We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect! Wonderful staff, great room & central location”
Review of Relais Forus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Forus Inn
Ranked #49 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect! Wonderful staff, great room & central location”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here with my mother and grandmother and we thought it was excellent. We got it for a great price too, so it definitely pays to book in advance if they have any deals online. We booked a double room with a rollaway bed for the third person (me). The room was a decent size, even with the third bed, and nicely decorated. Our room was overlooking the main road but wasn't noisy at all. The only problem was a slight leak from the shower, but putting a towel on the floor solves that problem. The staff were exceptional, and even thought it is only a small hotel the reception is open 24 hours. We felt very welcome at the hotel, with each of the staff members being very friendly and helpful. They made a great breakfast which was brought to our room at the time specified too. The central location made for a great base for exploring the city, within walking distance of the Colosseum, The Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, and many other sights, as well as all forms of public transport (though we took a taxi to and from central station with our bags as it is a bit too far to walk with large luggage and too difficult to manage luggage on public transport). We would highly recommended this hotel to all - ignore the negative reviews, this place is a little gem :).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ki-travla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forus I, Direttore at Relais Forus Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are flattered by your positive opinion!!!
We are very grateful and pleased for your good impressions on Relais Forus Inn. Apologising for the problem you found with the shower we can assure that, thanks to your advise, it is already fixed. With the next restyling of January these little issues will be definetely solved up!
Hoping to welcome you on the next trip to Rome
Greetings from all the Staff!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    209
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
89
332
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

How do you rate a place fairly when the staff is lovely but the management needs a wake-up call?

We chose Relais Forus primarily because of its proximity to a Metro stop on the Termini line because we were in transit with luggage. The location near Monti is good.

Another strength is that the WiFi is not a LAN but normal WiFi. Oh, they have real espresso. Too many hotels in Italy are using nespresso, which is not real coffee.

All the desk staff we dealt with were helpful and kind.

But this is a very ugly and uncomfortable hotel. At this price point, it is abominable. The bedspreads and draperies haven't been changed for decades. It is filthy. As another reviewer pointed out, they still use the vacuum hoses in the wall as hair dryers. The rooms are utterly depressing.

If they were half the price, it would be fine. But they are charging real money and you have the right to expect more. There are many boutique (and chain) hotels at this price point with better interiors, facilities, and rooms.

The first night we requested a quiet room, based on other reviews. Big mistake. The quiet rooms are the worst ones. They are smaller and have no natural light. And ours had a shower that leaked all over the floor. We switched to a room on Cavour for the second night. Much better. It is not that loud out there--the street is dead at night, as there are no nightclubs, bars, or restaurants on the block.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forus I, Direttore at Relais Forus Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sunshine,
We truly regret that your recent experience did not meet your expectations as a guest and for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay at Relais Forus Inn.
Our hotel is a small propriety with 10 rooms, and unfortunately you booked the last room available 3 days before your arrival, in one of the most expensive period of the year here in Rome, during the feast of All Saints.
However we did our possible to give you the best welcome, reserving an interior quiet room as your request and offering a plate of seasonal fruits and a bottle of Italian wine as a welcome gift.
We were not able to satisfy immediately your request to change room because the day of your arrival all room were occupied, but the next day we immediately proceeded with a free upgrade to a larger and comfortable room.
Curtains and bedspreads are regularly washed, however with the total renovation on the next January, we will be able increase our comforts in order to provide the best services that many customers have already experienced.
Thank you for time by posting your comments that are very important for us and helpful to improve our service.
All the points mentioned were taken into consideration by the management.
We hope to have you back in the near future, to offer our best services and to show our improvements.
Thank you for choosing us.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, about 1 km from the Rome Termini train station and only a block or so from the subway. The hotel is in an older building and for the age of the building and rooms are a great size. Breakfast is served daily, in your room! The bathrooms are a big (by europe standards).

The staff was amazing. I had arranged some some transfers prior to our arrival and the agency who was transporting us made some errors, and couldn't pick us up. The hotel staff worked very hard to make arrangements for us and even saved us some money.

The only down side, the hotel sits on the second floor of a building that the subway runs below. You can feel the vibration and some noise from the subway trains.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forus I, Direttore at Relais Forus Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your beautiful review!
We are always glad to read the satisfaction of our guests after their stay at Relais Forus Inn.
Thank you for all of your nice words, and we look forward to welcome you again at Relais Forus Inn on your next holiday in Rome.

Greetings from all the staff!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We filled out a survey in the room and I did another on-line, but don't mind responding again.
Everything was made better by the attentiveness of Elana and Roberta. Breakfast was timely and very good, rooms clean and spacious enough for sleeping. Traffic a little noisy, but not an issue after a full day of walking sleep can very quickly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forus I, Direttore at Relais Forus Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your sweet reviews! We are pleased to know that our staff made your stay nicer, we always pamper the most possible all our guests. We hope to have you again here in future!
Greetings from all the Staff of Relais Forus Inn
Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

very clean
very good breakfast
very helpful staff
we were family of 6 that took 2 rooms that both was great
the location is great, close to the Coliseum and to termini
they even offered to us umbrellas for free when the rain started

we had a great stay !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forus I, Direttore at Relais Forus Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having choosen Relais Forus Inn for your recent holiday in the Eternal City!
It is very important for us to give our guests the most comfort possible, even with rainy weather.

We would be pleased to welcome you again for your next trip to Rome, maybe in a lukier sunny season!

Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I recently stayed here while on a trip with friends. The service was very good, everyone very helpful and friendly. It is very centrally located, a few steps from Cavour metro station. It is very safe and the neighborhood is fine. I walked alone many nights and it was all good. The room was very clean, everything was neat and upon arrival I had a bottle of Prosecco waiting in my room, for free (great touch!). They had bathrobes and slippers in the bathroom as well. There are only a few rooms and the hotel is located on the second floor of a building. There is an elevator as well. I loved that the night before you place your breakfast order, and although it is mainly coffee and bread, yoghurt and cereal, it is perfect to start your day, at your own pace. I would definately stay here again given the opportunity. If I had one bad thing to say is that they did not have an iron for my clothes. She looked at me surprised that I was asking for one. When you travel you really need to iron your clothes, so I was a bit dissapointed with that and the fact that they did not have a normal hair dryer in the room. They have one of those vacuum looking hoses that should not be considered a hair dryer. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forus I, Direttore at Relais Forus Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Gina,
we are pleased to read your nice words, and we are glad we left you have a good stay at the Relais Forus Inn.
Thank you also for having submitted with sincerity the problems of structure, this is very important for us, as we are going to renovate the property on next January. All suggestions from our guests are welcome to make Relais Forusi Inn the more comfortable and satisfactory possible.
In this reason we invite you to come back to stay with us for your next trip in Rome, so you will be able to taste a nice and new Relais Forus Inn!
All our greetings
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean and Comfy room. Courteous staff. Yummy Breakfast. Great Location. Only complaint was that the air conditioner was pretty weak. It was quite hot during our stay in Rome and it seemed that our room never really cooled down. A very minor point, since we weren't in Rome to hang out in our room.
Great value! I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyPupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forus I, Direttore at Relais Forus Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for having choosen the Relais Forus Inn, and thank you for the nice review!
With regards to the air conditioning we thank you for submitting the problem, and we apologise for this trouble during your stay, but if you told this matter as soon as you found it, we would surely have provided a solution, calling the mantainance to fix the machine.
For us is really important that guests always at the first little problem advise us, as our reception is open 24h for any issue and we are at your total disposal to solve any difficulty in the room.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you in our renewed property next year, able to refund in comfort the inconvenience found.
Sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,263 in Rome
391 reviews
Monti
Domus Liberius
Domus Liberius
#51 of 3,692 in Rome
1,007 reviews
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#24 of 3,692 in Rome
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,692 in Rome
736 reviews
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#34 of 3,692 in Rome
284 reviews
Monti
Cardilli Luxury Rooms
Cardilli Luxury Rooms
#30 of 3,692 in Rome
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Forus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Forus Inn

Property: Relais Forus Inn
Address: Via Cavour 194, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Forus Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most evocative setting of ancient Rome, in a typical late 19th century Umbertine style building you'll find Relais Forus Inn, a complex designed to accommodate demanding customers and good taste lovers......The Forus Inn is located a few steps from Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, the underground line B station Cavour and about ten minutes walk from Termini railway station, allowing you to reach easily the key points of downtown Rome (the Colosseum, Piazza Venezia, Fontana di Trevi, Campidoglio, S. Maria Maggiore, Piazza di Spagna).Due to its excellent location, to the elegance of its rooms and to its facilities (ADSL and Wi-Fi broadband Internet connection, minibar, safe box, Sky TV, air conditioning). Relais Forus Inn is an excellent resort both for a holiday or a business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Forus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Forus Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing