We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro
Ranked #1,036 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

Our extended family of five booked all three rooms for two nights. It was absolutely perfect. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hosts are very welcoming and we found the breakfast to be very plentiful and filling. It's only a ten minute walk to the Vatican, and the metro is right out the door.
I would definitely book here again when I return to Rome.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms, location
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank belizeboundSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

I was so pleased with this B&B.

It is on the top floor (5th) of a building and has a wonderful roof top terrace. It's beautiful and very peaceful up there and has a spectacular view of St. Peter's dome. We had breakfast there and smoke breaks since the Inn is non smoking. Not a problem though.

The room was very big and was very well appointed. Breakfast was minimal, but good. A decent start to the day, but think of it this way, you'll be hungry for lunch and Rome has no shortage of wonderful restaurants.

Giordano was a perfect host. We bought the round trip shuttle for him (a private car ride) for 45 Euros each way and I feel it was very worth it. I had no stress knowing we would have no problems getting to and from the airport.

Giordano also gave us a dinner recommendation that was fantastic. It was a little family restaurant down the street that was perfect for pasta and pizza. We still talk about that meal and it was 4 months ago.

The B&B was very clean and very safe. My only problem was that my sheets had a little surprise in them. Nose droppings, for lack of a better word. It was obvious they didn't change the sheets. Since the owner doesn't stay on property, we were stuck with them once we discovered them. I laid a towl over the affected area, but since the bed was so big, it was easy to avoid. If it was not for this I would rate this stay 100% and excellent.

I will absolutely come back here again, I will just check my sheets before Giordano leaves. My guess is that this was just an oversite. This place is very clean otherwise. I'm sure it was just a mistake and not the normal case.

The bathroom is shared between another room, but it is very big and clean. I was very impressed.

You can't beat the stay here. I give it a 97%, taking 3% off for the sheets.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty sheets
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

B&B IL TESORO
What a wonderful place
This is not a hotel but an apartment converted in to 3 rooms each securely locked.
The service and accommodation was excellent , Barbara prepared our breakfast in the apartments kitchen
And served it on the breakfast terrace with its breath tacking view of the Vatican and saint Peters.
The Vatican was an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel, and with the metro entrance directly outside the hotel the Spanish steps was just 3 stops away (metro tickets €4.00 all day hop on hop off).
Although it is set on a busy street we found it surprisingly quiet and within easy access to all the sights
Over all we would recommend this hotel to any one

nigel cornbill (England)

  • Liked — every thing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brummiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

It's a small B&B with only 3 rooms so it books up quickly. It's in an excellent location next to the A-line subway (Otaviano stop), and a 15-minute walk to the Vatican. It's clean, and very comfortable. There is an elevator but you need to walk up 8 or 9 steps to get to it and it requires a key so Giordano comes to meet you in the lobby. Giordano (the owner) and Barbara (help) are pleasant and helpful, however they do not stay in the B&B overnight. We ate a nice breakfast on the roof-top terrace every morning.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

First off, Giordano, the owner is the best host ever! He waited for us at night and brought all of our luggage up to our room (thank God there was a lift). He told us that we could call him at any hour with any questions! Gave us a map of Rome and was so useful with all of his knowledge! We had the room with our private bath and it was one of the biggest rooms on our trip throughout Italy. Breakfast was good. the regular, coffee, oj, danishes, toast, etc. A friend of mine actually met us in Rome and she booked a hotel far away from the Il Tesoro, so Giordano helped any way he could so she could stay with us at his B&B. Location wise, you could walk right down the street to the Vatican or go downstairs to the metro and get anywhere in 10 mins. We had a great time at Il Tesoro and would definitely come again!

  • Liked — Giordano the owner
  • Disliked — I cant think of any
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank darcydao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

We booked B&B Il Tesoro through Romeby.com for four nights in October 2007 for €110 per night. We arranged with them in advance to be picked up at the airport for €40. We were delivered to the door in a beautiful black Mercedes, where we were met by Pino, who was our waiter, housekeeper & concierge for the length of our stay. Although we arrived in the morning, our room was ready & we were allowed to check in early. A tiny little elevator takes you up to the B&B, which is located on the 5th floor of an apartment building. There are three rooms available; we chose the one with private bath. Although nothing fancy, the room was spacious & clean. A simple breakfast, consisting of juice, coffee, pastry, toast & yogurt, is served on the rooftop terrace (weather permitting). It was chilly, but sunny, in October, with a great view of St. Peter's dome.

This B&B is conveniently located at the Ottaviano metro stop, and within walking distance of Vatican City. Pino, who speaks excellent English, was extremely friendly and helpful. He assisted us with directions, transportation & making reservations, as well as suggesting several areas & sights for us to explore.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay at Il Tesoro, and I would highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Location, price, friendly service.
  • Disliked — Shared bath abuts this room; not sound-proofed.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdk1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2007

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this small B&B 5 blocks from the Vatican and 20 meters from Octaviano metro stop. The cost was 88Euros a night which included a standard Italian breakfast (rolls and juice) made by Pino, who makes a great cappucino. We had the room with a balcony on Viale Cesare which was quiet at night. The shared bath across the hall is shared with 1 other room in this 3 room BB. In 2 weeks we never had to wait for the bathroom, which is modern. Room was very roomy and clean, very comfortable. On 5th floor, but has an elevator. Lots of convenient services in the neighborhood ( internet, laundry, bars etc). View from roof terrace was as shown on the websites.

We stayed to visit a new grandchild and used the bus system to commute each day. Quite easy, and the metro gets you to Spagna stop etc in about 12 minutes.

We travel to Italy often and think this is a great spot, if you do not need room service. Pino, our host, was wonderful, and accomodating in every way. With the price of hotels in Rome, this is a good deal, and we will use it again.

  • Liked — value for price and quiet
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bearinthefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
B&B Laocoonte
#416 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Perseo B&B
#869 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Prati
Federici Guest House
Federici Guest House
#335 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Cesar Vatican Rooms
Cesar Vatican Rooms
#422 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Prati
Sweet Vatican
Sweet Vatican
#1,156 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Prati
B&B Giulio Cesare
B&B Giulio Cesare
#1,075 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro

Property: Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro
Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 171, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,036 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing