We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and clean, Great Breakfast”
Review of La Maison Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Royale
Ranked #1,403 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good value and clean, Great Breakfast”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This B&B comprises rooms in an apartment building about a block from the main hotel where you check in and have breakfast. The Atlante chain have two hotels here, plus this annex.

Our room was clean, warm and comfortable. Decor was in good order and there was reasonable space. Security was good with a locked gate to a small courtyard (you press a button to open from inside and use a key to enter from the street) plus steel door leading to the hallway. Signs reminded you to close the shutters so I guess they may have had problems with people getting in previously. The room felt a little claustrophobic with the small window but I guess this is good in the summer, and it totally blacks out if you want to sleep during the day, say after a long flight.

The bathroom was good, though the advertised jet bath didn't work and the shower head was awkward. Towels and sheets seemed to be changed fresh each day. Bed/mattress itself was not the most comfortable but adequate. There was a mini bar with a selection of drinks but no price list (guess it wasn't cheap). We used the fridge for our own drinks from a small supermarket nearby and took our own travel kettle. For some reason there were teapots and cups available in the hallway.

The TV was disappointing. All the channels were Italian, the TV stand was broken and I had to fix the SCART connection to the satellite box. It would have been nice to have a news channel or two in English (or different languages for other guests).

Breakfast was served on the 6th floor of the main 4* Atlante Star hotel, though the roof garden was understandably closed in January. This gives great views of Rome, particularly St. Peter's and the Vatican. There was a good choice of cereals, pastries, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, bread rolls, cheese and cold meats along with tea, coffee and cold drinks. The fruit juice was good quality. The surroundings are very nice.

We grabbed free newspapers from the main hotel lobby each morning and they had free wifi available in the bar area which we used successfully for Skype calls, web and email (it's chargeable elsewhere, including to use their computer). There was no wifi available in the room at La Maison Royale (only a resident's own signal which has a passcode).

One of the best ways to get to and from the hotel is to take one of the airport shuttle buses to Termini (we used Ciampino airport) then get public bus 40 Express which leaves from a stand near the information booth/tour bus hut at the front of the railway station. You can buy public bus tickets at news stands and tobacconists for 1.5 Euro each, then you must validate them in the machine on the bus. The airport buses typically cost 4 or 6 Euros each way. You can get a return for 8 Euros but we found it good not to be pre-booked as on arrival at Termini we caught an earlier bus to the airport from a different firm (we had flexibility). Sitbus seemed the best overall. It was a little tricky to find the hotel from the bus at first, whilst dragging luggage, but we made it easily enough. It was just a 5 minute walk. Be aware that the 40 express buses going to Termini start off from a stop around the corner from the waiting zone where they drop you on arrival (the waiting zone is along a wall/viaduct). Termini to or from the hotel takes about 30 minutes, even in rush hour though we allowed longer. Just check a map. The overall transfer from the hotel to the airport took under 2 hours, but that was with plenty of waiting time. The bus rides were 30 plus 40 minutes. Cost was about 13 euros each, return (6.5 per person each way) which is much cheaper than a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank g0akc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
40
56
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was 5 stars Hotel in very good location. We were really satisfied. View from the restaurant (where we had breakfast) was amazing. It was included in the price. Prices in the hotel bar were little bit higher. Hotel staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamilkakvietok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great service for very reasonable price. Hostel is situated 5 minutes from Vatican and similar distance from Angel´s Palac.
Metro is not far either.
Very cosy rooms. Breakfast that is included in the price may eat in the restaurant on the 6th floor where you will find extraordinary panorama of the city.
For sure will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolinaJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungtington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

La Maison Royale is a place of last resort! As a single with an eight night stay, the only plus was the desk staff (who worked at answering all questions), the location near Vatican City, and the fact it was clean. The room was very crowded...trying to sleep six in a one/two person room. The bed was jammed so close to the closet that opening the door to hang clothing was nearly impossible. To access WiFi you had to decend three floors, go outdoors to reach lobby of the main hotel next door and pay an hourly rate. Breakfast was minimal; the numerous keys to unlock four different doors were pre-1800's and frequently didn't work- requiring the assistance of the hotel staff. The shower hand-held shower head was suppose to also rest on a wall hook to allow for a true shower....hook not stable so unable to use the shower as a shower!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a little surprised, in a good way when we went to check into our hotel. For $116 euros a night we were not sure what to expect as the website really had few deatils. We checked in at teh atlantic star hotel and the shuttle ran us around the corner. He opened a gate and we went down a driveway. At the end of the drive way there was a patio and a couple of doors. We were not sure what to expect. However when we walked in we had a living room, a kitchenette with fridge and a large bedroom. We sat in the lemon garden and enjoyed a couple of drinks then went to explore. We were only a couple of blocks from the vatican and st peters. Lots of bars and resturants in the area and very clean and safe to walk around. The best was the included breakfast. On the sixth floor of the atlantic star it gave a panoramic view of the city and a great view of the dome at St Peters. We never were expecting this kind of place for the money we paid for it. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank upnorth777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The bed and breakfast "La Maison Royale" it is in the heart of the city next to Saint Peter's basilica. Nice breakfast at the roof garden of the hotel but i never understood this extra charge of 33 euros they put us..Anyway good value for the money i paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGIOS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in Maison royale or (Atlante Hotel? )At Via crescenzio, 78, in July 2012. The staff is very friendly and polite. The breakfast is good with a several types of delicatessen. It is very clean with rooms with a good space .The only problem is the air conditioning system makes a little bit of noise. The hotel has an excellent location, very close to the Vatican and to the subway station Otaviano. You can easily walk from Piazza Navona, enjoying a “Gellato”that is amazind and you can not let to taste it. We let our luggage in the hotel for 2 days while we travelled to Naple. I recommend the hotel for those people like us that want to live Rome and its wonderful sites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familia_Sampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#376 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
La Maison Royale
#6 of 31 in Fiumicino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
B&B Roma Borgo91
B&B Roma Borgo91
#188 of 3,617 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#25 of 3,617 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Serafino B&B
Serafino B&B
#1,370 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Bed & Breakfast Orange Garden
Bed & Breakfast Orange Garden
#1,818 of 3,617 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Royale

Property: La Maison Royale
Address: Via Giovanni Vitelleschi 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,403 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your La Maison Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Royale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing