We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Sixtythree B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sixtythree B&B
Ranked #1,735 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed March 21, 2010

It has been a little while since we stayed here but I wanted to just add my opinion as I have been recommending this little place to my friends. When we first arrived at the front door you think - why did we pick here? It is on a small street close to the main train station, you will probably pass quite a few beggars and have to avoid being run over by crazy moped drivers (but that is Rome isn't it). You then enter and are confronted by many flights of stairs (you can take the lift - but we are stubborn) but when you actually enter the place it is just lovely! Our room was really clean and modern looking and our friends stayed just accross the hall in a similarly appointed room. We stayed in mid June and it was very hot but in our rooms we couldn't even tell as the air conditioning was superb!! Although we didn't see much of the lady who runs the B+B, she was very helpful and even e-mailed us prior to our trip to make sure she was available for when we arrived.

We found that the location of the place was just perfect as everything begins and ends at the main train station. We found the buses quite confusing but we always knew that if we messed it up, we would at some point end up back at the station. The Sixty three B+B is only 5 minutes walk from the station and although at first we were worried about the beggars, we travelled through this area at all times of the day and night and did not feel threatened at all. Also very useful is the information points and shops that are available at the train station and the buses that take you to the airport.

Finally I would like to add that there was internet access in the B+B and the breakfast was of continental style, don't expect service though as it is only a small place. It is a laid out for you on the tables and you just help yourself and leave all your pots for the maid to clean (we washed them the first day as we felt bad). Just to add, this is probably not the place for you if you would like a concierge and staff running around after you night and day but superb if you want a cheap, clean, well located place to rest your head then I would thoroughly recommend it and I would definately stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emfuzzyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
80
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck Austria
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I would strongly recommend a stay here, the woman that runs the apartment was at the door waiting for us. Only a 5 minute walk from the train station (also a link for subways to the entire city). There was always juice in our fridge and she came in and cleaned up a bit everyday (did the dishes, filled the fridge, and everything else)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickjohansen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This B&B was exactly what I was looking for. The rooms were surprisingly large and very well kept. All of the furniture seemed like new. The TV, shower and toliet all worked great. There was a computer with internet access in the tiny entry hall which everyone had free access too. They also had a load of Rome travel books next to the computer which came in handy. The breakfast room and kitchen were really nice. There was cold cereal and toast with juice and milk only, but you could eat your fill. Everyone had access to the kitchen 24 hours a day. You could go in and get a glass of juice whenever you like. Also, you are given keys to the building, the front door of the B&B and your room when you check in so that you can come and go as you please. The neighborhood is fine at night. There aren't a whole lot of people around after midnight or so, but we had no problems. There are a few good cafes around Termini which is practically next door. There is also a fantastic gelato place that's open late down the street and to the right on Napoleon III. The only possible downside was the traffic noise in the mornings. However, I could have shut the window and turned on the air conditioner. I would definitely stay here again. Here is their website: [--]

  • Liked — clean, convenient and available
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnakeCHarmerNyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

owner Gaetano gave us a warm welcome, showed us to our room in the attic, the stairs to the attic room was narrow and somewhat wobbly but it proved to be just fine, even when lugging our luggage down the stairs to the breakfast room on our checkout day. breakfast room was fully equipped with cooking utensils,microwave oven,fridge,coffee machine, moka pot, stove,toaster.a big plus was the satellite tv and the free internet access.though we had some trouble with the water temperature in the shower room,the water temperature fluctuates quickly between hot and cold, taking a shower was a little tricky but no major problem there.a bigger problem was the lift outside the apartment, it stopped working on a few ocassions,Gaetano fixed it once when he happened to be at the B&B,apparently it happened frequently as it is an old lift but regular tenants of the building will know how to tweak it and make it work again.it stopped working on the morning of our checkout day and phone calls to Gaetano went unanswered, thankfully, it was a work day and I guessed a tenant who was going to work managed to fix the lift and we were spared from lugging our luggage 5 levels down.neighbourhood near termini seems dodgy but it proved to be just fine, just stay vigilant and don't go looking for trouble.

  • Liked — free internet access,satellite tv
  • Disliked — dodgy neighbourhood, proved harmless but did put us in alert mode
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lizzieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed here 1 March - 4 March 2008 and we had a good stay. We arrived at about 8 pm and it was a little scary at first, but then what city centre isn't scary at night the first time you go there. Anyway we found the B&B with ease it is in a great location for anyone to explore Rome on foot or by train.

We got there earlier than expected so we rang the B&B number and the owner was very pleasant and was making his way to us to let us in. Luckily the girl Alexandera that works at the B&B arrived and let us in which was a relief as I didn't fancy hanging around outside in the dark.

We got up stairs and the place was clean well furnished had everything we could possible want or need. our room was on the street side but once you closed the sutters and window it was nice a quiet. The beds were comfy and we slept very well without worry.

Breakfast was simple with Juice, cereal and toast but there was a microwave and stove so if you wanted to make something else yourself all you needed to do was get some supplies and a big fridge to store them. There was fresh coffee every morning and clean plates cups etc.

So that you aren't shocked there is a religious boarding house accross the road that is run by Mother Theresa Nuns that do take in people that are looking for a bed for the night BUT this does not affect you ar all. I thought I would mention it as it can be scary seeing things like this if you aren't expecting it. They are harmless and the area is alright although it looks a little scary.

As any regular traveller must do keep your wits about you and be careful of pick poketers. The building is secure as is the Apartment you stay in. Oh and if you are wanting to buy supplys if you take the Giovani road entrace to the train station walk under the platforms right to the other side of the station and there is a little Spar Supermarket.

ENJOY!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Nikki-Lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

Stayed here in late January and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Rooms were quite large by B&B standards and kept scrupulously clean. The breakfast, albeit a bit monotonous, was ample for our needs and I liked the fact that I could have tea or coffee whenever I pleased. Location is excellent, right beside the Termini station which gives access to public transport to all parts of Rome. Don't be put off by the dingy appearance of some of the buildings, there are always plenty of people about and I never once felt uneasy walking at night. One downside, (there always has to be one), is the lift. It is the old fashioned type where you have to physically close the doors and if whoever used it before you neglected to do this, it was a long trudge to the fifth floor. All in all I enjoyed the stay and would stay again if ever in Rome.

  • Liked — Good value and location
  • Disliked — Lift
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bmaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

This B & B is conveniently located by Termini. It offers clean rooms, a decent breakfast and is economical.

We were satisfied with the value of this B & B and would return as well as recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Liked — Location close to the transportation hub of Roma, clean rooms and pretty quiet.
  • Disliked — Lack of a front desk to ask questions though the owner is quick to answer his phone.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#644 of 1,256 in Rome
184 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#247 of 1,256 in Rome
267 reviews
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#136 of 1,256 in Rome
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Sweety B&B
Sweety B&B
#2,231 of 3,643 in Rome
44 reviews
Esquilino
Rattazzi Guesthouse
Rattazzi Guesthouse
#1,649 of 3,643 in Rome
25 reviews
Esquilino
Clarian Affittacamere
Clarian Affittacamere
#2,362 of 3,643 in Rome
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sixtythree B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixtythree B&B

Property: Sixtythree B&B
Address: Via Rattazzi 63, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,735 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sixtythree B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixtythree B&B is the perfect starting point for your visit of the "Eternal City." Located in the immediate neighborhood of Termini station, it is very easy to reach regardless whether you arrive in Rome by train or by plane. The close proximity of both metro lines and the bus stop makes it easy to get to any other part of the city. Many of the main monuments and historical places such as Santa Maria Maggiore, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali and Domus Aurea, are within walking distance; our location is also perfect for reaching La Sapienza University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sixtythree B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing