We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, brilliant base for exploring Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camping Village Fabulous
Ranked #19 of 1,196 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently returned from Italy staying at Camping Fabulous for 5 days as part of a Sun Holiday deal. As it was the beginning of April and the start of the season the site was very quiet and not alot of the ammenities were open for obvious reasons. This included the onsite shop (which did open on the last day!, geleteria and swimming pools to name but a few). However the bar and restaurante were both open from 6pm daily.

The site appeared to be very clean and my boyfriend and I were extreamly pleased with the Keycamp accommodation (Vista), which came equiped with decking patio, BBQ sun loungers, 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms, kitchenette and living room area. Keycamp staff were also friendly enough.

On arrival we were given a wristband to wear for the duration of our stay, not sure why as nobody checked it and maybe it was just me but I did not witness the security guard at the entrance who people speak of.

Campsite staff all seemed friendly enough and spoke English. My boyfriend lost his wallet during the stay and the staff did their best to help even though we did not find it.

The food at the restaurante was average, nothing special to write home about. The bar area was quite nice with outdoor seating.

As we were on a Sun Holiday the campsite kindly arranged via emails to them for a taxi service to pick us up from the airport and also to take us back on the Friday. I think it cost around 20 Euros e/w. You could probably get public transport via the metro and bus, however with baggage this may be alittle difficult.

Speaking of public transport the campsite is very well situated for Rome. When you come out of the entrance, turn left and walk down the road. At this point you will see a police hut in the middle of the road, cross this road and there is a bus stop that will take you to Eur Fermi (the metro station, if you hop on the metro it will take you to all the sites, there are only 2 lines so it really doesnt get confusing. Its very easy to navigate. Bus/Metro tickets for the week cost about 25 Euros each which you can buy from the front entrance desk at the campsite.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the site and would probably return maybe in the summer when more things are open. As a base for Rome though its absolutly brilliant and cheap at the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TEESTY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 964 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

I just got back home from Italy and my strongest memory is with camp Fabulous. Love the bar, restaurant, the camp, reception services and people there, very helpful, specially this really nice security guard that seemed to be more informed about Rome and the campsite then the people in reception, wich is weird to hear a foreigner speak a better english than me :) Katalin I think is his name. A very peaceful place, and belive me at my age I need peace and quiet.
I'll definitely be back, if not this year maybe next year. I recommend this campsite to any and all!

Room Tip: Use the public transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shuterbug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and son have just returned from 4 days at this campsite in low season.
The pool, gelateria are closed until high season end April.
The trips "Rome by Night" and "Pompeii" also don't start until high season end April.
You can rent mobiles directly from the campsite. You can also rent mobiles and tents from Homair, Canvas, Keycamp and Vacansoleil.
As my husband and son were arriving with Ryanair with hand luggage, they opted for the campsite mobiles which have bedding and towels included in the prices. They rented a bungalow which is a half mobile and yes they could feel the vibrations each time the neighbours walked across the floor and the neighbours would have felt the vibrations too. If you're fine with that take a bungalow, if not, don't complain and rent a bigger mobile!
ATAC buses 070 and 709 go to the campsite from EUR Fermi metro station. Husband reported indeed the buses don't run to the timetable! He said it would have been difficult to spot the campsite on first arrival as it was dark and they were guided by other people on the bus as to where to get off.
Husband travelled from Ciampino airport using public transport. There is a 720 bus which goes to Laurentina metro which he found on the ATAC map but did not fancy trying to find it as it only runs once an hour, so instead took the COTRAL bus to Anagnina metro (one ticket about €1.20), then took the metro to Termini, changed to metro to EUR Fermi, finally the bus to the campsite (100 minute validity BIT ticket €1.50). The journey from Ciampino takes between 90 and 120 minutes, depending on connections.
Husband bought ROMA pass from the campsite office for €30 which included 72 hours of public transport and 2 entries to museums - he chose Colosseum/Palatine/Forum and Caracalla baths/Via Antica. The total saving was over €10 but could be more, depending on how much public transport you use.
Son bought an ATAC BTI 72 hour public transport ticket from the campsite office for €16.50, worth it if you make 12 or more trips in 72 hours. EU nationals under the age of 18 get into the Colosseum and Caracalla baths for free (take passport/national ID) so don't buy a ROMA pass for an EU under 18 year old!
The campsite is not far from Ostia Antica - can get there by taking 070 bus to the end of the line and the train backwards, or bus to EUR Fermi, metro to EUR Magliana and train to Ostia Antica. Of course if you have a car, you can get there much quicker!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stockelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Camping Fabulous in summer '11. Perfect place for visiting Rome and surrounding areas, the public transport is second to none. The campsite itself is well looked after, the pool is Immaculately clean and very safe for children. Going again this year '13 a group of 6 adults and 7 children.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jmecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great place to stay if you want to visit Rome.. very accessible for buses and even you just want to stay which in the camp, kids will be definitely enjoying themselves.

Ice cream is highly recommended!!! Best ice cream we had and i mean better than our family favs - haagen dazs:-) and its cheap as well..we stayed for 8 nights here and had ice cream every night while watching the evening entertainment or just strolling around the camp..

Room Tip: definitely get air conditioned rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mrsbudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed in peak summer season with friends. Good location, cheap, nice pool, ice cream parlour etc. Very much set up for families with kids so we were a little bit out of place, but mainly used the site as a base for going into Rome so it didn't really matter.

Beaches close by, but all the beaches are privitised and the ones we asked as cost 10 euros per head to go onto which was a bit of a joke. Didn't appreciate England's public beaches until then.

The restaurant was an absolute disaster... the food was actually nice (except for one very overcooked/burnt lasagne) but the service and running of the restaurant was appalling on both of the occasions we ate there. On the first night we each counted out our money and we knew that we were owed 22 euros change from the bill, but the waiter only brought back 2 euros. When we contested this the manager came out and said that himself and two other waiters had separately counted our money and we were mistaken about how much we had given him. When I suggested that it was unrealistic that every time someone paid a bill three individuals counted the money before it went into the till, he pretended he couldn't understand English and just walked off, despite speaking good English before. We ended up having to leave it and walk away 20 euros down.

2 nights later we decided to visit again (although we resolved to pay in exact change this time) and the service was awful. The pizzas came out quite quickly, but 40 minutes later the pastas and sides (chips, salad etc) still hadn't come out. When we asked the waiter how long it would take he said that the pizza and pasta kitchens operate separately so he didn't know. We waited another 20 minutes and then called the waiter over and said that it was unacceptable that half of the table hadn't received their meals yet and none of us had received our sides, one hour after the pizzas had come out. He said nothing and walked off. The food eventually arrived 1 1/2 hours after the pizzas had arrived, and as the waiter put them down he smirked and said 'enjoy your meals'. At the end of the meal we complained to the manager about the service and he said 'but you're the group who complained the other day about something'. In the end we managed to negotiate 10% off, but that didn't really make a difference to the large bill.

The problem is there isn't really an alternative to eating at the restaurant apart from self-catering or eating the burgers served by the pool, as the campsite is quite isolated. I suggest going into Rome in the evenings and eating there as the buses run until midnight, self-cater, or stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank becomingbindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great value for money.

Lovely site, lovely weather, pools were clean but usually very busy. Lovely ice cream parlour/bar on site. Supermarket and other bars/restaurant there too. Close to the town for other shops/amenities and also the bus link to Rome very close and cheap too!!

Will definitely return as it was great for my brother (13) and cousin (16)!! lots of fun for kids!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KeyContributer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,115 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,271 in Rome
2,587 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#34 of 1,271 in Rome
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camping Tiber
#92 of 1,196 in Rome
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village Fabulous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Fabulous

Address: Via di Malafede 205, 00125 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,196 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $41 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Village Fabulous 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping Village Fabulous is situated in a Mediterranean area of about 30 hectares and delightfully shaded by mighty, aged pine trees. Our campsite has a strategic position that permits you to reach the centre of Rome in a short and easy way. The sea locality of Ostia is 10 km away and the ancient ruins and castle of Ostia Antica at only 8 km. It's possible to make use of a frequent bus and metro service. Moreover, we also organize tours directly from our campsite to Rome and Pompei & Naples, as well our Info-point sells tickets for the Open-bus tour in Rome. Our facilities on site: restaurant, bar, pizzeria, ice shop, take away service, mini-market, washing machines & dryers, mini-golf, tennis-, football-, beach volleyball courts, swimming pools, Info-point and internet-point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camping Village Fabulous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Fabulous Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing