We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay when in Rome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 3,732 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The only place to stay when in Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The room we stayed in (purple room) was absolutely beautiful, fully equipped with extra pillows and quilts. The air conditioning and free wifi was much appreciated. Breakfast is very italian, with coffee, brioches, yogurt, and juice which was all delicious and quite filling. Perfect location, as it is in a side street but 5 mins walking distance from the Vatican and has perfect access to the Ottaviano stop on Line A for the metro.
The only 2 complaints I have are that the electricity went off 3 times during our stay (common in Italy, as too many people are using the hairdryer, coffee machine, or dishwasher at the same time). An emergency light did come on until it was fixed 5 mins later. My other minor complaint is that the water in the shower would slowly drain so I would have to keep switching the water off so that it wouldn't overflow.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    45
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
150
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soldeu, Andorra
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I was there for 3 nights with my girlfriend and they helped us to get the best time in Rome.
It's only 200 mt to get to the Vatican entrance and 100 mt to get to the metro and all buses.
The room was clean and the style was amazing, it reminded me of Gaudi, better than many other more expensive rooms I've stayed.
Thanks Alessandro for all tips and the nice chat!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elchippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here!!! The room & kitchen area was clean & made you feel like you were "home". We enjoyed eatting at the L'isola della Pizza place just below this B&B; had awesome food & reasonably priced! Close to the metro station, one block away. Street parking is very hard to find, but there is a Parking garage that is very well secure to keep your car in 24 hours with reasonable prices as well. Parking garage is within walking distance (couple blocks)to the B&B & to the Vatican as well. Would recommend dropping off your bags to your room then park at the parking garage. Metro is very easy to take down to the city as well as other locations. Breakfast was fresh crossant rolls along with other breakfast items; ceral, milk, juice, coffee, bread, etc. Staff was very friendly & helpful with questions we did have. Felt very safe & secure at this B&B, with having to use a key & go through several different doors from the main door outside. Would recommend this B&B to anyone!!! Loved our stay & will be back!!!

Room Tip: We loved our "red room"!!! The bed was very comfortable along with the sheets, bed spread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pr0udUSAFwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011


As indicted in other reviews this b&b is ideally situated near the Metro and of course the Vatican City. We never got to meet our host Alessandro but felt that the young lady who met us on arrival could have been more helpful - in fact besides informing us that it was very important to close the lift doors she was not very forthcoming with any other info pertaining to our stay. The wireless connection was poor and my husband had to venture out into the passage each time we needed access.  One of the small points that our hostess failed to infirm us about was that we were sharing the apartment  with another couple - this could potentially have resulted in some embarrassing  situations  had we not realized this ourselves. Having said this our room was spotless with all the amenities one would expect - it was also surprisingly quite once the windows and  shutters were closed. The kitchenette had modern appliances and the breakfasts were adequate.  The pizza restaurant downstairs is also well worth a visit.  We enjoyed our stay and would have no problem recommending this b&b. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

This place is very well located, near a metro stop, the neighborhood is great with a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. Alessandro, our host, was very helpful. We had a small kitchen with expresso machine, milk, bread, crackers, etc. Simple but enough. No problems at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foreverguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Exceptional venue near Vatican. Real "home away from home". For those wondering - "Gli Artisti" is actually a flat which consists of three room. "Yellow", "Pink" and "Green" - "Green" and "Yellow" are en-suite and "Pink" has bathroom just outside in the corridor (not a problem, you will be provided with the key and you can close the bathroom if you feel like).
Kitchen is fully equipped (coffee machine is available) and there is always bread, jam, butter, juice, various pastries for breakfast and you can cook for yourself if you want.
It's a bit noisy in the morning (if you're a late sleeper ad myself, byt tolerable).

Vatican City is just few minutes ago, we used metro only once to get to Ostia Antica, all other attractions are easily accessible without the use of transport.

Really great place to stay. I would definitely recommend and will try to stay there next time I'm in Rome (which will be pretty soon, because Rome is a wonderful city to explore).

P.S. By the way, you may try eating out in "Da Vito e Dina" and "L'isola della pizza" - this two great places are on the same street, just downstairs.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187791-d1838601-Reviews-Da_Vito_e_Dina-Rome_Lazio.html
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187791-d947689-Reviews-L_Isola_della_Pizza-Rome_Lazio.html

P.P.S. Thanks a lot to Alessandro, the owner of the B&B! I didn't have a chance to say goodbye in person.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VadimZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

The place is very close to Vatican and within a 15 minutes walking distance from Piazza del Popolo. It's very clean, our room was pretty spatious and the staff was very friendly. However, since the place is not very big, the conversations from the dining room can be heard in the room despite the closed doors, this being somewhat annoying at 8 AM.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitaminc017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#19 of 3,732 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Prati
A Peace of Rome
A Peace of Rome
#29 of 3,732 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Prati
La Cupola del Vaticano
La Cupola del Vaticano
#33 of 3,732 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanella 3
#3 of 3,732 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#21 of 3,732 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Degli Scipioni 53, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 3,732 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing