We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay overall. Cool bar/pub downstairs”
Review of The Yellow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yellow
Ranked #18 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Okay overall. Cool bar/pub downstairs”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Again I'm not big on hostels but I wanted to check this one out because it had a big party reputation and I felt like a party at the time.

What's good:

+ Nice bar/pub downstairs which serves food too. Food is pretty good. Staff are decent. Ambiance is a little bit retro but nice enough. Outdoor seating available.

+ Very close to Termini (Rome's central train station). This is a major hub. Also within 30 minutes walk of quite a few attractions like the Piazza Barberini, the Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Fontana Di Trevi, all of which are about 2.5-3 kms from the hostel. Fair amount of bars, shops, restaurants in the neighborhood.

+ Free i-Pads. I think it's free for an hour or something like that.

+ Generally good vibe and atmosphere. I met some nice people from Canada, Australia etc.

What would be wonderful:

+ Cleaner bathrooms / shower area.

+ Better air-conditioning for the summer. I'd like cooler rooms.

+ Perhaps newer beds.

I think it was alright but for some people it might be even better because I prefer private rooms in general.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshapaulraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    812
    311
    94
    70
See reviews for
162
366
600
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hostel was in a great location in room, namely because it seemed to be the spot where all the student-aged travelers seemed to be staying, or came just to hang out at the bar! It was super clean and safe, with great staff helping at the front desk, and an awesome mix of people who passed through every night. Only about 20 minute walking from the colliseum or pantheon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Bar and Arcade is a great place to meet new fellow travellers. I could not fault the staff to either at the bar or the reception. The only thing I would of liked though if they had put me in the main building itself rather than the other building that they have just a few yards down the street. I will one day return back to Rome to complete the things I did not do last time and will be staying back here at The Yellow as it's a great welcoming place.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building itself and not the second building they hire out a few yards down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This was a fantastic hostel. Has a bit if everything. Bar staff are great with a very friendly and positive attitude. Reception staff less pleasant other than a dark haired guy. The rooms are nice enough. I was in a 4bed with shower. Was great, highly recommend. Although the shower head was detached and required constant holding. Lockers were very secure. Food and drink was nice and cheap. Close to the train station and close enough to everything else. Be careful with some local restaurants with additional charges for bread.
Very nice recreation room with lots to entertain.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SamitoTobrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent spot to use as 'headquarters' for your vacations. The hotel has a proffesional and friendly profile towards its guests, and it is the best pick you could have on a low-budget trip.
It is close to a subway station, 5 minutes walking from Termini station, in an peaceful area without tourist masses.
You are provided with endless free instant coffe, a free mini bar(if you book through their website), a map, and endless support on whatever you may think to ask from the personnel. Everyone speaks very good English. Especially Mark, the recepionist (who is from New Zealand), was our 'I know everything and I can fix everything while smiing' guy. A massive THANK YOU to Mark for his contribution, and for his kind and humorous approach that made our stay much more pleasant.
I also have to add, that we had a bit of a damage on the washstand, in our bathroom, which was instantly repaired without any charge( its important, because in some other hotel we could have been charged on the bill).
In any case, I feel happy and lucky to find that small hotel for my stay in Rome, I would happily go there again, and of course highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pstinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mey C, receptionist at The Yellow, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for posting a wonderful review in Tripadvisor pertaining your recent stay at Hotel Romae and for highly recommending us.

I am very happy to read that that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide you with excellent service and truly treasured experience.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and be at your service once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hostel was real close to the Termini station, approx 10 minute walk. I was in a 6 bed mixed dorm on the 1st floor, it was a large dorm room, each bed had a light, shelf and power outlet. There was also a hair dryer, table and chair in the room with an power outlet next to the table. The room was mostly quiet, no noise from the bar downstairs, however the room was right next to the bathroom, so anytime someone turned on the bathroom taps you could hear it through the wall so don't pick the bed against the wall closest to the bathroom.
The hostel was clean and the bathrooms seemed to get cleaned several times throughout the day.
Overall I think I would stay here again, mostly due to its proximity to Termini.

Room Tip: If your dorm room is next to the bathroom, don't choose the bed directly on the other side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

It was a strange night stay... the room wasn't as cleaned as they said, I got an infection eating the gaspacho and during the night staff took in the room and left layed on the floor of the room one guy drunk who was vomiting on the floor and covered by sheet...At 3 am I should asked insisting to change room because I didn't pay for this kind of animation

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank géraldine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#447 of 1,256 in Rome
289 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#28 of 1,093 in Rome
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#13 of 1,093 in Rome
160 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,093 in Rome
438 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#44 of 1,093 in Rome
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow

Property: The Yellow
Address: Via Palestro 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yellow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOU are going to love it here if:- YOU like to get your party on- YOU love socializing from dusk till dawn- YOU're looking for an international entourage- YOU think loud is the new black- YOU just want to kick back and enjoy yourself. More than just unrivaled location and facilities, Yellow has its own spirit that is made by everyone who stays or works here. Our staff are renowned for going out of their way to make the Yellow experience one that thousands of people each year remember as being a highlight of their travels. The Yellow has been established over ten years ago. We take the experience of these years and turn it into knowledge of how to best cater to the wants and needs of today's traveler. Some of our other great hostel features include:- FREE internet access and WI-FI - BAR- Breakfast (a la carte) available from 7 am to noon - Food available all day,all night- Patio- All non-smoking bedrooms- Air conditioning (EVERYWHERE) - Great walking tours, bike tours and FREE TOURS- Supermarket around the corner- FREE city maps- Safe paid car parking nearby- FREE hot showers 24 h.- No lockout- No curfew- 24 HOUR CHECK-IN (you can check-in ANYTIME after 2.30Pm, the reception is always open, so you don't need to tell us your estimated arrival time)All our PRIVATE ROOMS are equipped with:- private en-suite bathroom - independent air-conditioning and heating- a safety deposit box- a hair dryer - FREE WIFI. Rome CITY TAX is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed and is payable directly in cash at the reception. The amount is 3,50 EUROS PER PERSON PER NIGHT IN CASH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing