We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ALTERNATIVE TO VERY EXPENSIVE HOTELS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chez Liviana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3,080 of 3,739 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2010

ok firstly i wish to say i had a really great experience - perhaps this is not a five star hotel but then its not as five star price - and Rome is shockingly shockingly expensive(€6.00/kg apples) - i was desparate to avoid usual travel/hotel shocks/disappointments - this worked brilliantly - not only were we taken care off but left in peace - i wanted a true feel of what living in Rome feels like and that is exactly what i got - i planned to avoid public transport especially taxies and walk everywhere that also worked brilliantly - but because Chez Liviana is brilliantly situated!!! - i suppose if not five star then a little openmindedness would be usefull!!! - but security was great and entrance entierly in marble - i was shocked how safe i felt in the streets at night - even the outside service till with teenagers who were genuinly singing - people if initially polite(Romans in general) can sometimes shock you with a point of guillotine rudeness but generally very sociable - Chez Liviana very highly recommeded !!! we will be back and next time as long as possible - thanks a million Chez Liviana!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOCRATES001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2010

I was unsure about booking this place after reading the reviews, but decided to book anyway. It was below average due to foul smelling bathroom, loud plumbing and "breakfast included" that was only a loaf of white bread, some nutella, & make your own coffee (which couldn't be made due to stove lighter not working). It was in a secure building and off the main street which was a plus, but the foul smells of the bathroom really made this a place we would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCAN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Good price and close location to the train station, however it is not located at the address located on the website. You are taken to a separate apartment. No AC and one old fan in the room, definitely want to stay in a hotel with AC during the summer in Rome. . Sheets were not changed at all during my several day stay, nor was I given a separate towel. Shower had low pressure. Washing machine had horrible smell had to wash clothes in the sink. Breakfast included is a joke, no cereal my whole stay, and old juice in the fridge, with stale bread. VERY Loud location. Basically no frills accommodating, but staying elsewhere in Rome is expensive. I would advise to go to a hostel to meet people.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiansig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We booked at chez Liviana for 100 Euro for 2 adults and a child. We were toled there was no room in chez liviana and moved to their other "place" that is part of chez Liviana. the stair case was scary and a real dump, not clean, most unpleasant and so was the tiny dirty lift, The person receiving us only spoke Italian and was most unpleasant. The room very basic and had - no- resemblence at all to the photos in the website. the sheets and towls were clean, and so was the tiny bathroom. There was a water pump every time you opened water made terrible loud noises. Old dawdy furniture . A real dump. Only For a really low price it's worth staying there. We were sent for breakfast to a kiosk near by - couldn't sit - no chairs, the coffee machine was broken so we took a croison from them and had to buy coffee some place else. . We left the next morning and walked into Amalfi hotel near by (Via Merrulana 278-00185) for 120 Euro for three (the prices in the internet are different but that is what they charged us )We got a beatifull room and lovely buffet breakfast. Chez Liviana is quite a dump, run down, and an internet tourist trap.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2007

great experience. 10 min walk (w/o luggage) to termini. 15 min walk to colosseum. Can really walk to anywhere in rome from here if you have enough time (we accidentally ended up at the tiber near piazza navona and had to walk back at 11pm; didn't feel unsafe, and didn't take too long). Apartment in a locked courtyard near santa maria maggiore and s. alfonso church. Good neighborhood. Very nice, english
speaking owners. Very safe (many keys needed to get in). Only problem
was contacting the owners (we ran out of toilet paper and had no way to tell them). Oh, and at night the main gate is locked from the inside and out, so you need you key to even get out. This was a problem when we checked out at 5am. Highly reccomended though. Room was great with plenty of electrical outlets and room and a comfy bed.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillynovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank Emilio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: non conosco le altre stanze ma quella riservata a me e la mia famiglia aveva il bagno esterno: in co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coaleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#446 of 1,271 in Rome
298 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#214 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Liviana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Liviana Bed & Breakfast

Address: Largo di Sant'Alfonso 5, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,080 of 3,739 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $42 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chez Liviana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Liviana Bed And Breakfast
Chez Liviana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing