We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for it's price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Camping Village Roma
Ranked #45 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good for it's price”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Went to Rome for a little extended weekend with the parents and we needed a place to stay. We stayed at the cheap Bungalows and they were alright during the day. At night is was a tad too cold since the heater only affected one of the top corners and a bunk bed was place here, so you cannot turn it up too much. Unfortunately a lot of noise from the neighboring bungalows as well.

Regardless, we had a great time in Rome and didn't feel the Camp ruined the experience; the buffet was decent, the staff was great and very helpful and public transportation is right next to Camping Village Roma, so if you're just looking for a cheap spot to stay overnight close to Rome, this will do.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Bungalows if you're not up for a bit of noise from the neighboring rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    568
    301
    108
    93
See reviews for
332
433
67
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a 2 week holiday. We wanted a mix of a sunbathing holiday and a bit of culture and the camping village roma was perfect for this.

The campsite is spotless and the staff are lovely. Check in easy and the

We booked one of the bungalows which are great, they have air conditioning, a bathroom and 2 single beds with an option of a 3rd pull down bunk bed if needed. There is tonnes of storage, more than any hotel room that i've stayed in and were very clean. The one tiny complaint that i have about the bungalows is that if you want them cleaning at any point during your stay you have to pay extra, not a problem if you're only staying for a few days but as we were there for a few weeks, the floor got quite dirty and the sheets could have done with changing.
There is a decent restaurant on site, but it quickly became obvious to us that we didn't really want to spend every evening in there for 2 weeks so we upgraded to a Chalet after the first week. This enabled us to make our own food as well as eat out, they also have a fridge which is a huge plus!

The Chalet's are amazing.... i'm so glad that we upgraded. The difference in price between a bungalow and chalet is quite a lot but definitely worth it. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette and a private patio with eating area. Air conditioning included. A few key things were missing, but nothing that would ruin a holiday. e.g tea towel, cheese grater,kettle etc.

The campsite is very popular with students on their gap years etc. They are quite loud as only teenagers usually are but the 11pm quiet rule was adhered to every night so we didn't have any problems at all with this.

The pool is amazing, as is the pool bar who do lovely pizzas and snacks.

There is a bus service to the vatican area which costs 2Euros per person return (very reasonable). On our first trip using the bus transfer, we were puzzled as to where we were when the bus dropped us off, it did seem to be in the middle of nowhere, but in actual fact we were approx 2 min walk from the Vatican Museum.

We used the public bus twice which was very easy, you just need to get the 257 bus to Cipri bus station, approx 10-15 mins depending on how heavy the traffic is. From Cipri you can jump on the metro and go anywhere you want to in rome. It's quite easy to jump on the metro to the spanish steps or the trevi fountain, approx another 10 mins.

I managed to get a wifi signal most days, the signal is strongest by the pool area. You just have to ask for a wifi code from the supermarket or info point.

The supermarket is ok, the one over the road from the campsite however is AMAZING!! easily one of the best supermarkets i've ever been to.

The only things that i could suggest to improve the campsite would be - Cold water wasn't available in the onsite supermarket (not a problem if you're in a chalet as you have a fridge but if you are in a bungalow/tent etc then you are stuck with warm drinks). Also, it would be nice to have the rooms cleaned and the sheets changed if you are staying over a certain amount of days!

Apart from these very very small issues, it's a lovely place to stay and fantastic if you have children and want the best of both worlds for your holidays.

We had a brilliant 2 weeks and would definitely consider staying in a plus campsite in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a chalet if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you're looking for a nightmare go to this hotel! The reception guy, can make you cry, he is nasty, savage who yells at guests. It's a shame on Italy still holding such hotels. the sheets were dirty, the room was horrible, who rated this place 4 star? It really is the worst hotel I have been to in my life, avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 611amrit611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for almost two weeks to use a base to visit Rome and the surrounding areas, considering we were here at peak season I think that it was actually very good value for money. We opted for a bungalow over a tent because it was likely to be pretty hot, and we made the right choice! Luckily the air-conditioning is very powerful and within 15 minutes it's almost cold enough to see your own breath ;) You can leave it running all day while you're out, come back dripping with sweat and bath in the cold!

The camp site is definitely aimed at young people travelling around, but that's not to say that it wouldn't suit a family. I would bear in mind that if you're too close to the restaurant/pool area, it stays noisy pretty much all the time, the walls on the bungalows are paper thin so it might make things difficult to get to sleep. As it was, we were on the other end of the camp site and found evenings to be very peaceful.

With a bungalow you only have beds, a toilet, sink and shower. To be honest that's all we needed as the place was more than cold enough to keep food in with the air-con, and the nearby supermarket has a good variety of food that doesn't require cooking. If you do want more than a bungalow, they do offer more expensive chalets with cooking facilities etc. If you do want something hot without either having to do it yourself or go into Rome, the camp site restaurant was pretty good. The menu was pretty standard and the service was admittedly very slow and unreliable but the food was decent and not too expensive.

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the whole camp site, not just the grounds but the accommodation too, we came back to a spotless bungalow with clean sheets etc on three separate occasions while we were there. If you're in a tent, the loo block is very nice indeed! No soap dispensers though.

Camping Village Roma offers a number of tour bundles, where you pay at the info desk and get a full experience sorted without you having to worry about organizing it yourself, on the face of things this seems like a good idea but be warned! We went on the catacombs tour and it lasted all of 20 minutes plus the bus never came back to take us home and we ended up walking into Rome, no small feat considering how hot it was. The tour to Pompeii was a bit of a scam, there's no way you'll get to see everything you want to and when the tour was over we all got ushered into a ludicrously overpriced restaurant buy our tour guide. We managed to bail on this and sort our own food out but it all seemed like a bit of a con, like you didn't have a choice in the matter. I would recommend making your own way to Pompeii by train and seeing it at your own pace, you might need a couple of days to do it though!

As a camp site for young people, WiFi is an important feature. However, I can safely say that it's almost entirely unusable unless you're trying in the small hours of the morning or (if you're lucky) in the middle of the day when everyone should be out in Rome. Don't rely on the WiFi if you absolutely need it! It's more of an afterthought... There are however loads of places to charge your electronic devices, either in the accommodation or even by the pool bar.

The best thing about the camp site (except for the air-con maybe!) is its proximity to Rome, you can pay 24 Euros and get a week long travel ticket that lets you on all busses/trains/metro etc 24/7! If you're there for a shorter time you can get 100 minute tickets for 1.5 Euros, effectively allowing you a return trip to the centre of Rome for 3 Euros! There's a ticket machine and a bus stop at the camp site and it takes around 25 minutes to get to the Vatican City. Just don't rely on the busses on a Thursday, we learned this the hard way!

All in all, happy with our experience. Good value, secure and clean camp site with rapid access to the Centre of Rome, what more do you want?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel is located far away from city center takes 30-45 minutes to reach from the main railway station. We were given a cottage to stay with air conditioner, pretty neat and well maintained with an attached bathroom in each cottage. They were termed as bungalows and they certainly felt that way. The hotel has a swimming pool open from 10 am to 6 pm and a bar. It also has a departmental store inside and a restaurant for pizzas. They also provide cheap rides to the Vatican. Worth the money spent on the stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1986_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have given Plus Camping Village Roma a rating of 4 mainly because you can't give a 3.5. It wasn't very good nor was it just average, merely a good campsite that could stand to make a few improvements. We have stayed at Plus Camping Jolly in Venice and Plus Camping Michelangelo and found this one just a bit below the standard set by the former.

But before I discuss the few negatives I'll mention all the positives:

Location: as we have found with all the Plus Camping sites the location is excellent for the price. At Roma there is literally a bus stop right out front the campsite and you get bus 246 that takes you to Cornelia train station and you jump on a train from there to Termini which is the main train station of Rome. All in all the trip only takes 30 mins. Previous reviews have mentioned the unreliability of the bus and vague timetable but in the 4 days i used this service i noted that the bus arrived every 30 mins on the hour and half hour Mon to Sat and hourly (on the hour) on Sundays. It does get crowded but that is to be expected given the number of campers heading into Rome. There is a ticket machine at reception for you to buy single, daily or 3 daily passes.

Facilities: Two large bathroom facilities. plenty of sinks to wash up dishes and a large laundry. There was also a pool, bar, supermarket, restaurant and info point where you could use their computers (€1 for 15 mins, €2 for 30 mins and €3 for 1 hour) and print tickets and other documents.

Staff: All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

Additional: The site was always clean. It was across the road from a large supermarket and McDonalds. The shuttle service to the Vatican was €2 return - bargain! Free wi-fi! Oh and the security in and out of the campsite is excellent.

Ok so onto the negative:
1. All but one of the power points in the female toilets and none in the mens worked.
2. The supermarket only sold drinks in multipacks so you could not buy one can of coke, beer or bottle of water it was a pack of 3 or 4 or 6 - which is fine if your with a group but if you just want one drink the rest go warm as being that you are camping you have no way of keeping them cold.
3. The only vending machine onsite sold coffee, cans of beer and bottles of sparkling mineral water, nothing else - no still water and no soft drinks.
4. There were power points for charging items down near the pool but only the ones directly near the bar worked. There were a number up near the pool lounges but they did not work.
5. There were no soap hand dispensers in the bathrooms, which meant you had to carry soap with you when you went to the toilet.

Overall this was a good campsite with a great location and a lot of really good services and facilities. The main thing that bothered me (and others I spoke to) was the lack of working power points and I did mention this to the reception staff so hopefully that will be fixed.

Also something to note as I searched in vain online prior to arriving to find out how much parking would be and no where mentioned it - it was €5.40 per night, which I think is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendanandmerrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here for a night only as it was the pickup point for a Busabout tour bus.
Its miles away from Rome proper, and Italian buses on a Sunday are quite unreliable.
They do offer a shuttle bus but the last one heads back to the camping village early evening - which doesnt help.
Had a bed in a flimsy 3 bed cottage - they really should not put the 3rd bed in - it feels like an afterthought and is uncomfortable.

Would definitely not stay here again - its not for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mish129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#382 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#254 of 1,256 in Rome
517 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#273 of 1,256 in Rome
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camping Village Fabulous
#17 of 1,093 in Rome
847 reviews
Camping Tiber
#117 of 1,093 in Rome
254 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,202 of 3,643 in Rome
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Roma

Property: Camping Village Roma
Address: Via Aurelia, 831, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping Village Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camping Village Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Village Roma Hotel Rome
Plus Camping Roma Rome
Camping Roma
Plus Camping Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing