the bar and at breakfast. It was like being with family - Tomasso and staff would do anything for us, including arranging for an English speaking doctor to make a house call when my husband became ill. The hotel is very clean, on a quiet, uncrowded street and in a great location for walking or taking public transportation to all the sites. While common areas were not huge, they were tastefully decorated with beautiful tapestries on the walls. Local trattoria recommendations were excellent and just what we wanted - great food in a relaxed, local atmosphere. If luxury is what you want, go elsewhere. If you want a great stay with friendly, helpful people, this is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

If all roads lead to Rome, all Roman public transport leads to Termini. This hotel is located withing a 100 metres or so of that famous station so getting around from here is easy.
We found the hotel has all we needed with very kind staff, quiet rooms and good air conditioning. Priced above some of the bargains we have to say we have no regrets; we had a busy schedule and each evening we had a comfortable place to return to with good breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubelero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Diocleziano from 16th to 22nd May and can't praise it enough !
This small (ish) modern hotel was ideally situated just away from the hustle and bustle of Terminii station in a quiet renovated area. Metro, bus and train facilities were a short walk away and the hotel staff provided excellent recommendations for local restaurants, bus tours and guides.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and helped to make our stay in Rome special and memorable.
We would love to visit again one day and would recommend Hotel Diocleziano to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorderMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Excellent location near Termini station where metro and buses are cheap and easy to get to anywhere in Rome - saves your feet. Hotel pristine, Staff very friendly and helpful, particularly Tommasso on reception. Breakfast plentiful and good quality. Hotel very quiet no road noise or horn honking. As for Rome, mad and vibrant the only down side it was exorbitantly expensive £70 for a two course meal with house wine for two, not in a central location either. Also in 1/2 an hour spent in a street bar three lots of "musicians" passed by with hands out plus a rose thrust in the face and a sunglass seller we gave to the first but it really was a bit much. If you are happy to smile and say no and be prepared to suck up the prices you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,310 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
2,438 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,926 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $106 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splitty, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing