We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night in Roma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Filomena e Francesca B&B
Ranked #2,117 of 3,763 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2009

The Filomena e Francesca B&B was a clean, friendly, well appointed establishment. The hosts were friendly and informative.
Can I recommend the chinese restaurant, 100 metres down the road in the opposite direction to Piazzale Clodio?
Much better than average for an oriental/indian restaurant in the Eternal City !

ps check the lift is working or its a nine floor climb !

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfzodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2008

If you are traveling to Rome I highly recommend Filomena and Francesca's B&B. It is very affordable, they provide a good breakfast, the rooms are clean and it's in a great location . . . within walking distance to Vatican City. This was our first trip to Rome and we were concerned about transportation from the airport to the B&B. They made all the arrangements and a driver was waiting for us upon our arrival. What a great way to start our vacation. They are a lovely couple most anxious to answer any questions we had about Romes important monuments, museums, religious buildings, ancient Rome, transportation options, etc. I cannot thank them enough for making our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chckmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Stay: 13th September 2008

Enjoyed our stay at F & F Bed & Breakfast. Owners were there to meet my husband and myself when we arrived to give us a warm wellcome. As we arrived we put our things into our room and went down by walk to the Vatican which is only 15 - 20 mins walk from the residence. There are two Metro stations nearby and a local bus which stops you in Via Guiliana.

A lot of shops to see and places to eat along the way too. Filumena prepared a good breakfast every morning and together with her husband was very helpful in giving us useful information to our wherabouts and places to visit and bus numbers.

Our room was very spacious and also very well equipped with a good sized bathroom which surely wont be found in a hotel. Air condition could also be used in hot weather for no extra cost.

Both owners speak English so comunication was good between us. We stayed in Rome for 5 nights and left the next morning and it is quite easy to get around with the Metro and the map provided by the owners.
If my husband and I will ever return to Rome we would surely consider coming back to this residence instead of any hotel and we would surely recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank holidaybluesMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonnoGid, proprietario at Filomena e Francesca B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2008

The correct (ufficial) name for the B&B is Filomena e Francesca B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

This was a comfortable and air conditioned place to sleep but that was about all. It was over a mile to the Vatican, the hostess spoke no English(even though the info we got from their website said they spoke Eng.) and we never saw her after we checked in.

The Breakfast was not at all what I expect from a B&B--cellophane wrapped rolls, butter and jelly and our 3-day supply was there from the time we checked in. By the 3rd day, we decided to go out and buy fruit from the street market and find a pastry in town. A choice of beverages included milk, which was in the refrigerator and had already been opened, juice, coffee and tea.

It was in a quiet neighborhood which was nice for sleeping but we did not feel it was safe for 2 women to return there after dark beacuse of the walk through streets that were often rather deserted.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank panther12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

What we loved about this place was first of all the proprieters were very friendly and helpful, gave us good advice on how to get around. The location is perfect because it's out of the tourist area yet we walked to the Vatican, Castel Sant Angelo and over the bridge to Piazza Navona. The bus stop is across the street and we used that to go further, excellent coffee shop and restaurant across the street as well. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LeepingLeopold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay to really get a feel for how the Italians live! The room was big and clean and well-appointed with a nice balcony overlooking a very local, non-tourist street. The Vatican is so accessible. And there is a lovely ristaurante right across the street where we were served some of the best food we had on our trip. The owners were very accomodating and pleasant. They are not fluent in English and I am not fluent in Italian so I really felt like I was in another country! Very exciting. I would unhesitatingly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suzinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

We stayed for a prolonged weekend and were very satisfied with this accomodation. Rooms are big enough and furnished in decent way. Every room has a bathroom and balcony (table and chair for two people). In terms of traffic it is located excellently: Bus stop right in front and another big bus station with many lines nearby, but nevertheless not noisy beause of the 8th floor. Vatican city can be reached by a walk of 10 minutes, underground in 5 minutes. After all a perfect weekend trip for two young people on sightseeing tour.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank violaMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filomena e Francesca B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filomena e Francesca B&B

Address: Via della Giuliana 72, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,117 of 3,763 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $40 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Filomena e Francesca B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic near Saint Peter's Basilica, perfect for getting to historical sites. The rooms are big and well-lit and they all have private bathrooms and an air-conditioning system, are furnished elegantly, with considerable attention to detail. Here you will have total privacy in a comfortable and stylish atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Filomena e Francesca B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing