We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location, Nice Rooms and Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza al Corso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza al Corso to your Saves list
Residenza al Corso
Via Del Corso 18, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #607 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Rooms and Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I loved this hotel. Very clean. Rooms are nicely furnished. Friendly staff. Location was excellent: walking distance to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. Appreciated the free and fast Wifi. Breakfast was correct and enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaM1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
13
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Residenza Al Corso for 3 nights during Oct, 2012 last year.
The hotel is located at Via del Corso street, where there's a lot of shopping stores.

- Friendly staff that can help us with traveling spot in Rome!
- Walking distance to the Spanish Step and the town center
- Many local restaurant and shops near by
- The Metro Train station is about 5 mins walk from the Hotel
- The room got high ceiling
- The shower is very small but it was okie

Hope this helps,
Cheers
Diana B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MsD_LadyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Residenza al Corso for four nights. We arrived to find a wooden door with few markings, leaving us to hit random buzzers to get someone to open the door for us. After this awkward start, the stay was terrific. The staff of this small, family-run pension was terrific - helpful, available, and friendly. The complimentary breakfast was very nice - they even set out breakfast early for us one morning due to a tour that we had arranged!

The room was suitable for my wife and two teenage kids. We liked the open space and high ceilings - a/c was available, but we used it only at night. The beds were comfortable - the least comfortable was the roll-out bed, but that was to be expected.

Our impression of the area is different from some of the on-line reviews we have read. We really loved the street that we were on - it was pedestrian with the exception of electric buses(very convenient for getting downtown - 107 or 109 ran every few minutes - fantastic!) and cabs. You could walk comfortably down the street to get a gelatto, have dinner in a streetside cafe, or take the 20-30 minute walk to Trevi, Spanish Steps, etc. We had a view of the Piazza del Popollo from our hotel room and easy access to the metro with a short walk across the piazza.

I also read reviews about the toilet - there is definitely room for improvement in this area. The bathroom was small - especially the shower, and the toilet was not working as well as it should have. The staff came and did quick repairs - always responsive to our needs! - and it worked a little better.

We would recommend this hotel to friends, but it is important to note that this is not a formal hotel that you might imagine (Best Western, etc.) - it is really a single floor of a building that is a family run pension. We embraced this difference and enjoyed every minute of our experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed in two different rooms at the residenza al corso as we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip to Italy. We stayed in a suite which was large, had a beautiful, painted ceiling with windows opening to the street below (3rd floor) which when closed pretty much blocked out the street noise. The other room was a triple and it was quite large as well - charming, beautifully decorated (simple) and also had windows on the street. In both rooms, there was plenty of light, the bathrooms were pretty, the beds comfortable and hot water was plentiful. The rooms were heated (quite nice and warm) and very clean. The location was great - right on the via del corso off the Piazza del Popolo, close to the spanish steps - near the metro and walkable to many things. Overall, we were very happy. As this is a small hotel, there was not a person permanently stationed at the front desk every time you came in and out (with your own keys) however, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly and there is a small bell that when rung, the staff immediately appears. Personally, I prefer this! Breakfast was sufficient - toast, croissant, cereal, yogurt, oj and cappuccino, espresso or coffee. There's a wonderful small restaurant / wine bar on the side alley called Il Brillo - delicious and good prices. So... go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosie_mirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

This hotel had been suggested by an acquaintance and the website ad and photos looked good. Once we got there, we were so dismayed that we only stayed for the first of 4 nights and quickly found ourselves another hotel. Our room, which was billed as a double-queen, was quite large but dim and dingy. The room had not been painted in many, many years; single chair was badly broken; only one nightstand with dim light; dried floral arrangement that must have been sitting around for 20 years--dusty and gray. The bathroom was what really got to us...think of the 1960's...pink toilet, bathtub and bidet with all fixture poorly maintained. Rusted toilet brush holder and bathroom faucet that was missing its cap, so there was green rust growing in it. A small 1970's TV sat on top of a small mini-bar and was humming with vibration from the fraction of the TV (not on) on top of the fridge. You get the picture. Front desk was not particularly friendly.

This is a pensione, not a hotel, so if you're a very budget-minded traveler who wants to stay fairly close to the Spanish Steps and don't mind the above description, this is the hotel for you. Otherwise, stay away. This was what hotels were like in Italy when I visited 20 years ago.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

This hotel was clean, the staff were unbelievably helpful. I would not, however, stay there again for a number reasons - none of which were the fault of the extremely friendly, helpful and generally lovely staff. The hotel is simply too noisy (and I can normally sleep through anything!). The Via Del Corso is a VERY busy street with noise from very early to very late, also there is a emergency centre nearby which resulted in sirens. Breakfast is very basic as are the rooms. All of these things are, however, reflected in the price, which was very reasonable. Ultimately though, I would also say that (depending upon what you intend doing when in Rome) this isn't the best location - too far down the Via Del Corso.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Water leaking in through eiling, high noise level
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachieTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

Arrived on an unseasonally rainy cold March night and were a bit apprehensive when we saw the entrance but really we needn't have worried. It is an ideal place to stay, convenient for everywhere, comfortable bedrooms and charming staff. We were leaving early in the morning and would have been too early for breakfast but the manager was so good he got up and made us some breakfast himself. We had an 80 year old lady in our party of 5, and it had always been her wish to go to Rome and the Rezidenza lived up to her expectations. Of course the street was a bit noisy in the mornings but in the centre of Rome that is to be expected and it certainly wasn't intrusive. There is an added bonus of a really lovely ristorante/bistro across the road which was patronised by the locals and the food and value for money was excellent. I would go back to the Rezidenza like a shot!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#269 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#70 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#243 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#549 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#216 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza al Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza al Corso

Property: Residenza al Corso
Address: Via Del Corso 18, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #607 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Residenza al Corso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Al Corso Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing