We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique accommodation in a very convenient Rome location, with a genial host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere
Ranked #116 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Unique accommodation in a very convenient Rome location, with a genial host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

I spent four nights at "Orti di Trastevere". This B&B has been justly appreciated by many reviewers. Maurizio, its owner is a fantastic host. It is him that gives the definitive imprint and a great strength to Orti di Trastevere. Maurizio’s permanent availability, resourcefulness, friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism is what makes, perhaps, the greatest difference between Orti di Trastevere and other B&Bs.

"Orti di Trastevere" is well situated, in Rome’s Trastevere rione – a very charming area, full of character, and is a welcoming and cozy place. It provides a relaxing atmosphere to the weary traveler. Its rooms are clean, airy and ample and the vintage Rome views offered from their windows are splendid. The rooms have all the required characteristics. The bathrooms are equally functional and ample. The breakfast room is cheerful and well equipped. Breakfast is excellent. Even whining adults who like to continue taking their childhood fare will not have reason for complain whatsoever.

"Orti di Trastevere" is within walking distance from some of Rome’s more suggestive areas within the historic centre, such as the old Ghetto, via Giulia, the Area Sacra, Piazza Navona, Pantheon and Campo de’ Fiori areas. Most of Ancient Rome is equally accessible, as are some less known gems (although with great historical, esthetical or touristic value) such as the Non-catholic cemetery and the Testaccio market. The fascinating churches and cobbled streets of the oldest part of the Trastevere neighbourhood are just a stone throw away.

"Orti di Trastevere" is right on the very convenient and cutting-edge tram route running along the Largo Argentina and via Arenula. There is also the “H” bus, running from Stazione Termini to the Trastevere area, but which tends to be more unpredictable timewise and is usually crowded with hyperactive tourists.

Did I say that "Orti di Trastevere" is excellent value for your money?

All in all, a tremendous host, a great B&B and a very convenient location. The downside of all this is that it will become increasingly difficult to book at this B&B in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eguirald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    59
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
145
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Trastevere is a neighborhood with great character, not far from the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, St. Peter's and the Vatican, and right on the tram route, with easy access from the airport. Maurizio, the host, will help assist your stay and with accessing the best of Rome in any way he can. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevie_wanderer_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We spent eight nights in Rome, in October 2010, and were very pleased that we had secured reservations at the B&B Orti di Trastevere several months before. I had done extensive homework on the Internet, reading reviews on the B&B options in Rome. Tripadvisor was a great source of information. A friend of mine, who visits Rome regularly, strongly advised me to narrow my search to the Trastevere district, and this proved to be valuable advice. The Trastevere area is the heart of the old quarter of Rome, and has a sense of quaintness and oldness that really appealed to us. Guidebooks will echo these sentiments. If you love photographing narrow, twisting alleyways, pavement cafes, cobbled streets and neighbourhood shops, then this is your area. It’s real and authentic. The B&B is situated on the fringe of the district, close to a main road for public transport, and on a side street that is not noisy. A ten minute walk will find you right where you want to be in the Trastevere district, and your guidebook will have all the information that you want so I won’t repeat everything here. There are only three rooms at the B&B, and I’d imagine that they get snapped up quickly. Don’t wait too long before making your reservation.
From the start I found Maurizio to be very helpful. He answered my e-mails promptly and efficiently, and sent me easy-to-follow directions. We took the train from the airport, then a tram for three stops.
Maurizio met us on arrival, and gave us a quick hints-and-tips session at the dining table. During our stay we took his recommendations on a few restaurants, and then just trusted our instincts for the rest. Trastevere has many, many small restaurants which spill delightfully onto the pavements at night. You will be spoilt for choice.
The breakfasts at the B&B are fine: filter coffee, toast, jams, cereals, fruit juices and yoghurts. Our double room was spacious and comfortable. The shared bathroom worked out very well, and it was always available.
Some of our recommendations: There is a little café downstairs, round the corner near the bank. The only sign we could see on the building was Enzo, yet the café does have its own name. This a great little place to grab a cold Birra Moretti and a bite to eat, after a long day of sightseeing. The owners are friendly. We found a delightful ristorante called Trattoria da Paulo, in Via S. Francesco a Ripa. In that area you will also find a quiet and unassuming church Santa Cecilia. Buy a ticket to go below the church to the excavations. A trip to Ostia Antica (30 minutes outside of Rome, by train) will take you to the ruins of the ancient port of Rome. Get there early and you’ll have the fascinating site to yourself.
In summary, the B&B Orti di Trastevere is great. We really enjoyed our stay there.
Hugh, Cape Town, South Africa

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveItaly70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Maurizio was wonderful in advising us the best way to get around and the best places to see. He recommended places to eat and receive best value for money. The B & B is small but in the best location for all the sights but enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet. It was extremely clean. It is close for all transport to get to the sights. There is a market around the corner on a Sunday morning.
Nora

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights in September/October 2010, and this B&B was absolutely perfect. Maurizio was a fantastic host - our first evening he sat us down with a big map and took us through local transport tips, sights to see, and a number of great restaurants at which to eat (all within a 15 minute walk, all very reasonably priced, and all delicious). The B&B is perfectly situated, 15 minutes walk from the main hub of the city (Pantheon/Piazza Navona area), and is directly outside a tram stop which goes into the centre every 5 minutes anyway. Breakfast was an ample self serve arrangement and there were always teas and coffees available throughout the day. There is also a supermarket right outside to stock up on extra supplies.

If we were to come to Rome again, we wouldn't even think about booking anywhere else! Thank you Maurizio

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbenson316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

My wife and I have traveled the world (our fourth time in Rome) and we agree that both B&B Orti and Maurizio were absolutely perfect - truly one of our favorite stays! This was no hotel; we felt like house guests of a gracious Roman family. The large, clean room was complemented by a stocked kitchen and a private bath. This, coupled with Maurizio's personal hospitality and the incredible Trastevere charm, provided a magical experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Mauricio was a very helpful and kind host. The room was large, clean and pretty. We took a room with an outside bathroom which worked fine for our needs. Great location, Trastevere is a very nice area in Rome with lots of great restaurants and easy access to trams and city buses. The breakfast was self serve and a great way to start the day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chribbunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#286 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Trastevere's Friends
#142 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
B&B Trastevere Rooms
#605 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
Suites Trastevere
Suites Trastevere
#16 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Trastevere
Divine Bed & Breakfast
Divine Bed & Breakfast
#603 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Trastevere
Little rHome Suites
Little rHome Suites
#99 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere

Property: Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere
Address: Largo Bernardino da feltre 1, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orti di Trastevere b&b is found at the 4th floor of a noble building, on Viale Trastevere. Very well connected with airport and train station and very close to the historical centre.We offer to our guests 3 bright double rooms (also as single use or with added bed)with nice views and 2 bathrooms, one for exclusive use and one to be shared between two rooms.The breakfast is various and composed with milk, coffee (long or espresso), tea, juices, bread for toast, jams, nutella, butter, yoghourt, cereals and season fruit. We like to do the best to make our guests living and knowing Rome and lot of its small secrets, offering them our knowledge about directions, nice sights or nice walking and a familiar,clean and punctual service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Orti Di Trastevere Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Orti Di Trastevere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing