We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carra 1 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,779 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B and great staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

The location is good and despite the old building, the hotel is all reformed and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was very kind and helpfull. The only problem is that is 10 min walk from termini station, and if you have heavy luggage, it could be a problem.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviane_Muller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

This is a very nice place to stay in Rome and I would recommend it, but travelers should be aware of some items:

1) This isn't a typical Bed & Breakfast. The owner has taken apartments in old buildings, gutted them out and put multiple bedrooms in each. The decor is very contemporary and the renovated apartments are completely automated (e.g., electronic sensors throughout to control the lights). On that note, the bedrooms in the units are very nice. My apartment had 9 bedrooms in it. There isn't a common area or place to socialize with other travelers or talk with the hosts. Not all the apartments are in the same building. I had to walk around the block to my apartment after checking in at the office located at the address featured on my Expedia reservation confirmation.

2) My bedroom did not have: a cup in the washroom, a telephone or an alarm clock.

3) You get a voucher to have a morning croissant and coffee at the neighborhood cafe / bar. For me it was one block away from my apartment, but it may be closer for some depending on which building you're staying in.

4) Finding the office to check in is challenging. I walked from the train station, which is about a 10 minute walk and not too difficult if you have a map. However, when you get to the street of the address you should note that there's no sign for the B&B as it's in an apartment building. You have to buzz the B&B on the intercom to gain access into the building and then proceed up one floor to the office to check-in. Once you arrive at the B&B's office, you'll have to buzz again or knock to get in.

5) There is no wireless internet as indicated on Expedia. However, this is free internet, but it's hard wired and you need a cable. If you don't have a cable there's a Mom and Pop computer shop a few doors down from the apartment building where the B&B's office is located. Cables are $5 Euros.

6) As mentioned in Point 1, the bedrooms are located in newly renovated apartments in old buildings. These apartments are very automated and contemporary. When entering the apartment be sure to note the exit. In the apartment where my bedroom was located the door exiting the apartment is hidden by one of the contemporary wall panels. There's also no doorknob or sign to indicate that the wall panel is an exit. Since there's no doorknob on the exit door panel, you have to pull the panel towards you by gripping a small lock on the panel. The hallway leading to the bedrooms is lined with similar panels, so determining the exit can be a challenge the first time if you entered the apartment quickly and didn't look behind you to see the door/panel close behind you.

Despite these odd problems, it is a nice place to stay. The rooms and apartments are exceptionally clean and modern. The prices are also very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heads_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

If you want to stay near Termini in a clean, spacious room and pay a reasonable price, this is a very good place. It's cheaper than MaryElen which is nearby, you get a bigger and cleaner room, and the staff is friendly. The room did not have a clock radio for waking up, but the young woman at the counter was nice enough to lend us her cell phone to use as an alarm. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kma6k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay at this b&b. Location is convenient, walking distance to Termini train station and right next to the metro station. The area looked safe and decent.

The lady at the reception speaks English and is very helpful and nice. Our room was good-sized, clean and modern. There's an internet connection in the common area.

For breakfast we were given coupons to the cafe downstairs; coffee, juice, croissants, regular stuff but everything fresh and enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank igorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Casa Carra despite being a short walk from Termini was quite hard to spot. (Make sure you note down the address before trying to find it.)

We were pleasantly surprised with the room having initially been slightly concerned with the low key entrance to the address. The room was large, clean and well equipped though we did have to ask for a hair dryer.

The staff were polite and helpful when needed. The map they provided us with upon arrival was a real help.

Breakfast is served in the cafe next door and is adequate.

Casa Carra is located just a couple of minutes away from Vittorio Emanuele and walking distance from every main attraction in the city.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Casa Carra for anyone wanting to see Rome.

  • Liked — Location, size and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Limited breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Carter_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Excellent choice to stay couple of nights when discovering the city of Rome. Most of the places worth seeing are close enough to walk and metro station is very close, too. In the reception there is frendly staff and they speak at least english.
Neighbourhood is peaceful though its quite close to Termini station. But when you are close to Termini you have best connection to everywhere in the city.

The room is quite small but big enough for two persons. The room is in really good shape, just like renovated recently. There is also a refrigerator in the room where you can keep your drinks cool. Bathroom is very tidy and everything works.

Just one minus is small breakfast in the bar downstairs.

The price quality relation is very good. We had lovely days in Rome.
We would really recommend this B&B to everyone!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank VisitorEspoo_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Domus Nova Bethlem
Domus Nova Bethlem
#352 of 3,692 in Rome
134 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#360 of 1,261 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,168 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,742 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,261 in Rome
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carra 1 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carra 1 Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carra 1 Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Dello Statuto 44, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,779 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Carra 1 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carra 1 Hotel Rome
Carra 1 Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing