We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far out”
Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #1,128 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was worried when I read previous reviews but thought it can't be all that bad, however most reviews are accurate!!
The hotel is more like a 2 star motel with NO facilities - you can't make a cuppa or even get one from a machine. There is NO BAR despite the hotel advertising one. There was a fridge in the room containing 2 bottles of water. Breakfast is continental but no fruit or yoghurt was available.
The hotel is too far out of Rome to be called city centre. You have to take the metro to the end of line A (Anagnina) then get the 507 bus to the hotel. We arrived in the dark on a Friday night rush hour and tried to wait for taxi but there were none. Quite by accident I saw the 507 and the driver told us where to get off - 5 stops I think. The next morning we caught a bus at 9am and were in the centre at 9.40am with a good connection. The only good point about the journey into Rome is that it only costs 1 Euro. Unfortunatly you can't stay too late in Rome to enjoy the nightlife as you have to rely on the metro/bus otherwise get a very expensive taxi. The hotel shuttle operates only between 4pm and 10pm.to the metro station. If you telephone the hotel to let them know you want picking up, they will come to Anagnina.
There is nothing to do once you are back at your hotel, there are no bars around so you are stuck in your room with Italian TV. We found a supermarket behind the hotel and bought beer and snacks but it closes at 8.30pm so stock up early.
The hotel is noisy and looks unattractive as the bins are stored at the front of the hotel and there are industrial units across the road.
The room we had (204) was clean and the bed was large and comfortable.The bathroom is decent but it is difficult to get a good shower with a hand held shower head.
Rome itself is wonderful - get a map and walk so you don't miss anything.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynmarie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 289 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

stayed for 5 nights in October and the hotel is of average quality. The staff are lovely, including the cleaners and breakfast room staff. The hotel is situated ideally for Campino Airport, however, to get into the city centre, you need to get a 15 minute bus trip to Anaganina Metro station and there is then a 20 min trip on the Metro to Termini Station (the central station in Rome) this means that once your out for the day, you really need to stay out as coming back to the hotel (to freshen up before going out at night for example) isnt really an option. The last metro train to Anagnina is at 9pm, so no late trains other than a Saturday night. Travel is really cheap however. The surrounding area at the hotel is not good, a lot of graffiti, rubbish bins over flowing outside, generally a poor area all around. The staff do their best, however, we wont return to the hotel the next time we're visiting Rome.

Room Tip: higher floors may have less noise as the rooms are very poorly sound proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gazman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel doesn't look too appealing from the outside as the rubbish bins are kept on the road in full view at the front of the hotel.
The female staff are very helpful especially Daniella, the male staff acted like they didn't care or want to be there or could'nt be bothered to help.
The room itself was basic and clean, all the towels were changed daily, the clean staff were very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast was terrible, the juice was concentrated not fresh neither were the bread rolls and the crossants were too sweet. The walls and doors of the hotel need sound proofing as you can hear full conversations and doors banging closed at night.
To get into Rome bus tickets can be bought from reception or newsagents for one Euro and lasts for 75mins. The ticket can be used on the metro and bus.
The 507 bus service runs quite regular about every twenty minutes and takes you to the Anagina metro station, from there you can reach any part of Rome through the underground.
If you are looking for a cheap hotel to put your head down after a full days sight seeing this hotel is ideal.

Room Tip: Keep asking for another room until satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firefox69Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed in the hotels for 3 nights. The one and only good thing i can say about the hotel is that it was kind of clean. beside that, it was a real bad choise to stay in for my trip to Rome.
To get from the hotel to the center of Rome takes around 1 hour and is not available around the clock, so when we got out at night we had to get back with a taxi (around 30 euros) the ride from the airport and to the airport (leonardo int.) costed 60 euros each way (no transfers).
There is NOTHING to do or eat and nowhere to go within a walking distance of the hotel and you better buy some stuff for the night if you want anything beside mineral water.
The breakfast was bad and basic, the soundproofing was bad.
The staff had 1 min patience and gave us the feeling we are interupting them.
In the middle of the 2nd night i woke up all swetty to find out the A/C is not working, the receptionist told us in the morning that the owner told her to close the A/C to the entire hotel because its "cold enough" and because it makes air pollution (NO KIDDING!!!) and after i said i have never heard of such a thing she said she won't hear anymore since she had too many complainst this morning and she can't handle it.

Do yourself a favor, stay away from this place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eldadben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Only good thing was the air conditioning, although old, did work and the hotel's location to the airport was fine. We were charged 20 euros from the airport to hotel and 30 euros from the hotel to airport for 4 people. Hotel was in a dreadful area, which looked undesirable at night. We asked for an extra pillow for each of us. They only managed to find 3 pillows! We asked where the bar was, but there isn't one despite advertising that there is a bar, so you are basically confined to your room at night. The walls are so thin you hear lots of noise during the night, especially when a door is opened and closed. The breakfast was awful, croisants had a sugar topping, the cheese unrefrigerated, the meat tasted like spam, the orange juice was like a cordial rather than a refreshing juice. However the place was clean and the female receptionist was pleasant. The evening male staff were unfriendly. Travel into Rome centre was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Located near Anagnina at the end of Linea A underground station there is a shuttle bus service from 16.00 to 22.00 Mondays to Saturdays and all day Sunday, otherwise you can use the normal bus service no. 506 or 507 to Anagnina. Tourist hotel which whilst not perfect is very well priced. Good standard breakfast. Clean rooms. Maintenance OK. Very helpful lady at the front desk although her male colleagues could take a leaf out of her book. The hotel is lacking a Bar so make sure you bring some drinks as the Mini Bar is bare. TV difficult to operate with few channels. Good hotel for bed & breakfast...nothing more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZanmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stay well away from this hotel - everyone is out to rip you off. Due to a late night flight and travelling with children we decided to spend the night near the airport before embarking on our journey for our holiday the next day. Although only 3KM from Ciampino Airport the taxi cost 50 euros and the next day the driver of the shuttle bus wouldn't drop us off so cost us another 50euro to return to the airport to collect hire car. Th e hotel was clean enough but as others have reported it is in a very run down area with a grotty pizzeria as the only place to eat. Breakfast whilst included in cost was very poor - cold meats - warm, dried up pastries - all pretty awful. Also my son left his trainers under the bed and when we phoned to arrange collection(speaking fluent Italian) - guess what ?- no sign of them - obviously gone walkabout..... Very upsetting start to our holiday - ripped off by taxi drivers - 100euros out of pocket before we'd even started and then loss of shoes. Then as we left had to pay 12euros tourist tax even for the kids....... Glad I live in Britain - makes you appreciate what you have.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roz069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
2.1 mi away
Albergo Laura
Albergo Laura
#1,113 of 1,269 in Rome
76 reviews
17.4 mi away
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#869 of 1,269 in Rome
117 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Cassia
Hotel Cassia
#682 of 1,269 in Rome
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Nardo
Hotel Palace Nardo
#997 of 1,269 in Rome
54 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Jonico
Hotel Jonico
#764 of 1,269 in Rome
347 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#1,068 of 1,269 in Rome
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Address: Via Campo Romano 75 | Grande Raccordo Anulare area, 00173 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,128 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $52 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing