We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Camping Village Roma
Ranked #40 of 1,121 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nightmare”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

DO NOT USE THEIR SUPPOSED AIRPORT SHUTTLE! pre-organized a pick up from the airport, told pick up time was 1930, i flew in at 1700 and stood/sat under the "meeting point" sign untill 2030 when i rang them and was told the driver couldnt find me...obviously because he didnt even show up. i got no apology and no refund and have been told ever since it was my own fault. the cabins and grounds were neat but take your own pillow as only pillowcase provided. also the location is shocking and have to rely on the useless shuttle bus to get into town.
you can do much better than camping roma

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteClubVacanze, Direttore at Camping Village Roma, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Matthew,
As sorry as we are for your inconvenience, five more people had requested the shuttle the same time as you, and all five were picked up from the meeting point, so we can only conclude that unfortunately you must have been waiting at the wrong spot. As you hadn't supplied us with your mobile phone number like we kindly asked you to by e-mail the day before in the morning, the driver was also unable to contact you and guide you to the pick up point. Based on both these facts, we see no reasons for a refund. We apologize for the inconvenince you faced even thought we don't have see our responsibility.
We can't check the claim about the missing pillow, as they were all there when we checked your accommodation after your review, but we're sure that if you had mentioned it to our night staff, they would have supplied you with one.
The central position of PLUS Camping Roma and the frequent buses running to and from city center are one of the reasons many people actually appreciate our site, so why you would find them shocking and useless is beyond our apprehension, also because you arrived late and left early the next morning with a tour operator, which makes it rather improbable that you used this shuttle.
In short, Matthew, we wish you all the best on your trip around Europe and hope you will be more fortunate in catching your bus.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    596
    304
    110
    98
See reviews for
353
446
72
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here one night before a flight out in the morning.

Plus:
* Free wifi and a room full of computers use to connect.
* Great info and ticket service to get into Rome and explore
* Scales to weigh luggage
* 15 minute drive to airport and gas station across the street to fill up rental car before return
* Large supermarket across the street (besides the smaller one on the campground)
* Spacious Chalet. First time we had bathrooms for each bedroom.

Minus:
* Huge check-out line in the morning because everyone has to leave by 10:00 AM and a second check-out window only opened at 9:50.
* As mentioned, this place caters to groups of young people. There was a Toga Party the night we were there. Definitely not a campsite for families with young children
* You need to take a bus and then a metro to get into Rome. This means you are gong to spend the whole day in town because it takes too long to go back to the campsite for a rest. Not easy on those hot days.
* If the partying doesn't keep you up at night, the sounds of people wheeling in their suitcases around the campsite on way to or from the airport will.

If you need to stay here before a morning flight to the airport - cheap option.
If you want to see Rome, pay the extra and get a room in the city. Go enjoy Rome without getting exhausted and angry. You will save by being able to eat meals your room rather than eating out in Rome's expensive restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After having completed a cycle ride from the UK to Rome within a month, sleep and good rest was always at a premium. After having spent one night in the centre of Rome I was determined not to pay Rome rates for the following nights before my departure back to the UK.

Camping Village Roma came initially as a pleasant surprise, close to the centre of Rome, good shower and toilet facilities along with supermarket, restaurant, pool, etc. It wasn't until the sun began to set that the ugly truth emerged, that, in reality, Camping Village Roma, is not really a camp ground per say that caters for backpackers and cyclists with tents but a destination for mainly and predominantly bus loads of young teenagers trucked in on an industrial scale that inhabit the many chalets and bungalows on their sprawling 'camping' complex.

Heavy and very loud disco music started at around 10 pm the first night, with mainly a teenage population, large, gangling, German teenagers away from Mum and Dad for the first time and away from overseers and teachers that seemed to not care less and spurred by copious amounts of alcohol slowly took over the whole camp ground. Roving, unfettered, teenagers marauded through camping areas hurling abuse, foul language, belting out nationalist chants and racist slogans then proceeded to exit the camp on to the bridge that crossed the via aurelia from where I observed males urinating from the bridge.This went on till 4 in the morning. Unchallenged by security and far too intimidating to be challenged by a lone cyclist, this was my initiation into 4 days of sleep deprivation.

An immediate complaint was lodged with management first thing in the morning who apologised profusely and agreed that things had gotten out of hand and were even as we spoke writing up a report to the school in Germany. However, they reiterated, I must understand, that, 'we have parties every night here at Camping Roma.' OMG! What have I let myself in for, where was this advertised? And then it dawned -- this is the cash cow! A mix between Megaluf and Butlins and a Belasconi Bunga-Bunga party,

By a miracle the following night passed off without incident, was it because it was a Sunday, and well The Vatican is just around the corner? I actually had a very good night sleep. However, the German teenagers remained, and while taking a shower witnessed one blonde-haired, blue-eyed, Arian teenager smashing up the hair-dryer. It was shocking! Words cannot describe!

The following night, it was the same story, this time with the Australians. Loud Disco music late into the night, alcohol, screaming girls, relationship arguements. The following night saw a fight break out between camp ground 'so-called' security and a traveller family from Morecombe, with Camping Roma security, literally physically abusing paying customers.

I leave you, the reader to draw your own conclusions. If you're a teenager, come!!! You can drink, get drunk, even if you're under-age, you won't be challenged, you can run around rampant hurling abuse and foul language, no one will question it. If you're in a tent, looking for a place just to pitch, get some rest, feel safe in the knowledge, that you won't get harassed, beaten up or threatened by ferrell teenagers with empty bottles of wine or Vodka in their hands, don't come!!!! Be warned! The cheap price is not worth your sleepless nights. Take away the facilities, and in reality all you have is a council estate, or housing project gone horribly wrong. But I guess management and shareholders there don't care, it's good income in hard times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobster777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location is not the greatest. You'll need to catch a bus and the metro to get to the centre of Rome but the place itself is good. Rooms were spacious and clean with a decent-sized bathroom. I stayed with a friend but the room was made for 3 people. Air conditioning was working and much needed during the Italian summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninnynin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Camping village Roma was the perfect place for us to stay in Rome. We were travelling Italy for 5 weeks so on a fairly tight budget and the camp ground met all our needs.

Easy to get in and out of the city centre, shops close by to buy those all important tid bits and a nice friendly atmosphere on site. There was plenty to do when we found ourselves at the camp ground during the day and evenings and the accommodations were easy and clean for what we needed. We weren't looking for the Hilton.

It was quite warm the days we were there and our little cabin did get quite warm but just a minor concern.

Would definetley consider staying again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Went to Rome for a little extended weekend with the parents and we needed a place to stay. We stayed at the cheap Bungalows and they were alright during the day. At night is was a tad too cold since the heater only affected one of the top corners and a bunk bed was place here, so you cannot turn it up too much. Unfortunately a lot of noise from the neighboring bungalows as well.

Regardless, we had a great time in Rome and didn't feel the Camp ruined the experience; the buffet was decent, the staff was great and very helpful and public transportation is right next to Camping Village Roma, so if you're just looking for a cheap spot to stay overnight close to Rome, this will do.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Bungalows if you're not up for a bit of noise from the neighboring rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a 2 week holiday. We wanted a mix of a sunbathing holiday and a bit of culture and the camping village roma was perfect for this.

The campsite is spotless and the staff are lovely. Check in easy and the

We booked one of the bungalows which are great, they have air conditioning, a bathroom and 2 single beds with an option of a 3rd pull down bunk bed if needed. There is tonnes of storage, more than any hotel room that i've stayed in and were very clean. The one tiny complaint that i have about the bungalows is that if you want them cleaning at any point during your stay you have to pay extra, not a problem if you're only staying for a few days but as we were there for a few weeks, the floor got quite dirty and the sheets could have done with changing.
There is a decent restaurant on site, but it quickly became obvious to us that we didn't really want to spend every evening in there for 2 weeks so we upgraded to a Chalet after the first week. This enabled us to make our own food as well as eat out, they also have a fridge which is a huge plus!

The Chalet's are amazing.... i'm so glad that we upgraded. The difference in price between a bungalow and chalet is quite a lot but definitely worth it. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette and a private patio with eating area. Air conditioning included. A few key things were missing, but nothing that would ruin a holiday. e.g tea towel, cheese grater,kettle etc.

The campsite is very popular with students on their gap years etc. They are quite loud as only teenagers usually are but the 11pm quiet rule was adhered to every night so we didn't have any problems at all with this.

The pool is amazing, as is the pool bar who do lovely pizzas and snacks.

There is a bus service to the vatican area which costs 2Euros per person return (very reasonable). On our first trip using the bus transfer, we were puzzled as to where we were when the bus dropped us off, it did seem to be in the middle of nowhere, but in actual fact we were approx 2 min walk from the Vatican Museum.

We used the public bus twice which was very easy, you just need to get the 257 bus to Cipri bus station, approx 10-15 mins depending on how heavy the traffic is. From Cipri you can jump on the metro and go anywhere you want to in rome. It's quite easy to jump on the metro to the spanish steps or the trevi fountain, approx another 10 mins.

I managed to get a wifi signal most days, the signal is strongest by the pool area. You just have to ask for a wifi code from the supermarket or info point.

The supermarket is ok, the one over the road from the campsite however is AMAZING!! easily one of the best supermarkets i've ever been to.

The only things that i could suggest to improve the campsite would be - Cold water wasn't available in the onsite supermarket (not a problem if you're in a chalet as you have a fridge but if you are in a bungalow/tent etc then you are stuck with warm drinks). Also, it would be nice to have the rooms cleaned and the sheets changed if you are staying over a certain amount of days!

Apart from these very very small issues, it's a lovely place to stay and fantastic if you have children and want the best of both worlds for your holidays.

We had a brilliant 2 weeks and would definitely consider staying in a plus campsite in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a chalet if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#222 of 1,263 in Rome
636 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,263 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#461 of 1,263 in Rome
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camping Village Fabulous
#18 of 1,121 in Rome
908 reviews
Camping Tiber
#123 of 1,121 in Rome
262 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Roma

Property: Camping Village Roma
Address: Via Aurelia, 831, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,121 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping Village Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camping Village Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Village Roma Hotel Rome
Plus Camping Roma Rome
Camping Roma
Plus Camping Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing