We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Ranked #57 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I had chosen this hotel due to its close proximity to the Vatican and, goodness, We couldn't have got any closer! Our bedroom window overlooked the impressive entrance to the Vatican museums. Any traffic noise was not a problem if you kept the windows closed and there is air-con available. The staff were lovely and friendly, especially Nico and Irina...it is a family run hotel. The room was spacious and so was the bathroom. The room and indeed, everywhere in the hotel was immaculately clean. The beds were so comfortable as well. I was surprised there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but there was a mini bar and a small bar downstairs in the lobby which was available 24 hours a day for any sort of drinks. And the staff recommended some restaurants nearby. The breakfast buffet was impressive and the breakfast was lovely as well. Unfortunately, we could not enjoy a full breakfast on the first morning as we had a tour booked for the Papal audience which had a meeting time of 7.30am and breakfast did not start until 7.30. I was a bit disappointed at missing breakfast and was surprised due to how close it is to the Vatican it must be a common occurrence for guests to leave early? However, the hotel provided us with a pot of tea before we left and a few biscuits which was the extent of the food available at that time.
I would, however, have no hesitation coming back to this beautiful hotel. It is not cheap but worth paying a bit extra in my opinion.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    178
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
270
292
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited Rome for 4 nights/5 days. The hotel is ideally situated right opposite the entrance to the Vatican Museum. The staff were excellent. They were more than helpful, suggesting places to visit, best mode of transport, etc. They telephoned different attractions and confirmed our shuttle to back to the airport. There was a wide choice of food at breakfast which should suit everyone's taste. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. If we go back to Rome we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were warned that it was noisy at the front of the hotel but we had no trouble as when the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Love this hotel! Thank you Nico for your patience and help considering we were bumped from our flight.
The hotel is right across the street from the Vatican and the entrance to the Vatican Museum. It is in a quiet area of Rome so no noise during the night. Three seniors traveling on their own felt totally safe with enough to do around the hotel while waiting for the others to arrive.
Breakfast which was great included in the room. Room with large bed and spacious bathroom immaculate. Restaurants, supermarket, pharmacy, and phone shops just steps away and an ice cream store (gellato) on the corner!!
Would have booked at the Hotel Alimandi Tunisia which is just a block down but it was filled. Vaticano is a tad more expensive but just as nice. Either one is just fine.

Room Tip: There are baths with showers but few walk-in showers so if that is what you need, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a totally charming small hotel - walking in the door each evening
takes you into a world away from the hustle and bustle and crowds and
traffic of Rome. The staff - Nico and Irina and Eva - are delightful. The
lobby is small and quiet. The room (a Deluxe Double) and bathroom
were spacious. The breakfast buffet is overwhelming. The small bar
is charming. There are excellent small restaurants nearby. If your primary
activities are anywhere near Vatican City, this is the place to be. No, it is
not cheap - especially in the summer - but do you want to ruin your vacation
in Rome by staying anywhere that is not as nice as this?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamigirlMiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the Alimandi Vaticano Sept. 12-14. From the front desk staff (Thanks Nico!!!), to the friendly breakfast buffet attendant each morning, unseen cleaning staff who kept everything spotless, and even our fellow customers, what a great time we had during our brief stay. One complaint: we couldn't stay longer! Buffet breakfast assortment/choices was unbelievable for such a small hotel! Best way to get from Point A to Point B? Ask the front desk: so helpful! They even provide sightseeing excursion options in/around the Rome area! Great restaurants all around. Located directly across the street from the entrance to the Vatican Museums. Short STROLL of about 20-25 minutes to Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Spanish Steps areas, so why pay the exorbitant prices to stay over there?? Just a perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Second visit to this hotel and not disappointed. Excellent position for Vatican and Metro.Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean and comfortable and excellent breakfast. Recommend this hotel to all who visit Rome

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alimandi Vaticano from 21 to 25 Sept this year. We were extremely happy with this hotel and it is probably the best we have ever stayed in. Rico and other reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were very impressed with Eva in the dining room who went out of her way to ensure our special dietary needs were met and apeared to be very commited to the enjoyment of the guests and to providing a high sandard of hospitality. The breakfast was outstanding - a large selection of delicious hot dishes - includng crepes, frittata, vegetable dishes and delicious scraobled eggs and bacon - also a wide variety of cereals ands fresh and stewed fruit and beautiful pastries and cakes- truly a banquet and all very fresh. Our room was very elegantly and tastefully furnished with a fabulous and generous balcony overlooking the Vatican museums where we could enjoy a morning coffee or glass of wine in the balmy Rome evenings. The bed was a generous size and extremely comfortable. We were very happy with the central location of this hotel right next to the Vatican and enjoyed some excellent meals at an affordable price in nearby restaurants recommended to us by the hotel staff, We were also very pleased with the WiFi which was the best signal we had experienced since commencing our European trip 3 weeks earlier. Needless to say, we were very happy with this hotel and will be strongly recommending it to our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Our room 304 was great - Ask for a balcony and view of the Vatican Museums
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#58 of 1,259 in Rome
625 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#34 of 1,259 in Rome
728 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#50 of 1,259 in Rome
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#122 of 1,259 in Rome
458 reviews
Heart Hotel
#92 of 1,259 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alimandi Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Property: Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Address: Viale Vaticano 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#48 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alimandi Vaticano 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel in the Alimandi’s family crown, opened in 2002 this fantastic structure offers luxury rooms and suites facing the entrance to the Vatican museums. All the rooms are stylishly decorated in the liberty style and offer all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel of its quality and reputation. The extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor breakfast room, while there is a roof terrace with views over the Vatican walls available for special occasion, or simply to catch a little sun. There is the usual extensive concierge service at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alimandi Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Vaticano Hotel
Alimandi Vaticano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing