We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$157
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$176
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
$86
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$165
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $358/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Adriano(Rome)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,593 results
Traveler rating
1,330
185
44
21
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,330
185
44
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiramisugarden suitesmall luxury hoteltop floorroof terracefour poster bedside streetwelcome drinkjacuzzi bathexecutive roomheart of romequiet streetfree upgradelounge areaour honeymoonevery morningsister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 1,593 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

I don't know where to start as we were absolutely amazed by Rome, its history, the sites, the location of our hotel put us right in the middle of the action, historically speaking. Paolo and Frederica (spelling?) took great care of us, sorting out our room, our tours, fabulous restaurant recommendations, printing instructions etc. It was chic, oh so cool, and homey at the same time! I was sad I did not get to chat again with the lovely lady who prepared breakfast and baked, my husband dragged me out too early in the mornings to see the sites!!! Don't try and see it all in 3 days like us, take more time if you or your loved one is a history buff like mine! I'm still exhausted ha ha! Thank you Inn at the Roman Forum!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank glamazon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildur J, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the kind words!

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and our staff took good care of you and your husband.

We look forward to your next visit to Roma as we hope to accommodate you again here at The Inn at the Roman Forum.

Kind regards the entire team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

We booked in January for a September trip, and selected this hotel based on the location and the great reviews. Unfortunately, this hotel was the only thing I would have changed about our trip. We reserved an Executive Room and in January requested the highest floor available. I understand hotels can't always honor special requests, however, this wasn't a last minute request, it was received nine months prior. You would think they would have time to work that out. When we checked in late at night after traveling all day we found out we were on the first floor, room 101, right off the lobby and the front door. Sounds in the lobby area and outside the hotel traveled directly up the stairs right into our room. I had to download a white noise app and put it on loud in order to get any sleep. So that was strike number one for me. They said they could move us in two days but I didn't want to live out of a suitcase for two days so I just dealt with it.

Now the room itself was a little disappointing. It wasn't the worst hotel room I've ever stayed at but it was the worst hotel room I paid that much for. It was a little worn around the edges, if you know what I mean, and the layout of the room wasn't really comfortable. The view was just across the alley looking at another building, so there was zero view to enjoy and we kept the windows closed. The mattress was very FIRM, so my husband didn't get a lot of sleep either. There was no wall to wall carpeting, just an area rug for a seating area. That wasn't the problem, the problem was it looked like it had been years since it was cleaned. Just to give you an idea of how dirty the floors were, the hotel provides white slippers. I never walked with my bear feet, using the slippers every time I took my shoes off in the room. After day one the bottom of the slippers were black with dirt. That grossed me out, so for me it was strike two.

This hotel includes breakfast each morning and appetizers in the evening 5-8 pm. The breakfast wasn't bad and the service pretty good, as long as you get there early enough. What they don't mention on their website is they put out the food once and only once. They do not replenish. If you don't get there early enough, you are out of luck, and the evening service was also very slow. On our second to last night there we were on the rooftop for the evening appetizers, having not gotten there right on time there were only a few items left. This was at around 6 pm. Around 6:30 a woman came in, having just checked in after a long day of travel. We remembered seeing her sitting in the lobby area when we came in and she was not happy about something with her reservation. Kind of like we were just a few days prior. Anyway, this women asked for a glass of red wine and asked if they would be replenishing the appetizers as there was nothing left. She learned what we already knew, the don't replenish. They didn't offer to get her anything. She asked. She begged for anything, even just a little cheese and crackers. Anything. She literally begged for anything. The answer was an unequivocal "No." So eventually the guy shows up with a glass of white wine. She told him she ordered a red and he was almost arguing with her that no, she ordered white. We heard her order red. Why not just take it back and get her a glass of red instead of arguing with her about what she ordered? She left in disgust. About 15 minutes later the guy comes out with a very large tray of cheese and crackers and just gives it to another couple at the table next to us. They didn't order it and didn't have to pay for it. It was his gift to them. They had ordered a bottle of wine. So maybe that women should have ordered a bottle of wine if she wanted to get something to eat. This was a perfect example of the service at this hotel, and was strike three for me.

From all the excellent reviews I expected a great location, upscale rooms and excellent service. We got a great location. I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone. There are way too many choices of where to stay in Rome to settle for this one. Oh, and for all the reviews that mention free upgrade offers, when we weren't happy with our room they did offer us the only other room available, which was actually an apartment around the corner. But it was NOT for free. We would have to pay 100 more Euro per night to stay there, and then told us this was a discounted rate. Unbelievable.

For those that stayed here and love it, good for you. Unfortunately, we didn't have that great of an experience, particularly with the level of service. Maybe they can provide better service during off season.

Room Tip: They only have 3 Exec rooms all right off stairs. Room 101-sounds from lobby & alley echo directly up stairs right thru door into room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank worknmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildur J, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay with us.

We are really surprised to receive your feedback and all stories has two sides I guess it’s only fair that we tell our part as well.

First of all a request for higher floor or in general any special needs are on request and being a small hotel when often families travel together we must try to satisfied everybody and we are sorry if we were not able to do so in your case, but we did offer you the room move as soon as another rooms on a higher floor came available that you refused to accept.

The room category you booked has room description and photo online that is exactly what we deliver and not mention of a view from the room and that’s why we have the roof top terrace on the top floor.

It further include parquet floor as is very common and include included daily cleaning as well as turn down service. Therefore it surprise us that you mentioned a dirty floor under your slipper.

Regarding the breakfast, we serve it from 6:45 am to 10:30 and it is untrue that food is placed once and only once on the table. First of all during more than 3 and half hour of breakfast service it would be impossible not to replace items on the buffet as they are constantly brought from the kitchen and I doubt that you stayed for the entire breakfast hour to reserve that point. Further most of the food is made on request a part from the one already on the table that being said omelets, eggs in all ways, cakes, pancake and sweets are brought directly to client table either after orders or on request and therefore are not placed on the buffet breakfast table.

Your observation of the bar service has completely different side and I’m sorry that you try to interpret a situation that you only know the half story. If her order of glass of wine went wrong of course it was the bar man obligation to bring her the correct wine as requested and no questions asked about that point but the afternoon snack buffet is replaced based on client in house and the hour you arrive. It is served from 5-8 PM and at 6:30 halfway into the buffet it’s make no sense that the buffet would not be replaced as this is so not the case. We do not pride our self for being service friendly as so many Tripadivsor and satisfied clients can confirm that client would have to bag for a food on the appetizer hour, and receive no as an answer, that would most definitely not be in our interest and in fact you must have misread into the situation. Serving than next table full antipasto display and refuse other client for even a crackers does not make any sense?. For your lack of knowing the entire story this particular client had received a gift from their parents for a special celebration that was being prepared for them and therefore they did not have any acknowledge of. All this we could have simply explained to you in person if it did bring up questions during your stay.

Free upgrade comes usually upon availability and to a next available category, and I can assure you that most of our guest receive upgrade when possible and in many cases client request to pay for upgrade specially when it include a whole different category compared to what have been purchase and in that case the Town house apartment.

We hope that you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and we apologies for any inconvenience you claim you had with us.

Sincerely,

Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We had arranged a transfer from Rome airport to the hotel, if it is your first time in Rome I would recommend as the airport is quite a distance from the centre of Rome. The driver must have informed the staff that we were approaching the entrance of the hotel as they were there to greet us and take care of our luggage. I had noticed that some reviews had said that cars/taxis couldn't stop outside the entrance, we didn't encounter this problem. The greeting from the staff was lovely warm and friendly. We were shown to a room in the ruins where we were given a welcome drink and fantastic tiramisu while they sorted out the paperwork and had our bags sent to our room. We had an upgrade to the two bedroom apartment which was fantastic with its own sitting room kitchen and two bathrooms. It was impeccably furnished and spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the colosseum and forum but as it's down a side street it was very quiet giving us a peaceful night sleep each night.
All the staff we met from front of house to cleaning staff were so friendly. In the evening we sat on their beautiful roof terrace for a drink with complimentary buffet before heading out for our meals. The bar tenders we met were very knowledgeable and passionate about Rome and gave us great recommendations on where to go and what to see...thank you.
Breakfast is served on the terrace in good weather which we were lucky to have, it is buffet style with an excellent choice and they will also cook eggs to your liking along with pancakes and waffles. All the staff were attentive friendly and made you feel as if you were having breakfast in a good friends home not a hotel. Barbara's little treats at breakfast were also a lovely touch.
There isn't a restaurant but this isn't a problem as the restaurants that were recommended to us were exceptional in walking distance and not expensive.
I cannot praise the staff enough. This is a lovely hotel and I thoroughly recommend staying here. I'm already planning my next visit to see more of this fantastic city

Room Tip: Only saw the apartment which was stunning
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildur J, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review, it’s really appreciated.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel, services and recommendations!

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Rome!

Kind regards from the entire staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Fantastic location, accomodation, staff and helpfulness at The Inn. Location is in the middle of everything but just far enough off the main streets to be terrificly quiet and relaxing. The staff everywhere was fantastic with great recommendations. Top notch rooms too - we chose the garden suite - which was beautiful. Great choice!!

Room Tip: garden suite
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ItalianReds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildur J, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are glad that you enjoyed our Rooftop Garden Suite, and we hope to accommodate you again during your next visit to Rome, so that you can try also our other room offers!

Kind regards from the entire staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the Roman Forum (100 metres) and the Colosseum. It is a very small hotel in an ancient part of the city.

The rooms are very attractive, especially those with a balcony.

The staff are very attentive, especially those who serve breakfast. The breakfasts are worthy of a special mention. They are excellent and can be taken indoors or outside on a balcony with quite lovely views over Rome.

There is a happy hour from 5pm to 8pm with a generous range of food provided free of charge.

My only negative comment is that on one evening at 6.45pm a number of people had been to the happy hour and there was no food remaining.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank CanberraJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildur J, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are happy to read that you had a great time during your stay in our property and special mention to the breakfast team we will pass your warm words on to the entire team. I’m sorry to read your comment about the afternoon snack buffet as usually there is plenty of food on the buffet during the entire time, in case of a large group there might have been lack of few items temporarily and we apologize for that. All items on the buffet are prepared at the moment so the buffet remain with fresh items at all time.

Again we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards from the entire staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews