We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residenza Montecitorio
Ranked #611 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here as a couple (in our early 20s) for four nights at the end of October. Couldn't have asked for a better base for our first trip to Rome!
First of all, the hotel is in an absolutely perfect location. No more than a few hundred yards to the Trevi fountain (especially if you get to know the shortcuts!) and within very easy walking distance of the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. We didn't use public transport at all, visiting both the Vatican and Colosseum by foot as well. Make sure and bring a good pair of shoes!
The hotel itself is small, but from the looks of things, so are most Roman hotels. Our room was more than big enough for the two of us, with a comfortable bed and very effective air conditioning. There was some noise from the streets below, but nothing that would keep us awake or bother us. Very large bathroom and an excellent power shower. Rooms were cleaned every day and the bathroom was kept spotless. The staff in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful, recommending places to eat and organising transfer to and from the airport for us (we had awkward flight times and didn't want to rely on public transport).
There are a couple of things which some people might raise issue with, but which has no bearing at all on how much we enjoyed our hotel and trip. Firstly, there is a small tax of 2Euro per person/per night to be paid at the end of the stay - luckily we read this both on here, and on the hotel website, so didn't have any unpleasant shocks when checking out! Lastly, after a certain time (not sure what the cut off was) you have to ring a buzzer to get back into the hotel. We didn't mind this at all, if anything the extra security made us feel all the more secure.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone I know and definitely wouldn't think twice about staying here again should we return to this beautiful city!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 304 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel was a great find. It is right in the middle of Rome and just a few streets away from the Trevi fountain, the Pantheon and the Spanish steps. The Castel De Angelo is about 25 minute walk away and the Vatican about 30. Everything was so easy to access. We didn't have time to do the Colosseum but could have walked to that too. The hotel itself was very clean, towels changed every day and the room made up - they even folded our pjs. The room was a bit dark and didnt have the balcony we asked for but we didn't complain. Staff were very helpful with maps and directions. They suggested some lovely places to eat. The area has lots of places to eat which is just as well as the hotel doesn't serve breakfast but we were aware of this before we booked. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridiew729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I vacationed in Rome for our wedding anniversary, and we stayed here for 3 nights. Nine of the Top 10 sights were within walking distance, and being avid walkers, we loved it. We rarely used taxi's, and all the walking we did helped to offset the amazing meals we had at nearby restaurants (one of the best was recommended by the hotel desk clerk). However- the bed (at least the one in the blue room we stayed in) was what we laughingly call a 'murder bed' because it kills you to sleep on it! It was the hardest bed I've ever slept on. But after I got used to it, I think it kinda helped my bad back. The noise level from the street below was pretty high (mostly on the weekends), but nothing a good pair of earplugs didn't take care of. The rooms are small, but most are like that in Rome- unless you're paying $800+ a night for super luxury. The bathroom was surprisingly big (though the shower was a tight fit). Whatever - we went to Rome to see Rome, not hang out in a hotel room. The hotel isn't the newest, shiniest place around, but who cares? The rooms were cleaned everyday and what I've listed as the not so great details, were completely acceptable to me. If I go back to Rome, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. It fulfilled what I personally need from a hotel room: cleanliness, great location, and it didn't cost an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Rome and were very pleased. The hotel is in a great location (close to the Spagna stop, in between the Spanish Steps and the Pantheon, walkable to the Piazza Navona, Vatican and Trevi Fountain if you've got good shoes!) among the high-end shops of Rome. The staff was very helpful - they gave great dining recommendations and even let us store our luggage after we checked out since we had an evening flight. Our only complaints were that the bed was a little harder than we prefer and the room tended to get a little hot with the small air conditioner. (But then again, we both are very hot-natured.) We would highly recommend this hotel to travelers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

In between Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain but walkable to the Colosseum. Room was charming in a vintage victorian royalty kind of way. Bathroom was narrow, but plenty of pressure and hot water. 10 minute walk from the closest Metro Station, Spagna. Biggest television I've seen in Europe, 42" if that is important. WiFi signal was also strong. No complimentary breakfast and hotel has a weird layout, but once you figure it out, not really a big deal.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days. Our bathroom drainage was blocked. Even after making complaint on the first day, they kept on making excuses that we will check it and fix it and nothing happened. Moreover, they are not a proper hotel. They have booked the top floor of an apartment community and converted it in hotel. The room was made of some raw timber. Room was very small and bed was even smaller. Moreover, you could clearly hear the conversation in adjacent rooms. Moreover, some of the guest robbed just outside the hotel one night. Moreover, no iron in the room. On the positive side, location was good and girls on reception were very friendly and helpful. Overall, the price they charged was too much...overall would not stay there again and do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Were there a full week in August and had a great time.
Our room was in the part of the buidling where the reception is located.
The good:
very nicely priced (a bargain:10% special offer through the hotel website)!
location (right in the heart of Rome)
clean! (linen and bathroom ok!)
jet shower (a lovely surprise)
nice and large bathroom (but no bidet)
large screen tv
air conditioner
good mattresses
acceptably quiet (you are in the centre after all!)
bus stop just out of the front door

The bad:
room a bit small (for two), yet big enough
needs little revamping (and bits and pieces were not cared for, like skirtboards coming off the wall, shower doors not shutting properly, wallpaper)
no vending machine as advertised on the website (the receptionist just said the website is not updated), but just a minibar in the room (but, as you imagine, more expensive). A pity as the hotel does not serve breakfast. They should have a new one put it - with tea and coffee, too.
lift (there is one but then you must climb down or up some steps to reach the hotel - it is ok if you are young and fit but not if older with a lot of luggage)

Overall very positive.
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We were in a room in the building where the reception is located (overlooking Via delle Convertite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerPeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#359 of 1,271 in Rome
158 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#530 of 1,271 in Rome
275 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#671 of 1,271 in Rome
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel 939
Hotel 939
#991 of 1,271 in Rome
173 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#658 of 1,271 in Rome
500 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#155 of 1,271 in Rome
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Montecitorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Montecitorio

Address: Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $53 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Montecitorio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The precious elegance of the environments and his rooms, the exclusive design of the furnishes, the adopt technological solutions (digital TV to the plasma 46' and playpen shower vertical hydro massage in all the rooms), they are alone some of the characteristics of this new structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Montecitorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecitorio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing