We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

Ottaviano Holiday House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ottaviano Holiday House
Ranked #1,750 of 3,619 Rome B&B and Inns
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

It's not a guest house-- it's a flat.

I booked a double room, but was given a single. I was on my own, so it wasn't the end of the world, but I was a bit annoyed that my booking was changed without notification.

A continental breakfast was advertised, but in order to get it, you have to leave the premises. Presumably this passes the standards of the Italian equivalent of the trades description act; not sure that it would do in the UK though.

These were not things that ruined my holiday, but I would not have booked here had I known ahead of time how basic the flat really is.

The property is in a lovely part of Rome, close to the Vatican and close to San Piettro metro.

It was kept as clean as one would expect for this sort of accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
9
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed for 3 night. Room was clean and quiet. It was very easy to travel to all the beautiful sites from here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the B&B for 2 nights. The location is great. The metro is down the street at the corner and there are lots of shops and places to eat in the area. Vatican city is maybe a 10 minute walk from the door of the B&B. The bed was uncomfortable for me but my husband had no issues. The shower is super tiny and the light on the little tv has a blue light that stays on all night. The room has AC and the service was good. They speak really good English. If you don't care about comfort and your just staying for a short period of time then this is your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Traverlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Clean room and bathroom, size of the room is quite big compare to other B&B that we stay in Italy. Breakfast is very very basic, just a croissant and coffee, we stayed there 4 days and they served the same breakfast everyday...

Even though the room we got was facing the main street, but it was not noisy at all as the window is soundproofed.

On the website, they claim that they have elevator, but it only serve to other floor, not to Holiday House Roma (this B&B occupied one of the floor)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutcracker416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at the Holiday House Rome in late September. Room (en-suite) was clean, bed comfy and we were served with a very nice italian breakfast (your choice of hot drink, juice and sweet pastry) in the room each morning. They also have free wifi and some English speaking news channels on tv. My boyfriend requested an extra pillow and was provided with one immediately - all in all the staff was very helpful and kind.

Even though we got a corner room facing two streets, once the windows were closed they shut out all the noice from the traffic outside.

The location is good, close to the Ottaviano metro stop and Saint Peter's Basilica and there's a great italian ice-cream shop two doors away. The B&B is run by a family, whose members have lived in UK and therefore speak fluent English.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladytravelbug74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed at Holiday House Roma lactated a block from the Vatican on Via Ottaviano 43. It is a cute, small 5 room B&B with in suite bathrooms in each room. It is in an old charming apartment building on the second floor. The lift didn't work which was fine with us.. We booked two rooms at 77 Euros each room for each night for 4 nights. A typical Italian breakfast was included. Each morning we had Cappuccino, a sweet pastry and a small apricot juice served in our room. This is not an hotel with hotel amenities. However it is very reasonably priced bed and breakfast. The family that owns it is very friendly and helpful and speaks excellent English. The B &B is located very close to the Ottaviano Metro Station in a safe neighborhood. We would stay here again. Their website is www.holidayhouseroma.com

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Ottaviano Guest House
Ottaviano Guest House
#540 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,290 of 3,619 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,549 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#288 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottaviano Holiday House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottaviano Holiday House

Property: Ottaviano Holiday House
Address: Via Ottaviano 43, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly Holiday House Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,750 of 3,619 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ottaviano Holiday House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at 100 mts from the San Pietro, Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel, at 50 mts from the Underground A line train station Ottaviano/San Pietro, from the bus stops, tram and taxi. We are single rooms, double rooms and triple rooms whit private services, Tv, Air Conditioned, frigo and wirelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ottaviano Holiday House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing