We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location great people”
Review of Hotel Cervia Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cervia Roma
Ranked #338 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good location great people”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I have stayed at hotel Cervia for a number of years now when I am in Rome. It is well situated with an easy walk from termini and easy to find! The hotel is clean and well kept. All the staff are extremely pleasant and very helpful particularly with getting around the city and what to see. They can tell you about interesting places that are not on the usual routes and tourist lists. They offer breakfast if wanted. I have stayed in both the rooms with bathrooms and without both are fine and they are cleaned and made up every day.
The area is good not far from the university and there are good restaurants, cafes in the blocks around the hotel. There is also a supermarket a couple of blocks down past the garibaldi graffiti.
I always feel safe walking around the area in the evenings when I travel alone.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the street if you want a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    96
    73
    27
    29
See reviews for
34
72
61
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Cervia with my mother in early June. We stayed 4 nights. I booked the room online and then called the hotel to confirm it. It is 5 minutes away from the Termini station and though that area is rather seedy, Hotel Cervia was an exception. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in a room without a personal bathroom in the first floor since it was cheaper and the shared bathroom was very clean albeit small. The room was spacious with high ceiling and the beds were cleaned everyday and even though the room was facing the rather lively street, it never was too loud. I had asked for 2 single beds and the staff had arranged one queen and a single bed so it was great beyond my expectations. I'll definitely stay in Hotel Cervia when I visit Rome the next time (which I hope will be soon)/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelica86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2011

a little bit far from station. hotel room is clean. with no lift or air condition. as downstair have restaurant, it is a little bit noisy at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I stayed here the last week of October 2010 for 4 nights. My room was clean with a double bed, with a good mattress and soft pillows. I opted for bathroom/shower down the hall, which were also clean, no problem with the hot water. My room had a sink and towels were provided. My bed was made up everyday. I had booked my room and paid on-line and received a discount, so my room was 38 Euros, (equaled $55 Canadian) per night. There is the option of breakfast included but I didn't take that, so I don't know what their breakfast entails as Italians don't eat breakfast the way North Americans do. An Italian breakfast is more or less coffee and some kind of roll or pastry and you can get a great cappuchino and croissant for 1.80 Euros at a neighbourhood coffee place. My room was up on the third floor and I did hear street noise but it wasn't too bad. There is no elevator and after a long day of walking the climb up the stairs was felt. I didn't have a lot of interaction with staff but when I did they were friendly. The free map of Rome that they have at the reception desk is very helpful for getting around Rome by foot and transit.
The location is good because it is a 10 minute walk (or so) from the central train station (Termini) which also has the buses to the airport. The train station is also the hub for subway and public transit. There is a small grocery store in the neighbourhood and a great coffee bar across from the train station (on Via Masala). There are also several resatuarants around.
I travel on a budget and this was my first trip to Rome, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This was my second stay in the hotel (previously Nov 2008). Again it was good value, comfortable and friendly. The linen was changed daily and the room, though basic, was comfy. I don't spend hours in hotels so didn't need any extras although a kettle would have been useful (bring your own). That said, there are plenty of trattorias and bars on the street so if you need that coffee fix you don't have far to go. I wasn't impressed with the breakfast last time so instead used Bar Valentina at No. 65 (recommended). Termini is 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gissapint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

this place was not worth it all...my husband and I stayed 3 days and it was horrible. The double bed was two uneven horrible twin beds pushed together and it did not have a/c. They did give us a fan that was the only thing. You start by going up some very sketch wooden stairs that seem like they break the second you get on them. The room was decent size but the bed was horrible. We stayed in a room with a detached bathroom. The towel you get is a hand towel that is like sand paper! It absorbs nothing and just hurts you. The bathroom is just disgusting! The three days we were there, the bathroom got worse and no one cleaned it! the water would overflow in the shower and flood the bathroom! The bathroom smelled like urine and all the water on the floor further sold the smell. There was no toilet paper and no one came to replace it. If you are young college traveler who is used to frat house bathrooms...then you wont have a problem... All in all you can probably find a better place for the price or a bit more. It is worth it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssiddiq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Kolkata
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2009

While booking I had absolutely no idea that the quadruple room would be on the 4th floor and that there would be no elevator to take us there. So I was forced to tug my luggage up the flight of stairs in the heat of the summer. The room was quite large with one queen sized bed and two singles. All fine. But there was only a single pedestal fan to take care of the cooling. Inadequate? You bet! The guy at the reception, very kindly, offered me his pedestal fan. The catch was that I had to haul it up to my room by myself. The shower cubicle did not have a shower bracket and as a result the spout hung on its chord. If you weren't too careful you could actually flood your room. Sheets were never replaced during my three night stay there. The only saving grace was the location, otherwise its below standard. Stay here only if you are desperate or have immense tolerance for nonsense. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone other than backpackers.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sanjayb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Nika Hostel
Nika Hostel
#191 of 1,100 in Rome
60 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#42 of 1,100 in Rome
990 reviews
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#148 of 1,100 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#31 of 1,100 in Rome
735 reviews
Esquilino
Roman Holidays Hostel
Roman Holidays Hostel
#78 of 1,100 in Rome
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cervia Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cervia Roma

Property: Hotel Cervia Roma
Address: Via Palestro 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cervia Roma 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cervia is a one star hotel located in the historical centre of Rome and a short distance from the main railway station 'Stazione Termini'. Managed by the same family since 1959, the hotel offers a warm and friendly environment. Recently restructured there are 35 rooms: singles, doubles, triples, quadruples, with or without ensuite bathrooms. The hotel also has a bar and breakfast room. Our reception is 24 opened. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cervia Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervia Roma Hotel
Cervia Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing