We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camilla residenza”
Review of Residenza Camilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenza Camilla
Ranked #2,961 of 3,711 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very good and strategic position for this B e B, the fast train station is nearby , the bus stop in front of B e B gate, the rooms are large and lovely. The boss are young , friendly and helpful. A very economic placing in an historical zone of rome, inside the aurelian walls!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitto2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Camilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here with 5 friends in June 2013 on an overnight trip to Rome. We decided to give the place a shot after reading a few positive and negative reviews, especially because the accommodations would only cost us roughly 25 euro per person per night.

Check in was a little confusing, only because the guy working there didn't speak English very well. If you're prepared for this, you'll be fine. Also, we got there at 11am, and he fussed at us for not being there at 2pm (I think he was in the process of cleaning the rooms). They did store our bags for us as we explored Rome for the day.

The location is great for students who travel into Rome either via the Tiburtina bus station or train station, but the Tiburtina location itself is nothing special. However, it is very easy to get to the metro and then take lines into more attractive areas of Rome. The location isn't that attractive but it didn't feel especially unsafe, even at night. It is in an area near a lot of mechanic shops and there's graffiti, but it really wasn't that bad.

In terms of the rooms: we had a ground floor apartment that slept 6. Kitchenette was nothing special. The owner keeps the fridge unplugged to save energy I am sure, as utilities costs in Europe are through the roof. That is why you must let him know if you want to use the fridge - so that he can plug it in. The cost is probably to pay for the energy to use the fridge.

The rooms were totally adequate, especially for weary students on our feet all day in Rome. You shouldn't come to Rome to hang out in the hotel all day; come to Rome for the sites, history, and cuisine! Bathroom was poorly laid out and felt a little dirty, with a broken shower door, but it did the job. The apartment is near a bar, which was loud into the night, but again, college students are probably used to noisy neighbors.

Beds were adequate - again, perfect after a long day in Rome. Note: our accommodations slept 6 people (2 double beds and a bunk bed)

Bottom line: take the money that you save booking this place and treat yourself not only to a Roma Pass (34 euro that gets you 3 days of free public transportation, free entry into any 2 museums, and discounts on others) but also to fine food and gelato.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little damp. I would advise bringing shower shoes if you have the space. The apartment...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crjedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've been in Residenza Camilla for one week with my boyfriend and we really liked the place .The b & b is very nice in a private street in the University district of Rome there is a bus stop just in front of the main entrance and there are bars and pub in the same street .it's very easy from residenza camilla to reach the main station of Rome 10 minutes and the Vatican ,there is a tram that goes directly from there to it!
Our room was very clean and for the price we payed we consider it .perfect .a nice budget place perfect for an expensive city as Rome !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My friends and I recently spent 3 nights here. Location is right by a noisy bar which plays loud music until 3am. Next door is a building site. The room was damp, cold and dirty (with cobwebs). The bathroom was small, badly laid out, full of limescale, lacked toilet paper and the sink was blocked. The kitchen facilities were only available at and extra charge (10 euros to use the fridge!). There were no blinds on the front door which let in a lot of light. The bunk bed broke as there were no screws attached. Tiburtina feels unsafe at night as you have to go through and underpass and cross a motorway to reach the hotel. There was no wifi and the man who owned the place was creepy and entered our room without permission and left notes about not eating food in the room. The only thing good was the price at 15 euros a night. But it would be worth spending more to save yourself the trauma of this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClemencyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I invited my sister and her husband to Rome for a few days. We needed some cheap accommodation just to unwind after being out and about all day. I came across Residenza Camilla and we decided to check it out.
We arrived on Sunday around noon but there was nobody on the premises to let us in, even though we had contacted the person in charge earlier and had our arrival time confirmed. The Residenza itself is a two storey block behind a locked gate, in a small side street perpendicular to via Tiburtina. We phoned the (Italian) number from the confirmation letter and a lady told us in Italian that 'the guy' would arrive soon. After 20mins an Indian guy turned up and asked us in Italian, again - no English, to follow him to the top floor and wait there for him to clean the flat as it hadn't been done since Saturday. He did it thoroughly, i admit, mopping the floor included, but it took him almost an hour whilst we were waiting/dozing off in the shaded communal terrace. Not a great start.
There were a few flats in the same building and our was on the top floor and consisted of two rooms, but frankly it was one bedroom, a small kitchenette, a bathroom and a reception room converted to another room with a bunk bed in right next to the flat door made of semi-transparent glass! The rooms were small and we were glad for the adjacent terrace where we could nip out to and stretch our legs out. There was also a so called office on the ground floor but only open when the guy was in. We paid there but got no receipt so we asked the guy to write it down on the confirmation letter just in case. We got a set of keys: one to the gate, one to the entrance door and one to the flat what allowed us to come in and out at any time.
We stayed there for 5 days and the flat was cleaned every other day, so once more only while we were there.
Via Tiburtina nearby is quite a busy road but on weekdays only and mainly in the mornings and early evenings. Outside those hours, the traffic noise is minimal and not disturbing. Around, there are car and motor bike garages and other workshops so it's not a place to spend a day in.
There's a bus stop almost just outside the gate for buses to the city centre. To get to Termini, we had to walk uphill for about 10-15min to the nearest metro station.
All in all, it was enough for us to recover properly after all day activities and had all basic amenities needed considering the price we paid (€100/night+€2/pppn tourist tax).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

The room was very nice - two rooms w/kichenette and bathroom, but I only saw one guy working here the whole time and honestly he wasn't really that nice. There were no phones in the room and he wouldn't let us use the main phone even though we had a phone card. He was not helpful in anyway. The weirdest thing was that the day we had to check out he banged on our door at 8:23 am to tell us it was time to check out. A little early maybe? He was weird... but something to laugh about later.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank summerrhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank autoviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo Notte
San Lorenzo Notte
#1,403 of 3,711 in Rome
36 reviews
San Lorenzo
Max House Bed & Breakfast
Max House Bed & Breakfast
#2,507 of 3,711 in Rome
19 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#367 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,134 of 3,711 in Rome
91 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Camilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Camilla

Address: Via Santa Ciriaca 3/5/7/9 | via Tiburtina 251, 00162 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,961 of 3,711 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Residenza Camilla 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments, studio, rooms, suite in Rome in the city center. We can accomodate from 2 up to 6 people. All the accomodation are elegantly furnished, have private ensuite, minibar, tv, and air conditioning, ADSL on request. This area offers many services in walking distance : Restaurants, Cinemas, Pubs,Supermarkets, Post Office, Street Market, Private Parking, Disco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Residenza Camilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing