We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B La Maison Royale”
Review of La Maison Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison Royale
Ranked #1,382 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was 5 stars Hotel in very good location. We were really satisfied. View from the restaurant (where we had breakfast) was amazing. It was included in the price. Prices in the hotel bar were little bit higher. Hotel staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamilkakvietok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Royale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 134 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great service for very reasonable price. Hostel is situated 5 minutes from Vatican and similar distance from Angel´s Palac.
Metro is not far either.
Very cosy rooms. Breakfast that is included in the price may eat in the restaurant on the 6th floor where you will find extraordinary panorama of the city.
For sure will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarolinaJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

La Maison Royale is a place of last resort! As a single with an eight night stay, the only plus was the desk staff (who worked at answering all questions), the location near Vatican City, and the fact it was clean. The room was very crowded...trying to sleep six in a one/two person room. The bed was jammed so close to the closet that opening the door to hang clothing was nearly impossible. To access WiFi you had to decend three floors, go outdoors to reach lobby of the main hotel next door and pay an hourly rate. Breakfast was minimal; the numerous keys to unlock four different doors were pre-1800's and frequently didn't work- requiring the assistance of the hotel staff. The shower hand-held shower head was suppose to also rest on a wall hook to allow for a true shower....hook not stable so unable to use the shower as a shower!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattyBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a little surprised, in a good way when we went to check into our hotel. For $116 euros a night we were not sure what to expect as the website really had few deatils. We checked in at teh atlantic star hotel and the shuttle ran us around the corner. He opened a gate and we went down a driveway. At the end of the drive way there was a patio and a couple of doors. We were not sure what to expect. However when we walked in we had a living room, a kitchenette with fridge and a large bedroom. We sat in the lemon garden and enjoyed a couple of drinks then went to explore. We were only a couple of blocks from the vatican and st peters. Lots of bars and resturants in the area and very clean and safe to walk around. The best was the included breakfast. On the sixth floor of the atlantic star it gave a panoramic view of the city and a great view of the dome at St Peters. We never were expecting this kind of place for the money we paid for it. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank upnorth777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The bed and breakfast "La Maison Royale" it is in the heart of the city next to Saint Peter's basilica. Nice breakfast at the roof garden of the hotel but i never understood this extra charge of 33 euros they put us..Anyway good value for the money i paid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank GEORGIOS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in Maison royale or (Atlante Hotel? )At Via crescenzio, 78, in July 2012. The staff is very friendly and polite. The breakfast is good with a several types of delicatessen. It is very clean with rooms with a good space .The only problem is the air conditioning system makes a little bit of noise. The hotel has an excellent location, very close to the Vatican and to the subway station Otaviano. You can easily walk from Piazza Navona, enjoying a “Gellato”that is amazind and you can not let to taste it. We let our luggage in the hotel for 2 days while we travelled to Naple. I recommend the hotel for those people like us that want to live Rome and its wonderful sites.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familia_Sampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

La Maison Royale was a fascinating experience. It is actually a private apartment housed in a building complete with an old-fashioned iron gate elevator, next to its 4-star sister the Atlante Hotel. Room was huge, beds comfy, but alas no Wi-Fi which you have to pay for. The saving grace is the buffet breakfast served at Atlante's rooftop garden cafe which offers a gorgeous view of St Peter's Basilica at Vatican City which is just 10 minutes away. Service at Atlante is also good - from booking of tours to all sort of requests. Though slighttly off the city centre, bus routes easily gets you to main attractions and there are interesting shops within walking distance. Just try and avoid the taxis, majority of whom are real scalpers unless you fixed the price first.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marfield49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
Vatican / Borgo
Serafino B&B
Serafino B&B
#1,166 of 3,709 in Rome
26 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
B&B Roma Borgo91
B&B Roma Borgo91
#239 of 3,709 in Rome
137 reviews
La Maison Royale
#3 of 33 in Fiumicino
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#33 of 3,709 in Rome
987 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
B&B I Tre Pupazzi
B&B I Tre Pupazzi
#1,443 of 3,709 in Rome
69 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Rome Services Borgo Suites
Rome Services Borgo Suites
#2,738 of 3,709 in Rome
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Royale

Address: Via Giovanni Vitelleschi 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,382 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $86 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Maison Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Royale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing