We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get much for the price.”
Review of Spagna Ave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spagna Ave
Ranked #426 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Pro's are that the family that owns it is very nice and that is centraly located. It is also very clean. The bed was comfortable. The Cons are that the pictured room is only really nice room in the hotel according to the pamphlet in the room. Our room was very small. Linens were ok but nothing great. Breakfast was only available for one hour. It is brought to your room but it was prepackaged dry toast, a single small cup of coffee, one nice pastry, and a very small cup of orange juice. The price was high for the level of hotel we got. We have been to other large cities in Europe and had nicer rooms with much higher levels of service for the price. Go to Rome and see as much as you can of this wonderful city!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 313 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

While the property is close to the Spanish Steps and it is reasonably inexpensive, that is where it ends. None of the TV channels are in English, not even CNN or BBC, The breakfast is delivered to your room but, consists of a cup of coffee, a cup of yogurt and a crossant plus a small glass of orange juice, it is nothing to write home about. One individual tries to help but even that is of little consequent when he isn't at the front desk full time. All in all, not a very pleasant stay. Will not be coming back.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here as an overnight in Rome before catching a cruise. The hotel was in a good place for us-not far from the Spanish Steps and a nice stroll to St. Peters. The rooms was large-especially by European standards and quite comfortable. The location meant that it was somewhat noisy, but one comes to expect that in Rome. The staff were super friendly and were even willing to iron her outfit for the next day (we really were willing to do it oursevles, though). If you are looking for 5-star elegance, this is not the place for you. But, Eva's Rooms is comfortable and offers great value for the money you spend. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was easy to get to, 2 stops from termini, get off at barberini and it's 3 mins walk. Room was lovely, staff very friendly and accommodating. We walked pretty much everywhere except for the Vatican, which only took 15 mins to get to and is a short trip on the metro. The breakfast is typically Italian so don't expect anything else, they bring it to your room at the time you request in the morning which we found meant we were up and out the door in good time to do a full days sight seeing. I found the road outside a little too noisy, traffic, rather than nightlife. My husband however didn't have any problems with the noise. I would therefore recommend light sleepers take earplugs just in case. The shower was lovely and hot and powerful enough for washing long hair properly. The room had air conditioning and extra blankets are available if necessary. It is right in the heart of the tourist zone so bars and shops nearby are expensive, but a short walk will take you to some more reasonably priced places.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My 18 year old daughter and my friend stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. What a find!
Location: Between Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps, Hop on, Hop off bus stop very close, nice shops in the street - perfect! We were on the 3rd floor - it has a lift so no lugging suitcases!
Reception: Guy was knowledgeable with great English, very helpful, had maps and lots of suggestions on what to do and see, ordered taxi for our departure, held our suitcases unitl then - fantastic!
Room: Large with fabulous old fresco ceiling, huge bathroom, comfy beds, very clean and serviced daily
Breakfast: Delivered to room promptly daily, juice, coffee, croissant - very adequate

Room Tip: Our room opened onto the street, but there was little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DENISEMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

When I say "not what we were expecting" I mean that, after getting it highly recommended by our travel agent and reading wonderful reviews, we were ready to have a lovely retreat from the loud, busy streets of Rome. That is NOT what we got- not in the least. First off, the shower was absolutely appalling; mildew fringed every other tile and contaminated the shower head, the metal shower thing looked like it hasn't been cleaned in a month and there was SOMEONE ELSE'S HAIR EVERYWHERE. (Not an amusing rhyme.) The the temperature would randomly spike, it was so tiny that when you turned around your elbow would hit it and it would turn off. There was nothing to drink in the mini fridge and we couldn't so much as crack a window because of the blaring car horns and loud music. There were holes in the sheets, the beds were hard and difficult to sleep on. Breakfast was brought directly to our door, which would have been nice if it wasn't 8 o clock in the morning. The only upside to this stay was the easy wifi service and beautiful ceilings, but other than that, it was a BUST. So don't be fooled- if you can, run! We were expecting something decent at the very least (for the exorbitant fee we were paying.) What we got, was a different story.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the pretty ceilings and good location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilhelminaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location of this hotel was good but unfortunately if you want to get a nights sleep this is NOT the place to stay. Bed was extremely uncomfortable and the hotel is situated near a very busy road and is not very soundproof. Add in the fact that there is a nightclub or theatre right under the bedroom windows that poured people out around 2 or 3 in the morning it is not a place that we would recommend to stay. We found the staff unhelpful and in fact could not even find a staff member on two occasions when we tried to tell them that we were leaving early the morning that we left. Very disappointing all round considering the reviews that we read on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#292 of 1,269 in Rome
281 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#384 of 1,269 in Rome
256 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#69 of 1,269 in Rome
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Royal Suite Trinita dei Monti
Campo Marzio
Les Fleurs Luxury House
Les Fleurs Luxury House
#437 of 3,721 in Rome
135 reviews
Campo Marzio
Internazionale Domus
Internazionale Domus
#204 of 3,721 in Rome
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spagna Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spagna Ave

Address: Via dei Due Macelli, 31, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Eva's Rooms)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $91 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome’s historic centre, between the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, Spagna Ave offers a personalised service. There is free WiFi, and the elegant rooms are air-conditioned. Each of the rooms at this family-run guest house has a frescoed ceiling and is equipped with a TV and a safe. Breakfast is served in the comfort of your room or in the communal dining room. On request, Spagna Ave can provide a shuttle service to Rome Fiumicino and Ciampino airports. Spagna is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, food and city walks. This is our guests' favorite part of Rome, according to independent reviews. In this area you can shop 'til you drop for popular brands like Rolex, H&M, Zara, Nike, Cartier. This property also has one of the top-rated locations in Rome! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spagna Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva`s Rooms Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing