We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lilliput Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$383
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$304
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$473
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$181
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$147
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$424
$381
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
9
25
13
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
25
13
6
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 59 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I just stayed at Liliput Hostel, it was cozy & clean,I had one of the greatest time of my life, great people to meet all over the world in this Hostel it is just 5 min from the main train station (Termini), you get your own key, breakfast is more like a continental breakfast or italian breakfast which is more like coffe and few other things not bad at all, the Owner was really nice kind,. People at the laundry next door were very helpful and gave us a discount for coming several times, great guy!

I defenetly will stay at Liliput Hostel next time I visit Rome! the place to go! Thanks Letizia for all your wonderful help & Beutiful hostel!

ciao,
Dan

Room Tip: Take something close to the train station it will help so much when you leave
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danheb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hostel shows pretty rooms on their website/hostel world, but they are NOT THE ROOMS YOU WILL GET. They originally showed us the pretty room you see on their website, then they said "woops sorry...someone else booked this...i'll show you another room which is just around the corner" so she takes us to another building and the room is NOTHING like what you see on the website. it's dark, and the moment we put our luggages down, a cockroach crawled over my luggage and went under the bed. IT WAS DISGUSTING!!! Don't stay at this hostel. Biggest scam ever.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ptang09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We spent four nights at Lilliput rooms in Rome while we had booked Friends rooms for five nights. The first night we could hardly sleep because of a horrible noise coming from I don't know. The next day in the morning, we complained but, when we arrived in the evening, the noise was still there. We complained again and, after dinner, they told us that the problem had been solved. We decided to trust them and, when the next day they asked us for the money, we paid. Great mistake because the problem wasn't solved at all and the noise bothered us all the days, although not the whole time, until we decided to leave and look for another hostel where we spent our last night in Rome.
By the way, in Lilliput rooms, the breakfast is ridiculous and they are short of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bombon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We booked through Hostelworld to stay at the Lilliput, as the reviews on there were mostly good. THEN I saw the review about the bedbugs! However, we decided to carry on regardless and were very pleased that we had. Due to the Italian way of inserting roads of differing names into the street you are negotiating, we had a little trouble finding the Lilliput. However, a quick phone call resulted in one of their staff being despatched to find us and lead us to the hostel. It is situated in a very nice courtyard, with fountain and goldfish, securely gated from the street. On arrival we were given a map, which was explained to us in detail, along with the numbers of the various buses to catch to The Vatican, Trevi Fountain etc. Having said that, Rome is very walkable and there is no need to use public transport, unless you are extremely tired after a long day sightseeing.

We were given a double room, which was actually two single beds pushed together, no problem with that as it was my daughter and I who were travelling. The room was quite small, but had everything we needed. We were close to the kitchen and bathroom. Both of which were very clean and tidy. We had access to a fridge, cooker and microwave and tea, coffee, milk and sugar were available for drinks at any time. A hairdryer was also provided in the bathroom and we were given two towels each (included in the price). The bedlinen was clean and fresh, but it wasn't changed during our three day stay, but we coped with this. The hostel is very well located in he Termini area, less than five minutes from the train/bus station. There are lots of eateries etc close by and we never felt in the least bit threatened at any time, even when returning to the hostel late at night. We had been advised to travel across to the Trastevere area for eating, as it is less expensive. On the night that we took the bus over there (one of the very few buses we boarded), we were very lucky to get a table at the Le Mani in Pasta restaurant without booking, and the meal was excellent and extremely good value. No wonder it is so popular, whilst we were there at least 20 people, in groups of varying sizes, tried to get tables. Be warned, the portions are huge, we shared the mixed anti pasti, and had a pasta dish each, plus a bottle of wine and coffees, total cost including service was less than 35 euros.

All in all we spent three wonderful days in Rome, which has so many sights that we only scratched the surface. We were lucky enough not to encounter any long queues, probably because we went mid week in October. Having been to Venice only four weeks earlier with friends, and paying almost £60 for two pizzas and four soft drinks in an out of the way pizzeria, I was very relieved to find that the prices in Rome were extremely reasonable in comparison. There is a large choice of street vendors, trattorias etc. and there is no need to spend a large amount of money keeping body and soul together. Even a meal for two in a restaurant very close to the Trevi Fountain cost just 50 euros, including wine.

I

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anlaby1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We made arrangements to be at this hostel when we arrived in Rome and confirmed our arrival time with the owner. When we arrived there was a note left on the gate telling us to call the owner. No one responded and we waited for hours. When we eventually met an employee they took us to another building a few blocks away. When we came back to the hostel at night we noticed black dots all over the walls. Upon closer look, we realized the room we were in was infested with bedbugs. They were everywhere, and ranged from the size of a pinprick to the size of a small pea. (This is huge for a bedbug and means they have been flourishing for some time.) We examined the walls more closely and found evidence of squashed bugs all over, evidencing the fact that the bedbugs were not just a recent phenomenon. It was disgusting. The mattresses were infested, and we couldn't sleep in the room at all.

We ended up sleeping on the floor in the foyer, and after complaining to the owner the following morning (she reassured us that there were NEVER bedbugs in her hostel) she promised us a refund, which we never received, even after calling twice. We also heard from other nearby hotel owners that many other travelers have had trouble with this hostel. Would not recommend this hostel to anyone; there are other equally inexpensive options in that same neighborhood. (!!!)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rached8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews