We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Atlante Star”
Review of La Maison Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison Royale
Ranked #1,291 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We were booked into the B& B portion(La Maison Royale) of the hotel Atlante Star which would have been fine except that we needed 3 beds and for some reason only had 1. The hotel quickly and graciously provided an Apartment behind the hotel for our stay. The hotel and Apartment were conveniently located near the Vatican and the English speaking front desk staff were very helpful in providing for our needs. They also helped to return a book to us that we accidentally left behind. Many thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Washingtontravelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2007

After reading several reviews on hotels in Rome, we weren't quite sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. This bed and breakfast was not your traditional B&B, but rather picture it as an apartment without a kitchen. The rooms in the apartment are individual rooms that you rent out. Each room comes with a refrigerator bar, its own bathroom complete with shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer, jacuzzi and you even are supplied with slippers! The air-conditioning actually works, sometimes even too cold. As one of the reviews mentioned, there are quite a few keys in order to get in, but looking on the bright side, you feel safe. The room has no phones, which was an inconvenience, but the hotel next door has a pay phone. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was excellent and more than enough. The scenery was breathtaking, overlooking the Vatican.

There were 9 people in our group, 5 of which were teenagers, and all of us were extremely satisfied. Apart from being a lovely place to stay, the price was right!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luciana62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

The Maison Royale B&B is not a true B&B. Keep this in mind when you book. You are in a very updated ensuite apartment (with only a mini bar) so this gives the impression of a hotel. The Atlante Hotel is beside the B&B and breakfast component is served on the top floor of this hotel. This is the real winner here. The breakfast is spectacular (Italian standards). The view of St. Peter's is magical and the staff are the real clincher as the hotel staff are equally as helpful to the B&B clients as they are to the hotel guests. The apartments are very secure and the usage of several keys is the ONLY nuisance but I can tell you that you are indeed secure. I suspect this B&B will eventually raise their rates from 125 Euro/night because this is too good to be true... especially with the breakfast included. Room 3 was beautiful but the street noise may be too much for light sleepers (this had a jacuzzi tub which was great after long walks) and Room 4 was similarly appointed with only a soaker tub but it had a garden view and significantly quieter. You are only 5 minutes walk to St. Peter's and 15 minute walk to the Pantheon. Everything is walkable in Rome!

Score out of 10 : 9.6 (deduction for some street noise and awkward use of the keys).

Cheers,

Tim - Calgary, Canada (A VERY frequent traveler)

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank serengeti_skeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Although this hotel is classified as a B&B, it is actually next to, and affiliated with the Hotel Atlantique, a 4 or 5 star property.

For the money, you'd be hard-pressed to beat it. The bedroom and bathroom were very large, and the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom, albeit clean, had some mold on the shower wall, and the jacuzzi was not working. Again though, bottom line, it was well worth the price.

Our biggest complaint was the noise from the street below, but if you're up early, you'll be good to go.

The location was terrific. Less than 5 minutes walk to the Vatican, and 10 minutes walk to the Piazza Navona. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and the neighborhood seemed very safe.

The front desk (actually Hotel Atlantique's front desk) was very friendly and helpful.

One item to note...no telephone in the room, so bring an alarm clock along with your power adaptors.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank chgo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Copenhagen, Denmark
14
Reviewed May 3, 2006

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Rome. We have been to Rome quite a few times and this time we decided to stay close to the Vatican City in order to explore this area in more details. We found La Maison Royale on the Internet (Romeby(-)) and made a booking approx 2 months before our trip. The reservation was confirmed and we were looking forward to our stay. Two nights before our departure we received an email from the Hotel Atalante Star (through which you book La Maison Royale) that they were sorry to inform us that our reservation with La Maison Royal was cancelled and that they were going to put us up in another hotel only 5 min away from were we had originally booked.
I quickly replied to the email expressing my confusion - especially because the hotel they had moved us to was not to find anywhere on the Internet except for 1 review on a webpage that I do not remember the name of (similar to Tripadvisor.com). This review was NOT positive and we therefore got worried about the quality of the new hotel. I never got a reply to my email and when I tried to call them the following day they only replied that the lady in charge of bookings had the day off! We tried to make other reservations at other hotels in the area just in case but EVERYTHING was booked (we were 4 people and needed 2 double rooms). We finally decided have a look at the hotel (San Valentino) and then decide once we got there weather or not we wanted to move to another hotel. San Valentni was absolutely awful! First of all it was not 5 but approx 15-20 min away from La Maison Royal. We could have lived with the fact that the TV was the seize of a shoebox and did not work, that the light switches in the bathroom kept falling of - just like the on/off thing in the shower, that the toilet was placed almost under the sink so you had to sit sideways, that the toilet seat was broken and therefore often came half way off when you tried to sit on it, that the beds felt like something from a second World War hospital, if - and only if - the rooms had been clean! It was sooooo dirty there that we did not unpack any of our stuff!! We spend the first evening on the phones trying to find another hotel, but it was absolutely impossible. The following day we tried to call La Maison Royal to complain, but the receptionist kept telling us to call back because the booking office was either closed or no one was there. We finally gave up……..
In other words, be prepared for a bit of everything if you chose La Maison Royale!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dmitry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvesgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,964 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Royale

Address: Via Giovanni Vitelleschi 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,291 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $59 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Maison Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Royale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing