We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Principe Eugenio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Principe Eugenio to your Saves list
Principe Eugenio
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Eugenio 90, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #444 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and were in the hotel room for only sleeping in the night. It has a very good location since the nearest metro station is only a short walk away. We took the place for that reason and did not regret it. It is not very visible but Google maps helped find the location. It is a very basic hotel (more like a flat converted into hotel rooms) but has decent amenities like a clean room, fresh linen, air conditioned room, balcony etc. It also had an attached wash room too. Nothing exceptional, but was good for a night stay only. It is a family run hotel/guest house and we got some good advise from the reception guy in terms of metro to use, while we had done our own homework on the places to visit. Breakfast menu is rather limited, but as vegetarians choices were limited for us.Colosseum is walking distance from the hotel.It was a good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    135
    29
    12
    6
See reviews for
55
143
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odenville, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here first week of August 2012 with my two sons. Very clean, nice room with balcony, private spotless bathroom with hair dryer and buffet breakfast. Breakfast included rolls, two types of meat, cereal, milk, juice, tea, coffee, pastries, hard boiled eggs, apples and toast. It was all you could eat and with two sons 16 and 20 years old that was a big plus. There is also a Emme Pui grocery store across the street. The oldest gelato store is around the corner and we got gelato there every day it was the best in Rome ! The lady working the desk has limited English but communication was not a problem even though we spoke almost no Italian. She was very sweet and friendly. The neighborhood is the only drawback. There is a lot of grafitti on the buildings but the hotel is very secure and safe. It is a multi ethnic area with a lot of chinese which was not a problem for us. 10 minute walk to Termini train station or 2 metro stops nearby (Manzoni or Vittorio Emmanuelle) and a city bus which stops right outside of the hotel door. We walked to the Colosseum in 15 minutes. I had my sons so felt very safe. A woman by herself might want to take the number 105 bus right outside the door. We traveled in Spain, to Rome, then Florence, Venice and Paris and I have to say that Rome was the dirtiest city. The metro tunnels, trains are covered in grafitti, pick pockets are everywhere so use common sense to keep your belongings safe and AC, ice in drinks and free refills that you take for granted in the United States are not the norm in Europe. Rome does have a great system of free fountains for tourists to refill their water bottles up while walking around seeing the sights. Metro system easy to use and once you figure out the bus system it is too. Spend one day at the beach to escape the city which I highly reccomend. Take the Metro outside of the city like going to Ostia Antica but go to the end of the line to Cristoforo Colombo you can then go to the beach across the road or do like we did and take the #7 bus there down the road to a beach less touristy. Nicest areas in Rome for those who want to spend more need to look at area arond the Trevi Fountain or the Spanish Steps but I bet you won't get as nice a breakfast or a cleaner room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melody t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Principe Eugeno and were pleasantly surprised, having stayed in other 'adequate' European hotels.
The owners/staff are very friendly and pleasant, offering us tips on travel, dining and lesser-known touristy-attractions.
Rooms are very spacious, modern and maintained to a high standard, with large bathrooms (inc.frills - shampoo, soap etc); equipped with safe, TV, telephone, full-length mirrors and large wardrobe space.
Breakfast was typical European (cereal, packet toast, fruit, cheese, ham, fresh bread etc, but nothing hot).
In terms of location, it is a 5 - 10 min walk from Termini station, closest to the coloseum attraction-wise (15 mins), and a 30-40 min walk into the center, but you can always get the tube (3 min walk) to save your feet.
Would recommend for single travelers, couples and families with older teenagers

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oreo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed 4 days in July. Had requested a quiet room and it was perfect. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The owners are very helpfull and the hotel is well located close to train station and metro access.

We will likely return on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

There is better hotels in Rome, bu this was ok.
We stay here for a week back in May 2010.
Had a little difficulty with the language barrier on check and some other issues, plus it was late and we was greatful to get to bed, finally. Room was hugh, way too big for 2 people but not complaining
Breakfast is nice and there was plenty.
Located near to the worlds best ice cream parlour with so many varieties to choose from. Open till late most nights.
Locations wise not great, near to the main station. had to ge metro or tour bus to all attractions every day all day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel was more of a hostel. The people that worked there were nice but the area is a real dump. While it is relatively close to the Termini train station, it is not walkable if you have luggage. We tried it and it took about 15 minutes. Not fun. The area is basically Rome's version of Chinatown with building after building covered in graffiti. The rooms are clean and the AC worked, but I wouldn't stay there again. Just as a reference point we are an American couple in our 30's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were very warmly welcomed by the staff there, nothing was too much trouble. The room was great very pleased indeed, clean fresh and tidy, nice balcony over looking the city sights, nice courtesy bottle of Vino enjoyed to unwind. Breaskfast was too much infact we made our lunch from breakfast which was no problem.. Will for sure be staying again...Many Thanks

Room Tip: Close to Rain so it was easy to find, only a short walk....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Taormina Hotel
Taormina Hotel
#354 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#100 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#325 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#413 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#403 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Eugenio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Eugenio

Property: Principe Eugenio
Address: Via Principe Eugenio 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#298 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Principe Eugenio 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Principe Eugenio is located on the Esquilino hill, between the Basilicas of San Giovanni (St. John in Lateran), S. Croce (Holy Cross), Santa Maria Maggiore (St. Mary Major), the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Thanks to its position, the hotel is only 3 bus stops or one subway stop away from the main Termini train station, from where it is easy and quick to get to the two Roman airports. The hotel has been completely renovated and offers large, sunny rooms with essential style, every comfort and free wi-fi. The reception is accessible directly from the street and the Hotel has the following rooms: - double room for one person - double room for two people - triple room - family room All rooms are equipped with: - Individually regulatable air conditioning - bath with shower or tub and complete with hair dryer, towel warmer and toiletry kit - sat tv - free wi fi - electronic safe - writing table - minibar - direct line telephone ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Principe Eugenio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Eugenio Rome
Principe Eugenio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing