We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Out of the Ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B&B Residenza Vaticana
Ranked #1,165 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and Out of the Ordinary”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I'm torn between rating Residenza Vaticana a 3 or a 4. First - understand this is not a hotel. It is a B&B in what I believe is a condominium building. You may have a hard time finding it. Our driver from the airport took us to the address, and said this is the place with a somewhat puzzled look on his face.

Coming from North America, we arrived in Rome early in the morning. The woman at the Residenza Vaticana was very friendly and did more than I would have expected to get rooms ready for us well before the stated check in time. We really appriciated this. All the staff members we encountered were nice.

The rooms are small. The bathroom is small, and the shower is very small. They are all adequate if you are not expecting hotel type accommodations. The beds were hard, but I actually prefer a hard bed, so this was just fine for me. My family had comments, however.

The breakfast is not much to speak of, but again, it can be adequate if you are not expecting a hotel type spread.

The location is convenient to the Vatican and not far from a Metro station that can get you to other parts of Rome fairly easily.

Room Tip: There are only, I believe, 4 rooms, so don't fret this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbu79_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
73
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel was great, perfect to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Well situated in the Vatican area ( Vatican City ten minutes walk and the Centrico area of Rome about fifteen minutes walk). The hosts were fantastic with nothing too much trouble ( they even made all the arrangements for the renewing of our marriage vows in a local church nearby). We had a great nights sleep in our comfortable room and the continental breakfast was good too, although I'm not a big fan of breakfast there was plenty on offer. We loved Rome and our Hosts and we will return (Trevvi fountain wish).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank 142858Yorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Hard too find, really hidden from view, noisy, shower was filthy and mouldy smelled terrible, was told full free wi-fi but never worked, staffed till 8pm? No one was there at 5.05pm for assistance left hotel and found new one

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our first difficulty was finding the hotel as our cab dropped us at one end of the street and we had to lug our baggage and "find" the hotel. I use the word hotel loosely. This is a residential type building with buzzers to ring apartments. Our room was teeny-tiny, although acceptably decorated. The shower was so small you had to open the door to bend over, and it was difficult to turn around in the shower due to the size limitations. The young lady that checked us in did not speak English, although we managed. However, the absolute worst is what that labeled as breakfast! The breakfast are consisted of 3 bistro size tables crammed together in the room (where you check into the "hotel"), along with a nice cafe/coffee/mocha type machine with less than average tasting coffee, one type of sweet roll, some type of processed sliced cheese, in the wrapper no less, that was luke warm and 2 or 3 types of cereal. Needless to say, we ate breakfast out each day. Additionally, both of our wake up calls requested were received late. We could not wait to leave Rome to continue our journey to other fine hotels and fabulous destinations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfallred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Rooms are clean and well-appointed but very small. Breakfast room is very cramped and food offered for breakfast was inadequate : they ran out of yoghurts and most of the fruit on offer on the 2nd day and did not get any more in for the rest of our 4 day stay ; the only bread on offer was rather dried up and the toaster was very inefficient. Staff were not very friendly : we were made to feel very uncomfortable when the flimsy credit-card-style room key (attached to the 2 other normal keys required for full access to the hotel) snapped in half - obviously not the first time this had happened judging by the amount of sticky tape used !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I always read the reviews before going somewhere and I have to remember that everyone's oppinions are different and viewed differently. This place reminded me of someone's guest room. The rooms were super small. My husband and I shared the one room from this previous pics (the one with the red room and red bed spread) but I did not see the nicer room, unless it was hidden somewhere else on this SMALL hallway of about 5 rooms. My kids (20 and 15) had a double bed room which was even smaller, no closet ( a sheet pulled over a space with some hangers). The bathrooms are VERY small and there is no way a bigger person is fitting in those showers. I do not know where the previous reviewers got the breakfast room pics, but that is not what it looks like. There are 3 SMALL tables in a tiny enclosed space. I was very disappointed in the selection. Not that I needed a large spread, but something. Cereal (had to use the warm milk from the coffee machine), some croissants (that were not fresh everyday), some unappealing cheese and meat) and than some packaged toast...., the coffee machine was not very good. So we were always hungry after an hour of leaving for the day. We only seen Mr. Vincensia (mentioned in other reviews) once and yes he did offer a place to eat, but it was not very good or worth the money. The woman that cleaned was only there in the morning and by afternoon was gone and people are left in the rooms with no assistance if something is needed. On a good note, the place was close to a lot of things and about 5 minutes from the metro. I probably would not stay here again or would I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajsatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Beautiful room and wonderful staff!!! Breakfast was great and more than enough to start your day! Walking distance of Vatican and much more and the area wasn't touristy which was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aktravelers4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#223 of 1,257 in Rome
626 reviews
Vatican Holiday
#229 of 3,664 in Rome
132 reviews
Prati
B&B Gaius Roma
B&B Gaius Roma
#1,108 of 3,664 in Rome
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B & B Due passi da
#2,415 of 3,664 in Rome
95 reviews
Prati
Residenza dei Quiriti
Residenza dei Quiriti
#2,187 of 3,664 in Rome
93 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giuggioli
Hotel Giuggioli
#2,094 of 3,664 in Rome
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Residenza Vaticana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Residenza Vaticana

Property: B&B Residenza Vaticana
Address: Via Ezio 19, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,165 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Residenza Vaticana 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Residenza Vaticana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Residenza Vaticana Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Residenza Vaticana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing