We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and great hotel”
Review of Hotel Camelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Camelia
Ranked #129 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This little gem is definitely the best hotel I stayed in in Europe. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very spacious for european rooms and the breakfast was good. We stayed there only for one night before we left on a cruise and the location was just perfect since we had to take the train first thing in the morning. So if you're looking for a hotel near centrale termini but in a quite area, this place is perfect for you !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieD1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    344
    64
    7
    5
See reviews for
184
388
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for two nights during a quick visit to the city. There is nothing bad about this hotel.
It is located close to central station (3-5 minutes walking), so it is well connected to the metro, bus, train, etc. The hotel is surrounded by many good restaurants. The historical centre is in a walking distance of 15-20 minutes, but if you don’t have too much time you should better use the metro. Even though the hotel is located close to a central and sometimes noisy road, the room in which we stayed at the back side of the building was very quite (windows are sound proof). The hotel has been recently renovated and our room was very clean, not too big, but sufficient for two persons, giving you an overall romantic feel. The staff at the reception were very polite and helpful. The breakfast was very good, but there were not too many hot dishes.
In general, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The price for two nights was very reasonable and I think that the hotel is one of the best you can get at this price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeLauncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Single room a bit small, bed too. Furniture of good quality, bathroom nice. good Windows, therefore not noisy in the room. Breakfast okay. Location a bit off the beaten track, what is not bad as restaurants close to Hotel are more for locals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionecamelia, Direttore vendite at Hotel Camelia, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for the time you spent to reviewing us . We appreciated you stress that being at the Camelia Hotel the restaurant in the area can be named " local" . Obviously our staff can suggest very many famous one but for a good lunch near to the hotel there is a good genuine choise.
Also the quality of our windows are definitely very elevate so it can grant you a good silent stay in our hotel
We wait for you soon and please accept our very best regards.

Emanuele Faini
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Camelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We highly recommend staying at Hotel Camelia. It was extremely clean with a good size bedroom, very comfortable large bed and adequate sized bathroom. The breakfast was very good and all the staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful. It was a great location and we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionecamelia, Direttore vendite at Hotel Camelia, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest
we are very proud to see that you suggest us to all the people for the quality of the stay
Thank you
We appreciated
We looking forward to welcoming you soon


Emanuele Faini
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Camelia
Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in June. The room was large and clean, but a little dated in the bathroom. We had no view outside, windows were in the roof so we felt a bit cut off. Breakfast staff were very nice and helpful, but the food was average and not a huge selection. When we arrived the man on reception went through everything as fast as he possibly could and was not as welcoming as we had read on other reviews. This is 3 star and you shouldn't expect anything more. It is near the train station. Great, but a long way from all main tourist attractions. We walked for miles! Ok hotel, but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in the roof room (as we called it) on the top floor. The room was beautiful with a wooden ceiling and velux windows. The room was clean and tidy, very nice decor and a lovely bathroom. Service at the front desk was wonderful and the staff we very helpful and informative. I would stay in this hotel again if I visited the city and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upandatthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionecamelia, Direttore vendite at Hotel Camelia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest
thank you for your review. We appreciated you comment and we are happy that you stayed in our beautiful "roof room" as you named it.
These are a particular kind of triple we have. We will do our best to give it to you next stay in Rome in our hotel Camelia
Thank you again

Best regards

Emanuele Faini
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Camelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

10 mins walk from the train station. Courteous front desk staff who gave us a map and showed us the main attractions to visit for a 2 days stay. Breakfast staff offered great service too. Room was clean and comfortable. Only offered bar soap but not shower gel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Querdox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#203 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#58 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#64 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Esquilino
Montecarlo Hotel
Montecarlo Hotel
#209 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#91 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camelia

Property: Hotel Camelia
Address: Via Goito 36, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Rome
#119 Business Hotel in Rome
#133 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Camelia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Camelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing