We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven from the hustle and bustle of Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Ranked #50 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a totally charming small hotel - walking in the door each evening
takes you into a world away from the hustle and bustle and crowds and
traffic of Rome. The staff - Nico and Irina and Eva - are delightful. The
lobby is small and quiet. The room (a Deluxe Double) and bathroom
were spacious. The breakfast buffet is overwhelming. The small bar
is charming. There are excellent small restaurants nearby. If your primary
activities are anywhere near Vatican City, this is the place to be. No, it is
not cheap - especially in the summer - but do you want to ruin your vacation
in Rome by staying anywhere that is not as nice as this?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamigirlMiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 843 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the Alimandi Vaticano Sept. 12-14. From the front desk staff (Thanks Nico!!!), to the friendly breakfast buffet attendant each morning, unseen cleaning staff who kept everything spotless, and even our fellow customers, what a great time we had during our brief stay. One complaint: we couldn't stay longer! Buffet breakfast assortment/choices was unbelievable for such a small hotel! Best way to get from Point A to Point B? Ask the front desk: so helpful! They even provide sightseeing excursion options in/around the Rome area! Great restaurants all around. Located directly across the street from the entrance to the Vatican Museums. Short STROLL of about 20-25 minutes to Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Spanish Steps areas, so why pay the exorbitant prices to stay over there?? Just a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Second visit to this hotel and not disappointed. Excellent position for Vatican and Metro.Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean and comfortable and excellent breakfast. Recommend this hotel to all who visit Rome

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alimandi Vaticano from 21 to 25 Sept this year. We were extremely happy with this hotel and it is probably the best we have ever stayed in. Rico and other reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were very impressed with Eva in the dining room who went out of her way to ensure our special dietary needs were met and apeared to be very commited to the enjoyment of the guests and to providing a high sandard of hospitality. The breakfast was outstanding - a large selection of delicious hot dishes - includng crepes, frittata, vegetable dishes and delicious scraobled eggs and bacon - also a wide variety of cereals ands fresh and stewed fruit and beautiful pastries and cakes- truly a banquet and all very fresh. Our room was very elegantly and tastefully furnished with a fabulous and generous balcony overlooking the Vatican museums where we could enjoy a morning coffee or glass of wine in the balmy Rome evenings. The bed was a generous size and extremely comfortable. We were very happy with the central location of this hotel right next to the Vatican and enjoyed some excellent meals at an affordable price in nearby restaurants recommended to us by the hotel staff, We were also very pleased with the WiFi which was the best signal we had experienced since commencing our European trip 3 weeks earlier. Needless to say, we were very happy with this hotel and will be strongly recommending it to our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Our room 304 was great - Ask for a balcony and view of the Vatican Museums
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I along with our two granddaughters, ages 8 and 10, stayed in the hotel for 8 days in February of this year. For a number of reasons I have been delinquent in writing a review, but now that I have time I have to say what a lovely stay we all had at the hotel. The staff at reception was very welcoming, our room with two double beds was a nice size with coffee and tea making facilities and wi-fi capability. It was very clean and kept spotless by housekeeping during our entire stay. Nico the manager was accessible virtually all of the time and was able to answer any and all questions re: touring Rome. The accessibility to the Vatican Museum is perfect, about 300 feet to the entrance, and it is also an easy walk to the Metro for travel to other parts of Rome. The breakfast was excellent, and the dining room is also spotless and the wait staff go out of their way to be helpful. Each morning they prepared delicious hot chocolate for our granddaughters to enjoy along with all of the other delicious breakfast food. Upon departure, Nico arranged for transportation to the airport and the vehicle was a lovely spotless Mercedes van. The price was reasonable and the driver was courteous. On the whole we had a great stay at the hotel. Nico runs a tight ship and the hotel is perfect for a stay in Rome. My wife and I are in the preliminary process of planning another trip to Rome with her brother and his wife, and we would not think of staying anyplace other than the Alimandi Vaticano. We only hope that because of it"s excellence and outstanding growing reputation, it will not be fully booked for the period of our stay before we make our final arrangements. If so, all travelers being retired, we would change the time of our trip to allow a stay at the hotel. It is really that good, and the price you pay is reasonable for Rome hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hidden jewel is the best place to stay in Rome. It's out of the chaos of the Termini Station neighborhood and located directly across from the entrance to the Vatican Museum. This place is clean, family friendly and has the best breakfast in Rome. Not only are you offered fresh fruit, pastries, and awesome cappuccinos, but has an assortment of warm dishes ranging from vegetable ravioli to cooked pasta. The roof has a wonderful little seating area where you can look out and see the moon rising over the wall of the Vatican at night. It's family run, and very accommodation. They even helped arrange a car to get us from the airport. This was our second 5 day stay. It will always be our first choice for Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly, the room spotless, and the breakfast was wonderful. Close to good restaurants, but quiet at night. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. The location was perfect for us. The beds were very comfortable and we slept great here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianek8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#57 of 1,271 in Rome
692 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
479 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#65 of 1,271 in Rome
1,232 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#54 of 1,271 in Rome
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alimandi Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Address: Viale Vaticano 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#48 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $111 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alimandi Vaticano 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel in the Alimandi’s family crown, opened in 2002 this fantastic structure offers luxury rooms and suites facing the entrance to the Vatican museums. All the rooms are stylishly decorated in the liberty style and offer all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel of its quality and reputation. The extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor breakfast room, while there is a roof terrace with views over the Vatican walls available for special occasion, or simply to catch a little sun. There is the usual extensive concierge service at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alimandi Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Vaticano Hotel
Alimandi Vaticano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing