We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camping Village Roma
Ranked #37 of 1,134 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The accomodation at the camping village are semi-detached cabins which are very small and tight. Larger size persons may find the cabins uncomfortable or rather cramp. As the cabins are not soundproof, the noises next door or outside the camping ground can be clearly heard inside the cabin and I had a few sleepless nights due to the noise. The cabins are on an elevated structure and movements at the next door cabin (eg. walking, sitting on bed,) can be clearly felt in the cabin as well. Travellers looking for a good night sleep or rest should look for alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
There are newer reviews for Camping Village Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Camping Roma is an excellent place to stay if visiting Rome on a budget. The camp grounds were clean. It has it's very own supermarket and laundromat and a large bar to enjoy a drink. We stayed there during Euro 2012 so it did get noisy. But that didn't bother us. We stayed in a bungalow which was nice and cosy. The only downside was the bungalow did shake when your neighbours were walking around and after showers there was a bit of condensation which did make the room uncomfortable. But after having your window open for a while that all went away. The shower was spacious and you have an outdoor area to sit and read or enjoy a beer from the supermarket. You can take the shuttle bus on the grounds to Vatican City for 2 euros. We took the shuttle bus everyday into the Vatican and then used the metro from there. If we were to go to Rome again we would most definitely stay at Camping Roma again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveSimpson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I spend just over a week there in May 2012 The caravans are really cosy - and you have a picnic table outside. If you have a group of 5, the caravan has a kitchen which is great. We had a 2 person one which is small and no kitchen but we were only there to sleep so it was perfect for that. You are quite far out of Rome centre - you need to take a bus then underground, but I guess you do save a lot of money. There is a pool, volleyball area, washing machines etc. They also have a pretty good shop on campus and one across the road so you are not stuck for food and wine! They make great coffee too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l_vanhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

accomodation in rome in the expat explore europe tour
we stayed at the bungalow and the room is small and compact. it has 2 single bed, and one loft single bed(which make the room smaller). the bathroom is also small and (need i say this again) the shower cubicle is small , you have to manoeuvre yourself to get through the door, and you will feel the whole cabin rock if anyone jump or do anything vigorous.
however, it good and clean enough to rest one's tired body , so that is sufficient.
it also has bench/table outside the cabin to hang out/eat ,which is great
this is quite popular with young crowd so it can get pretty noisy- they organise Toga party , so quite noisy.
breakfast quite good choice/spead. we are vegetarian, so compared to other hotel, this is the better one. vege pasta(olive) for dinner was not so good- a bit let down since we are in Italy.
the hotel bus shuttle(2 euro /return trip) is in the hotel compound and is great way to get to near vatican city, if you want to go to ancient rome city you can take the subway from vatican city to coleseo. the hotel has info centre which very helful with info and maps etc
big supermarket across the road to buy stuff
overall convenient place , minus the small room

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mafmSel_mlysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I spended there a week in autummn 2011 with my freind. It was one of the cheapest possibilities and it totally worth it! Ok, you can hear your neighbour and everything what´s going on next door and rooms are really small but we just needed some place to sleep and it was enough. I appreciated the swimming pool, restaurants and bus stop right in front of the complex and wifi of course! And just across the road is a nice supermarket situated, so you can enjoy your holiday stay in camp just like you can enjoy the whole city of Rome at the same time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ver91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in Camping Roma on 2 stints to Rome. The first was for 3 nights where we discovered the worst internet in the entire world, well at least in all of Europe. Basically, they shouldn't even market that they have Free WiFi. The beds in the first bungalow were... acceptable but still felt pretty gross. The second time around however, the beds were literally moist and there were bugs along the bathroom sink. The beds were so moist in fact that we put the blankets and sheets between the bed and our bodies and we could still feel the moisture. By the time we noticed how moist the beds were reception was closed and we couldn't switch rooms.

The second time was for one night so we could use their shuttle to the airport back home. I tried booking the shuttle 2x - 3 weeks before our departure and was told that I could book it when I arrived. When I arrived they told me that since nobody had booked they had canceled the shuttle. After 2 hours of going back and forth between reception, info point, and proof of emails attmpting to book we were comped part of the taxi ride. Thus by the time we got to dinner, came back and laid down - recpetion was closed and we were screwed.

Not to mention its pretty damn far out of city center. If you're on a low and tight budget then this place might work if you don't mind sleeping in filth. The grounds are nice and the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets and towels.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Had an excellent experience at this camping village, I went with a group of friends (all girls aged 21) I would say it is not a place for families but more for groups of friends. There were a few school groups there which were quite loud, however we were told by the warden who walks around the camp site at 11pm to be quite or go to the club or sit in the caravan, I understand this is as a sign of respect for the families on the site but the noise is rather loud once people return from the club anyway. Plus the caravans are very close to one another and you can hear your neighbours. The site seems very good for backpackers or people looking for a stop over.

The nightlife in the bar is good but we only managed to go on our last night as we had been busy sightseeing every other day and were too tired to go out any other time.

The facilities on sight are good for what you pay there is a shop that sells essential things at quite good prices and directly opposite the site is a supermarket again with good prices and fresh fruit and veg. For those who are not so cultural McDonalds is just 5 minutes away!

Accessibilty into Rome city centre is really easy by bus then metro (tickets for these can be purchased from reception), although maybe a little difficult with small children. We bought a weekly pass for 17 EURO and went 6 days out of 7; the campsite is most probably generally used for backpackers really but we enjoyed it and I would stay there again but not with a family.

Staff at the bar, pool and restaurant were really helpful didn't really have to contact anyone else. Although I would say we were waiting a while for our accommodation key due to large school groups and water in the caravan gets very hot and receptionists are not bothered if you get a little burnt!

O and love the pool burger, and Rome will be going again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#223 of 1,267 in Rome
645 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#455 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#369 of 1,267 in Rome
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Genziana
#445 of 1,267 in Rome
134 reviews
Camping Village Fabulous
#18 of 1,134 in Rome
945 reviews
Camping Tiber
#93 of 1,134 in Rome
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Roma

Address: Via Aurelia, 831, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,134 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $21 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping Village Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camping Village Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Village Roma Hotel Rome
Plus Camping Roma Rome
Camping Roma
Plus Camping Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing