We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Principe Eugenio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Principe Eugenio
Ranked #554 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed for three nights in early July. Room and bathroom were VERY large by European standards, and spotlessly clean. I even had a fairly large balcony, though I'm not sure if all rooms do or if I just got lucky. This is a family run guest house on the second floor of an apartment building, so if you're looking for a fancy hotel with lots of amenities, this is not a good choice for you. But if you're looking for a nice room near the train station at a good price, then I give this place my highest recommendation. Ten minute walk from Termini station. Restaurants, grocery stores, subway stop, and internet cafes (there is wifi, but I was traveling without my computer) within a block or two. Coliseum was an easy twenty minute walk.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank blackford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    151
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
63
156
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Price was a little bit high, but is a good option for a hotel near the train station. Room was OK, clean and with a small fridge. Air conditioning was not the best, but worked. In front of the hotel is a supermarket were you can get groceries, which is always very useful. It is family owned, the old persons that attend are serious but formal. Breakfast was OK, not excellent, but enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo_Olguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We returned to stay another 6 nights at the hotel on a return visit to Rome. The same positive comments as before- great location, wonderful room, good breakfast, great service and wonderful location! There was the grocery store across the street, it is close to all modes fo transportation 9 not far from termini) and walkign distance to the colesseum and Palentine hill . G fassi gelato had a sale on across the street so we went there each day. Thanks for making our stay in Rome so wodnerful!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodstock_CanadaLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This place is FANTASTIC!! I read the other reviews and was a little hesitant. Its totally safe great area. Near the metro and you can pretty much walk to everything if you want. The people that run it AMAZING!! The lady that does the breakfast treated me like a king and hooked me up every morning with beautiful coffee and rolls etc. etc. I could go on and on but if you are looking for a true pensione experience and a chill spot to crash just GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This is my second stay here. It's clean, recently renovated and functional - the wifi works without a hitch (remember to ask for a login ID when you check in). The location is very central, near the train station. It's a bit scruffy but despite what anyone may write or think about the area, it is entirely safe (I lived here for six years and never had any problems at all).

It's a family run place, and they are accommodating and try to help you out when they can.

Don't expect a doorman or room service. The entrance to the building is pretty scruffy, but once inside it's neat and clean (the hotel is in a building which also has private apartments).

There a a number of good restaurants not too far away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AranNathanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

A family-run hotel with a very considerate attitude towards its guests. We sisters felt at home on the first day, and though we left for Florence and Venice, we returned there with a feeling of returning "Home". On their advice, we kept using the safe in the room all the 8 days, for our passports/exta cash etc. and travelled around with just the cash amount needed. The breakfast was fresh, good and substantial.
Besides the owners, the staff were also friendly and helpful. Every service we requested for was given with a cheery smile. Language seemed no barrier at all and WE learned Italian from them.

Room Tip: Bedrooms on the side street are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blank89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Thanks to Tripadvisor readers, we chose this hotel for its budget, location and positive reviews. It all proved correct. One does have to overlook its facade and entrance, but it's a pleasant surprise inside. The proprietors were lovely, rooms immaculate, breakfasts good. Also 20mins walk from colosseum; buses and trams right outside door; train station a short distance and easily done on foot. Also the oldest icecream parlour opposite, excellent and friendly pizza resto, next door and good restaurant round the corner. Would definitely stay again...in fact we changed our plans to return for another 2 days at the end of our stay

Room Tip: We liked the room which overlooked the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#352 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Esquilino
Taormina Hotel
Taormina Hotel
#401 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#510 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#516 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#378 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#289 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Eugenio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Eugenio

Property: Principe Eugenio
Address: Via Principe Eugenio 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#296 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Principe Eugenio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Principe Eugenio is located on the Esquilino hill, between the Basilicas of San Giovanni (St. John in Lateran), S. Croce (Holy Cross), Santa Maria Maggiore (St. Mary Major), the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Thanks to its position, the hotel is only 3 bus stops or one subway stop away from the main Termini train station, from where it is easy and quick to get to the two Roman airports. The hotel has been completely renovated and offers large, sunny rooms with essential style, every comfort and free wi-fi. The reception is accessible directly from the street and the Hotel has the following rooms: - double room for one person - double room for two people - triple room - family room All rooms are equipped with: - Individually regulatable air conditioning - bath with shower or tub and complete with hair dryer, towel warmer and toiletry kit - sat tv - free wi fi - electronic safe - writing table - minibar - direct line telephone ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Principe Eugenio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Eugenio Rome
Principe Eugenio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing