We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surprising in Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surprising in Rome
Ranked #952 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I arrived very late (because of flight delays and huge taxi queues; so didn't get to the property till midnight despite saying I'd be there at 8:30pm), and Marco was still so happy to greet us and show us our room! Thank you!

The location is great. If you connect Vatican City, Spanish Steps and the Colloseum, Surprising in Rome is in the middle of this triangle! It's a very safe area; I was comfortable walking around on my own at night, up until midnight even.

This is like staying at someone's home (you have your own room with ensuite and door lock) and you have a shared kitchen/breakfast area and have access to a stove & kitchen bench, fridge, microwave and dryer too. It can get noisy at night because you're on the main road, but we were so tired that the noise/traffic didn't disrupt our sleep at all. Slept right through it!

The rooms are very tidy, They are cleaned everyday by Marco. There is no shampoo/shower gel though, so make sure you bring your own.

There is free wi-fi too. Very fast connection too. :D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for seven nights from June 23 -30th. We were picked up from the airport for 35 euro which was great as we have never been to Rome and this saved us alot of time and hassel.(They also will shuttle back to the airport) The best thing about this B&B is the location. I honestly dont think you could be in a better location to get to all the wonderful sites of Rome. The room we had had its own ensuite bathroom and was cleaned everyday. You make your own breakfast. In the fridge they had assorted fruits, eggs, yogurts, cheese, bread and pasta noodles. The beds were comfortable and the AC in our room was a blessing after walking around Rome in 30+ weather all day. Sleep quality I think depends on the person. There is alot of traffic outside the window. I myself am a deep sleeper and had no problems what soever sleeping. Even my girlfriend didnt have to hard of a time sleeping and she is a light sleeper, just keep the windows closed and wear earplugs if need be. A couple times we ran out of hot water, but all you have to do is just reset the breaker, no problem. All the staff we met were all very polite and helped out with anything as best they could and they all spoke decent english so there was no problem with the language differences. One problem we had was trying to contact a member of the staff if we needed something. They seemed to come between 12:30 and 1:30 to clean but we were usually out sightseeing and missed them and it was a pain trying to get a hold of someone. There were no alarm clocks in the rooms which I thought was odd, as we had to get up early a couple days for tours out of the city. We were given an alarm clock after requesting one. Even with a couple minor problems, it was a great stay and would recommend it and stay again if I am ever in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The location is awesome. It is very close to all the most important sightseeing spots in Rome. We felt like locals, since it is apartment. Stuff was very nice. We were picked up from airport for 35euro, which was also nice. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staicy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

There isn't much that hasn't already been said about the reviews for this excellent B&B.

You should definitely communicate with the friendly and helpful staff via email before your arrival and have their phone number ready so you can contact them before you reach the B&B so they can greet you and let you in.

A tip to reduce the traffic noise from the street below is to close absolutely everything around the window: the exterior shutters, windows, and the interior shutters.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asupsiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

a week before we arrived. The BnB contacted us checking our arrival time and offerring a shuttle service to collect us at the airport.
It was a small car. They manage to squeeze our big bags (we were doing our OE around the world). And the amazing drive to our destination. It was brilliant . The room were what we see on our internet booking. but much bigger, and we even has a computer for our use. You help yourself for breakfast. Their are loads of egg, cheese, bread, italian coffee etc.etc. For a BnB I class this place as a 4 stars service. OUr own little private bathroom were just big enought for us.
The BnB is on the 4th floor. It like going into your own private apartment. Downstair the bus stop is just next to our Huge front door. Love the place, would come back and stay again. Its only a few minutes walk to the Vatican. Great Location.
The people in the hotel are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TotaraPakaranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

When we stayed there, it just felt like we were citizens of Rome. You enter the building through a giant door, and take the lift (classical) and enter the apartment, which has 3 big rooms and 2 bathrooms along the long corridor, and the kitchen at the end. You make your own breakfast, also bread, butter etc. is provided, and you can cook if you like. You see no receptionist, only the housekeeper in the afternoon, so it never gives the feeling that you're staying in a B&B or hotel, it is just like home. There's a market just downstairs, which is very convenient and most of the attractions are just in walking distance. We didn't use any public transportation, just loved to walk. There's free wireless internet by the way. Negative sides are the traffic noise, which is really disturbing, even with the earplugs, and the shaking of the bed and the door, when some heavy vehicle passed. Other room's bathroom had also a problem with hot water, but we didn't, were lucky. Overall, we would stay there again definitely, if they could only change the windows with better isolation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveBarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We booked this B&B for 1 night at the end our honeymoon because of it's proximity to the Vatican which we were planning on touring. We arrived from the seaport of Civitavecchia around 9 AM after retrurning to Rome from a cruise. It is the style of building that requires that you buzz in and after a half hour of buzzing we were still not given admittance. We called from several phones, mine, our driver's and our driver's office phone to no answer. After about 30 minutes waiting outside someone from another unit gave us access to the building. The unit containing the B&B is very poorly signed and difficult to locate (no signs whatsoever) but luckily we met someone in the stairwell that was staying there and he indicated to us how to find the B&B and that no staff members of the B&B were around. So we went and knocked on the door and pushed the buzzer at the door of the unit to see if we could get admittance but no one ever answered. After the ordeal we went to another hotel elsewhere. We notified our travel agent and he has been in correspondence with them. They have charged the card we reserved with for the one night, which is standard for hotels for an unused room but are refusing to refund it even though we made every effort to stay there. Now we are treating it like a fraudulent charge. My advice: avoid the scam and stay somewhere else. This was the most unpleasant surprise in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akoester_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dom Hotel Roma
Dom Hotel Roma
#323 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Colonna
Pantheon Relais
Pantheon Relais
#477 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
La Residenza dell'Angelo
La Residenza dell'Angelo
#1,111 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surprising in Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surprising in Rome

Property: Surprising in Rome
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II 294, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #952 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Surprising in Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surprising in Rome offers elegant rooms ideal for those who want to visit the heart of Roma city center by feet. The apartament is very near to Piazza Navona, The Vatican city & St. Peter's church, Castel S. Angelo and Campo dei Fiori. Surprising in Rome is situated in an old prestigious Roman Palace with lift. The flat has been recently refurbished to give more comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Surprising in Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surprising In Rome b&b
Surprising In Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing