We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thanksgiving week visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Ranked #56 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving week visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 boys (10,12) in the 2 double bed room.. The room was clean and the finishes were nice. The bathroom was also very nice. The room came equipped w wifi which was reliable throughout our stay. Breakfast which was included was very robust with lots of options considering its a buffet. The lobby bar was nice but a little tucked away. The staff were extremely helpful and even helped me get tickets to a Lazio soccer match and to several restaurants that were off the beaten path. The service was very good in my opinion. They arranged a private limo at the end of our stay to take us to the airport which arrived on time without any problems.

The location was a little isolated from other venues but is right across the street from the Vatican entrance (1 min walk or less). The nearest metro stop was about 4-5 blocks or about 10 minute walk which we used extensively. This was nice as it allowed us to see the local neighborhood around the hotel. There are not many things on the street the hotel is located on but plenty of options for shopping and eating 1-2 streets back. Luckily the hotel is on the corner of a staircase alley which allows almost immediate access back to these. Walking to other tourist sites beyond the Vatican is not convenient w/o accessing the Metro.

Overall the hotel was very clean, had great service, and is extremely convenient to the Vatican entrance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlantaheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALIMANDIVATICANSTAFF, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alimandi Vaticano, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are satisfied to know you have spent a pleasent stay with us. We hope to welcome you again

Sincerely,

Alimandi Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    178
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
269
292
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a group of 30 people travel to Rome for a cruise. We spent 3 fabulous nights in the hotel with excellent service and accommodations. Nico and staff went out of their way to accommodate everyone's wants and needs. They prepared two fabulous dinners for our group of 30 and met all our requirements with assisting in transfers. Every person in the group said they would not hesitate to go back to this great hotel. I am a travel agent and have stayed there previously and book all my clients in this hotel because of their service of excellence. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome. The location and service of the hotel is better than any we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My daughter, myself and two of my grandsons aged 26 and 17 stayed here upon arriving in Rome for a two week Italy vacation. Fabiana and Nico welcomed us so warmly and helped us with our many questions in the following days. Our room for four was spacious and overlooked the Vatican Museum and Gardens! So close to Saint Peters Square and Basilica and the surrounding neighborhood was great for restaurants, shopping and Gelato! We enjoyed the rooftop terrace every night to unwind! Their breakfast was wonderful and so many choices! We will definitely stay here again in the future. Thank you Fabiana and Nico!! You made our stay with you memorable and we are so grateful for your genuine warm welcome to our family! My grandsons especially remember Nico and his engaging happy manner at answering their many questions!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chila1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALIMANDIVATICANSTAFF, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alimandi Vaticano, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for the long and nice review! I remember your family! It has been a pleasure for me to be useful proving info. That's my duty! I hope you come back next year :)
Merry Christmas and Happy new Year!

Nico, Fabiana & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

we stayed in the first weekend of December. At first there were problems with our shower/toilet and we were offered another room in the other Alimandi nearby FOC for first night. the 2nd night we slept at the proper hotel, being given Room 305 which consists of a two double bedroomed room with a balcony overlooking the Vatican Museum Entrance. the room was enormous and the design decor was very chic and posh,with Sky tv (where one can choose the language), Free WiFi and the balcony to boot. Reception talked good English and were always ready to help. Children (6 + 9) liked the hotel as well (esp the cable children channels).
Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0zitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALIMANDIVATICANSTAFF, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alimandi Vaticano, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thanks for your generous review. We are sorry for the problem on the first night and we are happy that you have enjoyed the solution we found. We hope you'll come back next year to Rome and to our Hotel

Sincerely,

Hotel Alimandi Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

There's something fascinating about this hotel - it fits in perfectly with Rome's atmosphere. It is elegant and classy, airy and stylish and the choice of colors is in perfect sync with the Eternal City. The rooms are huge and the windows sound-proof. There's free wi-fi in the rooms and tea and coffee facilities. Hotel Alimandi Vaticano is the best situated hotel in Rome if you want to visit the Vatican Museum, as literally all you have to do is cross the street. We arranged limo pick up from the airport and back through them and the service and the cars were impeccable. Also the buffet breakfast was outstanding and varied with local produce and cakes. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAndCipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALIMANDIVATICANSTAFF, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alimandi Vaticano, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Laura & Cipri,

thanks for your nice review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our Hotel and atmosphere.
We hope to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Nico & all Alimandi Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family of four stayed five nights at the Alimandi in November. Hotel staff is the absolute best I've seen anywhere in Italy- truly outstanding. They arranged a private transfer for us to and from the airport which was so convenient. I injured my knee prior to our trip and needed to put ice on it every evening, the staff were so kind and accommodating- they provided a large bag of ice for me every single day we were there. They also gave great recommendations for places to eat, and their breakfast was fantastic. Be sure to ask for a cup of cappuccino. Location is great, right next to the Vatican. A taxi stand is right out front as well as metro and bus stations nearby. Rooms are very clean and comfortable with soft bedding and lots of pillows. We loved the nice roomy bathroom with free toiletries provided. Altogether a fantastic stay, I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You may want a room that isn't facing the roadside, traffic can be a bit noisy ( not a problem f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALIMANDIVATICANSTAFF, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alimandi Vaticano, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your generous review. I remember you were needing ice and it has been a pleasure to be helpful for you. It has been a good choice once again to use Mr. Gregori Gianfranco Limousine service for our guests. You could leave a review of his service on his profile on here.
We hope to welcome you soon

Sincerely,

Nico & All Alimandi Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

As a family of four ( 2 kids 6 and 9) we stayed at this Hotel on the hearsay of the previous reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed and in fact were really impressed with the Hotel.
The staff to say the least were more than helpful and nothing was a problem for them.
The hotel itself was clean and the breakfast were varied and more than ample.
Location was absolutely spot on for us as we were able to cross the road and walk into the Vatican museums which included the Sistine chapel .St Peters square was a ten minute walk away .This was also a great location for the rest of Rome as the Metro was only ten min walk if you preferred to use than rather than walking into the main part of Rome.
Overall while it was a little more expensive than the other hotels around it was more than worth it and justified in the pricing.
Highly recommended and we intend to come back next year and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCormackG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALIMANDIVATICANSTAFF, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alimandi Vaticano, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear George,

thanks a lot for your nice review! We are satisfied to have provided you with a pleasent stay and to have been a good choice to visit Rome. We hope to welcome you next year.

Sincerely,

Hotel Alimandi Vaticano Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#58 of 1,258 in Rome
622 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,258 in Rome
727 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#50 of 1,258 in Rome
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#128 of 1,258 in Rome
458 reviews
Heart Hotel
#112 of 1,258 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alimandi Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Property: Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Address: Viale Vaticano 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#48 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alimandi Vaticano 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel in the Alimandi’s family crown, opened in 2002 this fantastic structure offers luxury rooms and suites facing the entrance to the Vatican museums. All the rooms are stylishly decorated in the liberty style and offer all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel of its quality and reputation. The extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor breakfast room, while there is a roof terrace with views over the Vatican walls available for special occasion, or simply to catch a little sun. There is the usual extensive concierge service at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alimandi Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Vaticano Hotel
Alimandi Vaticano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing