We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not remove incorrect credit card charges”
Review of Hotel Cervia Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cervia Roma
Ranked #346 of 1,121 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Oakland, CA
1 review
“would not remove incorrect credit card charges”
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Hotel Cervia uses an online "simple booking system"...although we correctly canceled our reservation well in advance--and received a message from the online system stating that the room was correctly canceled--my credit card was nevertheless charged for the night's stay. Although the hotel staff later acknowledged the mistake, it was never corrected even after multiple emails assuring me it would be. I finally had to dispute the charge directly with my credit card company. To top it off, the hotel nevertheless charged the standard "cancelation" fee, even though they failed to cancel the reservation. You can probably find many other budget locations near the Termini station that will not have you dealing with a lingering credit card hassle well after your vacation is over.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    97
    73
    28
    29
See reviews for
35
72
62
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I was at the Hotel Cervia Roma with my class trip. We stayed there at the beginning of our trip and at the end of our trip. I ad two different rooms. The first week i was on the fourth floor and there is no elevator so you are lugging your luggage loudly up all of the stairs. Our first room had two twin beds and one queen. We were one of the two on our floor with our own bathrooms. All others had to share. View to the alley way with construction and lots of restaraunts. They room was extremely hot if the window was not open but loud diners chatted until about 3 am. The second room was actually in the sect of hotel called hotel Restivo. It was lovely. The rooms were nicer, they had there own nice bathrooms sound proof windows and mirrors. Over al the location of this hotel was good and safe but not good for elderly people, small children, people withh special needs, or a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeycat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

The best thing about the Cervia hotel is that it is very well connected. It's a short walk away from the stazione termini which means that buses and trains are very accessible. However, the termini area is not the most attractive area of Rome.
It's also very clean and when we had a problem with our toilet flush, they changed our room the next morning.
The worst thing about cervia is the breakfast. The coffee comes out of a vending machine! But if you don't mind that then this place is quite convenient.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pinkyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I have been staying at this hotel for years. I usually visit Rome several times a year and usually I have small groups of travelers with me. This hotel has always been fantastic. The staff is absolutely top notch. They are very helpful and always so whatever is necessary to make my stay better. For several years I brought students to Rome but now I am conducting tours for adults and I always use this hotel.

  • Liked — The helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GWKMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diddylicious
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My partner and I stayed here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hotel Cervia. The location is excellent- probably 3 blocks walk from the Termini station. The area has a lot of other hotels and tourists so is quite safe. There are some seedy parts around Termini, but Hotel Cervia is not in one of them.

Our room was very clean and we had daily room service to keep it that way. We went with the private bathroom, so had a nice breakfast included at the downstairs dining room.

Some of the staff were quite helpful and others were just neutral.

The downsides were that we had to leave our key at reception each morning, and didn't have a safe in the room to lock valuables. We have experienced this practice elsewhere, so it's not uncommon.

If you're after something cheap and without too many frills in an excellent location, I would recommend Hotel Cervia.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Diddylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Booked this hotel to stay close to the train station. Location is good, but our room faced a construction site. Hammering began at 7am. Room was stuffy and without ventilation if window was shut. Bed was narrow and uncomfortable and the pillow was as thin as paper. Otherwise the room was very clean and was good for an overnight if you just need a place to rest your head before leaving town. It's not comfortable if planning it as a base to visit Rome for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperstarD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Hotel Cervia in Rome is a good option for budget travelers. It was neither the best nor the worst place we stayed...location near the train station and even closer to another subway station was handy for getting around Rome. It was actually a nice area compared to the bad things people say about the area around the train station. There were other hotels and a few restaurants on the street - it felt safe even at night. The hotel has good security and 24 hour reception. There was no street noise once the windows were closed, but noise from the hall was a bit of an issue - mainly the sound of people leaving and entering other rooms. Bathroom was small but clean and updated. No A/C but they do provide a fan and the window was huge.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Nika Hostel
Nika Hostel
#165 of 1,121 in Rome
62 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#148 of 1,121 in Rome
269 reviews
Esquilino
Roma Tempus
Roma Tempus
#196 of 1,121 in Rome
28 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#33 of 1,121 in Rome
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cervia Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cervia Roma

Property: Hotel Cervia Roma
Address: Via Palestro 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 1,121 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cervia Roma 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cervia is a one star hotel located in the historical centre of Rome and a short distance from the main railway station 'Stazione Termini'. Managed by the same family since 1959, the hotel offers a warm and friendly environment. Recently restructured there are 35 rooms: singles, doubles, triples, quadruples, with or without ensuite bathrooms. The hotel also has a bar and breakfast room. Our reception is 24 opened. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cervia Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervia Roma Hotel
Cervia Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing