We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Hotel”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #47 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We loved this hotel. Outstanding service. Bellhop escorted us to our rooms and brought the luggage. Everyone is smiling and bends over backwards to help. The rooms are charming and quiet. You will get great value. La Familia is a hearty restaurant nearby. Train station very close.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    605
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
497
1,215
97
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Very clean hotel, good relaxed breakfast service, very friendly staff.
Could do with more tea making facilities (we are English!!!) Really enjoyed the free soft drinks mini bar.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family
Room service would have been nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Very good hotel, strategically located near Termini Station with all means of transportation (trains, buses, subway). The area felt fine, not unsafe even by night. The hotel is very new, cozy and comfortable, big room and bathroom, good bed, great shower, good towels and carpets, very nice and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast in a very large room.
Also the content of the minibar (drinks) was free, very nice touch. And the room had a kettle to make coffee, and some crackers and honey.
They had an internet room with 3 pc for clients, besides the wifi connection in the room. The room was also very quiet, I could sleep all night without a noise. This hotel is not cheap, but it's worth every penny. I didn't feel like at home, I felt BETTER.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marducita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I stayed for 5 nights with my girlfriend this past week. The hotel was very well kept and clean. Our room was a bit small by US standards but fine for our needs. The complimentary mini bar and wifi were huge plusses. The complimentary breakfast was very good and has a nice variety of meats, fruits and yogurts.

The hotel staff were excellent and responsive. They booked dinner reservations for us and were more than happy to show you the way around the neighborhood. They also sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room on my girlfriend's birthday. A very unexpected but classy touch.

Location is dependent on the traveller. It is very close to Termini (train station) and if you do not mind the subway/metro, it is an excellent location. If you prefer the hustle and bustle of Piazza Navonna or Spanish Steps, you will be disappointed in the quiet neighborhood off the main street.

If you do stay, I recommend going to the Salumeria around the corner for a nice bottle of wine, salami and tellagio cheese. Nice mid day "snack".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johng032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Both of us just loved this hotel which had exactly what we required for our short three day trip to Rome. Room was perfect , absolutely spotless, all the facilities , really quiet which meant perfect sleep ! Breakfast was also really good . As it was close to Termini it also really suited us for travel as we used both Metro & trains & ideal for Shuttle bus from Airport ! However, over & above was the superb service offered by ALL staff & particularly those on front reception!
I found this hotel on Trip Advisor & really glad I did because everything recorded there is
absolutely correct !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My wife and i were staying at this hotel for 5 nights.
The hotel haS a fantastic location: 2-3 minutes walking from Termini bus and metro station, yet located in a small-sided and quiet street.
The romm was big, illuminated, well furnished with a big comfortable bad. The bathroom was also big and cossy.
A big plus is the mini bar with the free drinks (water and cola) and the free of charge wi-fi internet.
The stuff was alaways attended to the visitors, very helpfull as well as gentile and kind.
We sure recommend this hotel for all Rome visitors!

Jacoby family, Israel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacoby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

All the reviews are spot on. Great rooms although a bit small. Great breakfast. You can throw a stone to the railway station but the area around the hotel is very average.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonAcko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,323 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,183 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,261 in Rome
2,643 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,261 in Rome
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing