We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cockroach and smell-to-high-heaven hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Overseas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3,295 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

hi there, first of all, if you are intended to spend time in this hotel, be aware and read the dozens of bad reviews beforehand. As my personal experience i would advice not to go there because the room we shared was dank, dark, tiny, and the smell was worse than inside a sewer. The main light was so bright it gave us the headache, without a shade. We asked reception to install a light bulb on the side light (which wasnt provided) and he just shrugged his shoulders. The first night we were welcomed by a cockroach dwelling inside my yellow washbag. The bed was decent sized but very uncomfortable it gave us back pains, we were tossing and turning all night. Also very noisy we had to wake up several times during night. Breakfast was a joke of a parody of. Teas and coffees were beyond description. We had the shower head replaced only after asking management, but it was rackety and sprayed water all around. Shower door was off its hinges. Overall room was claustrophobic but the worst thing was that horrible rotten smell of decaying flesh wafting through the bathroom door, very unpleasant to wake up to. We havent been given a receipt for our cash payment only a piece of paper with a scribble and a stamp on it. So the hotel from hell was in a sleazy area the only benefit being near transport links. A/C was there not working, no sign of central heating (not needed luckily), Tv was there, not working (small), no radio. Room looked as it had been given a quick dusting, but dust was all over, on top of wardrobe, curtains, behind units, etc. Towels hasnt been changed once. There was a white pungent smelling powder scattered on the floor, probably pest repellent or something. Lift was scary, small, and wouldnt fit a luggage larger than a backpack. Room looked as hasnt been renovated since the 1970s, walls had stains. People at reception seemed unbothered about customers' complaints. Not even cheap, had to pay £30 in advance, then 270 euro in cash for 4 nights stay for 2, terrible value for money. please be advised not to go there you'll have a bad trip. everything i told you is true.

Room Tip: you'd hardly find one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahrehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 191 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Is near Termini Station, so you are served by the two Rome metro lines, very central. The neighborhood is "sketchy" but we didn't had any trouble for the five days we were in. You check in at one address and Kenny the non english speaking chinese welcome staff will take you to another address bit up the street. Not a good impact if you arrive late at night. Place was quiet, they changed the sheets every day in the afternoon..but not the towels. Breakfast was left in the room for the next day and it was a pack of juice and some croissants. There was NO TV but we had WIFI. It was the cheapest we found near the center... the only reason we stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Umh.. where to start with this one. First of all be aware that there are TWO hostels! Overseas I And overseas II, which seem to be run by an oriental dude " chen". Our reservation was actually for overseas II, and It was a complete nightmare trying to find this place after we left the termini with luggage and all. The neighborhood is quite sketchy, but well located, about 1 block and a half from termini and about 10 blcks from the coliseum. It took us almost an hour to find over seas II after we left termini. The place is on a building with NO SIGNS and no way for you to know that hou have arrived to a hotel. The only way we knew we had arrived to the right place was by the # of the building. Apparently in this building, which has no signs, there are 4 hostels combined! We were so comfused and baffled! Thankfully some Italian guy saw us all lost and running around and helped us. He said we had arrived at overseas II for sure, but there was no one there to check us in!!!! Then we remembered the reviews we had read here saying how you actually had to check in at overseas I, which was aprox. A block away. Trying to find overseas I Proved difficult as well; again, no signs whatsoever! We guided ourselves by the number of the building and when we thought we had arrived at the right place, we asked two african guys hanging out outside oc the hotel if that was overseas. I and they said yes, so we went in anx were finally able to check in. We thought the worst part was over, but......wait for it.....not so much. The elevator was quite a device! The tiniest thing ive ever seen in my life!! Only holds two people if that, and it was a nightmare to try and fit the luggage there as well! We thought the thing was going to break because how old and crappy it looked and felft! But hey, at least there was an 'elevator', right? The Chen guy checked us in and made us feel like he was upgrading us when he said: 'you guys booked a room with shared bathroom to in overseas II, but you can have a room with private bathroom if you stay here in overseas I. We accepted thinkin we were being nicely upgraded and with no desire to drag luggage back to overseas II. We were able to pay with a credit card for the remaing balance of the reservation we had previously done on line through hostelworld.com, so thankfuly that part of the process was delt with no problems at all. However, the room we were given was the tiniest room ive ever stayed at! I'm a budget traveler who does not like to spend a lot of money in hotel rooms and whos not picky about these kind of things but DARN!!!! There was barely any room for two people in that room!. I was ok with it cause we were going to be out all day and all we needed was a place to store our stuff, sleep for a few hours, and showers, so I didn't make a big deal.

The beds were tiny but alright. The shower seemed fairly clean and hot water didn't stop running which was super nice. There was a lot of loud people at the hotel though, including the oriental kids at the reception who were quite loud while the chat among each other. They give you free breakfast every morning, a tiny cup of coffee, one baggel, one brownie and a little bag of juice. They gave us both two towels the first day and never gave us feesh ones from then on though, and the oriental crew running the place were quite ok with speakin English. OH! the courtains on the room would not close! So we were awaken everyday by sunlight, but thankfully this wasnt a major problem for us as we had planned to get up early anyways.


We really liked the location of the place, like I said earlier due to being right at termini and about 10 blocks away from coliseum, but the neighborhood was def. An sketchy one. With all and all, it was a descent place to stay if you are on a thight budget and are not ultra picky about your hostel experience. Like I said, we were ok with it cause we just needed a place to keep our belongings. So think about all these things before you stay here.

Hope this review helped, I tried to be az detailed as I could but I'm doing this from my smart phone right now and its not so easy.

Good luck!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank POLLITOS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The location is ok. Most of the tourist places are within 30 minutes walking on foot and it's just next to Termini station. But the neighbourhood is not very decent, it can be scary at night. I didn't expect air conditioning and very beautiful room for such a low price, but it does not even have a window. It has only a very small window pointing to....the elevator and the internal stairs. It was very very hot. The staff is friendly but, unfortunately they hardly speak even basic English. If I go to Rome again, I would rather choose something slightly more expensive but with better conditions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed five nights at this hostel and we were totally happy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room simple and clean as well as the bathroom. The maid brought us breakfast (cofee, juice and buns) every morning, in the afternoon she tidied the room. It is true that the hostel is located not in the best part of Rome and that the neighbourhood might seem scary, but you get used to it, as people living there don't pay attention to you at all and are not harmful. Besides, the location was very comfortable for us, because our flight was early in the morning and the Termini station is near the hostel. So this place is OK if you don't expect much comfort but want just to have a place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meskenodrauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Dirty worn ripped sheets shower broken air con broken dangerous electrics horrid neighbourhood . I was not expecting a palace but at least clean and comfortable would have been nice never again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMcg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Located within walking distance from the central train and metro station of Rome, the hotel is a little hard to find and is not appropriate for families, couples or girls due to its surrounding. Skip the breakfast. The room is big but very old as well as the bathroom. They offer only one towel for your whole stay. The staff are from China and are very friendly and helpful. They speak English fluently.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#856 of 1,271 in Rome
126 reviews
Esquilino
Walter Rooms
Walter Rooms
#3,233 of 3,734 in Rome
230 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,875 of 3,734 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,925 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#230 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overseas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overseas Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 199, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,295 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $29 - $843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Overseas Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overseas b&b
Overseas Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing