We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Galli in Rome”
Review of Hotel Galli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Galli
Ranked #646 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Extremely friendly staff and perfect location next to Termini station. I was afraid when booking that it might be in restless place but it was very quiet and safe place. Staff is very friendly and wants to make sure that you enjoy your visit in Rome. Rooms are clean and basic, good value for your money. We fell in love with Rome and this is partly because of this hotel and it's friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed one night passing through Rome. Ideal for catching train next morning at Termini. Good value for what it is, pleasant staff and quirkiest lift I have ever seen! The loo was a bit cramped though. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beedqlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice and warm hotel. Very welcoming personnel. The lady at the reception (name on D.) in less than 5 minutes has planned for us our 3 days visit to Rome. Rooms are clean and they are cleaning them every day. Hotel is very close to the train station, but very quiet and safe. At the reception you will get recommendation where to have nice dinner or lunch. Free wireless internet. In few words, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bojan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

just near Termimi metro station/rail station to go to the airport
very welcoming personnel, gave practical advices on eating out and visiting the city.
room was clean.good hotel for its price no breakfast provided but it was perfect to have real italian experience in little cafe nearby attended by locals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReGal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had to spend a night in Rome and get up early to the airport. The price and the location of Galli convinced us to stay there. It's small, nice a warm with good service and basically you get what you paid for. Rooms are clean, but with a small window and decent shower. Location is OK for those who are travelling and want to be close to Termini, but very far from the center and the main sites.Moreover, Night time in the Termini area is not that lovely.

Room Tip: Beware of the elevator. It's not big enough for 2 people + bags. Air condition remote is availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This conveniently located, relatively cheap and clean accommodation was a perfect base for our Rome adventures.

It's just 200m from the station on a bustling street which seems to be full of very similar hotels. Our room was sparse and simple but very clean. The staff were really friendly and accommodating and recommended some lovely local restaurants. We visited one of them which, despite being near the station was full of locals and the food was amazing!

We were in room 205 which overlooked the street so when the doors were open it was pretty loud, therefore we had to keep them closed and use the air con which got quite loud and cold during the night. The size of the room was sufficient but the bathroom, whilst not tiny, had the biggest sink in there so made moving around very difficult (and funny!). Water pressure was pretty poor as well.

We snuck a peek at some of the other rooms and not all bathrooms were like this, so don't be put off by ours.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you pay €50 for a hotel room in the centre of one of the most famous cities in the world, your expectations are probably not going to be dramatically high. There shall be no visions of dancing fountains, whistling doormen or pyramids of Ferrero Roche placed delicately on your pillow. Nor should there be. €50 is a fantastic price, and you shall probably spend that much on gelato alone during your visit to the Eternal City. So it is with a certain cautious optimism, a trepidatious excitement, that you present yourself at the plain door that sits happily below the green “Hotel Galli” sign. No, there is indeed no grand entrance, one must make do with a buzzer that you desperately hope isn’t actually connected to someone’s apartment above.

I would advise that no traveller heads to any country without attempting to learn at least some of the native language, but luckily one can make do at this hotel with only the most basic of phrases. After attempting to explain to the voice on the intercom that you would very much appreciate a room for the night, you shall be buzzed in and directed to the second floor. It shall be with a certain puzzlement that you pass another hotel on your way up, as this is in no way a large building, yet somehow they have managed to compete with Las Vegas in the number of hotels they offer in such a confined area. (At least 3 in this one building alone.) You shall also notice the elevator that the stairs snakes around, happily noting for future reference that it is big enough to accommodate even the largest person who may wish to ride it, unless of course they are past the age of 6.

Upon arriving in the beaming reception on the second floor, you shall be met with a warm smile, and a very honest hotel owner. I have become convinced that this happy Roman is possibly the person upon which all stereotypes of Italian mothers are based. You sense that at any moment she may feel no choice but to give you a spontaneous hug, either as a welcome to her glorious city, or as a warning that you better pay good attention when she instructs you that checkout is strictly at 10am. I jest of course, as she was a pleasure to talk to, and through a mix of her passible English and my honest attempt at learning more than 5 Italian words, we departed happily up to my room (located two floors above), with my new momma insisting on carrying my hat like some sort of priceless family heirloom. Upon arriving at the 4th floor, I was presented with a set of keys that once was once used to lock up slaves in the Colosseum, and you suddenly remember that you must pay excellent attention while your Italian relative explains the various tricks that you must perform with the keys to open each of the old doors that you must get pass to enter your room. (Panic will strike tonight when you can’t remember which door requires two turns to the left, then one to the right. However, panicking and rattling the keys in every direction possible seems to work too…)

And to give a serious appraisal of the room, I can honestly say that I cannot complain one bit. Everything worked, from the aircon to the tv, the bathroom was clean, the beds comfy, and while the fridge may have seen better (and cleaner days), it too worked, an essential companion in a muggy Italian city. The only obvious problem is the area around Termini, and while this may not be one regularly talked about in travel books, it did not seem unsafe, though still an area not to let your guard down. And one final point to remember is that Rome charges a tax of €2 per person, per night in all hotels. However, for the price I paid, I really cannot complain. It’s worth it for the hugs alone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eoin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#852 of 1,272 in Rome
125 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Principe Amedeo
Hotel Principe Amedeo
#509 of 1,272 in Rome
159 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#443 of 1,272 in Rome
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Robinson
Hotel Robinson
#734 of 1,272 in Rome
97 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Praetoria
Residenza Praetoria
#477 of 1,272 in Rome
810 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#422 of 1,272 in Rome
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galli

Address: Via Milazzo 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #646 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $53 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Galli 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Galli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing