We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Hotel Camelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Camelia
Ranked #132 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is exactly what I hope for from a three star European hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds are very comfortable and large with crisp, fresh linen. The staff are very friendly, helpful and approachable. It is great value.
The continental breakfast is fine. Nothing to set the world on fire but it does the job. Personally I'd like the option of a cooked breakfast but they don't have the facilities here.
My only real (slight) criticism would be that the bathrooms need updating. I cannot fault the cleanliness but it was like showering in an elderly relatives bathroom. The decor is dated and the hot water took ages to come through (minutes, not seconds) Our shower head was broken which we mentioned at reception and within the day it was fixed and sorted, I've had much less speedy service in much more expensive hotels. It would also be nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the room and some English speaking tv channels. Would I stay here again? Yes, absolutely. Great value for a great, quiet location. I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    347
    66
    7
    5
See reviews for
186
393
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Great location near Termini station! We booked a room for 3 and it was quite big. The staff was pleasant and helpful (we wanted warm water, so they have us an electric kettle for our room free of charge). The breakfast was sumptuous, complete with fresh fruits.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chooza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and, although we we given a slightly smaller room than the first time, we enjoyed the stay. The room was clean and comfortable, with TV, mini-bar and safe. Hotel staff are very friendly, helpful and speak English. A selection of food is on offer for breakfast, which is reasonably diverse for a couple-of-days stay. This hotel offer very good location as far as the Metro is concerned (5 minutes walking distance from the Termini station and the Piazza della Repubblica). Furthermore, it is around 25 minutes walking distance from both the Piazza di Spagna and the Fontana di Trevi. As a returning customer I would recommend this hotel for a Roman holiday. :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great hotel, comfortable beds, dark room (I can’t sleep if there’s any light at all), amazing breakfast buffet, free printer use (good for printing tickets and boarding passes), very friendly staff, and 10 min walk from Stazione Termini.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexFransaskois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trikala, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

we stayed at Camelia hotel for 5 nights and We had a great stay.exellent location just a few steps from the main station of Rome(Termini). Our room was large, comfortable and clean. The receptionists provided us with all the necessary information and were always happy to serve and give us further information when needed. All the staff member at breakfast was very kind and the cleaning ladies as well. We will definitely return next time we will visit Rome

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apostolia_Nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Hotel is charming! Front desk was amazing could not be more helpful! We loved the room old world charm with a modern bathroom, motion light throughout the hallways so you are not in the dark.
Breakfast was good they will make you a box breakfast if you schedule a trip before breakfast is served.

Location near the Train terminal . Easy to get around. choice of resturants and buses.

Beware of cab drivers from train station charged us 18 E for a six block cab ride took us a wild goose chase in the wrong direction.

Would return to this hotel in a flash

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

-We booked Hotel Camelia after errors on our first choice of hotel. They were very accommodating here, considering the very short notice given.
-Very friendly, multilingual staff.
- Our cozy room is a last minute one, although a bit small than what we would have preferred, it's clean and well kept...really clean toilet and bath!
-Train stations near the hotel: Termini, Repubblica, Castro Pretorio (two different train lines). Great to walk around in the mornings, although the area around are mostly hotels, it is considerably peaceful and calm even late at night.

Would recommend this hotel to friends any time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GzelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#200 of 1,258 in Rome
838 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,258 in Rome
810 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#140 of 1,258 in Rome
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,258 in Rome
1,273 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#71 of 1,258 in Rome
330 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#88 of 1,258 in Rome
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camelia

Property: Hotel Camelia
Address: Via Goito 36, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Rome
#119 Business Hotel in Rome
#133 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Camelia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Camelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing