We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Twin City Break - Rome and Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Ranked #643 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Twin City Break - Rome and Venice”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Quiet hotel and as other reviews slightly out of the way in terms of Rome City Centre. However, once you have sussed the transport it makes a good base to explore Rome. There were 3 buses to Rome from the bus stop 250m from the Hotel. Rooms were of a good standard generally and food at the Hotel good though only a cold buffet breakfast. For what we paid for the twin break we were more than happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    356
    253
    158
    107
See reviews for
231
351
62
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

As a hotel Inspector , spent 3 nights there and found a lot of faults
1. The first room we wrre given wete only 2 single beds put together.
2. There was no coffee or tea in the room, then when we demanded another room .
Found the wooden slate on the floor were loose ( very dangerous )
3. The towel heating rack didn't work
4. The empty soap gell wasn't replaced till we told them .
The so called shuttle bus only ran 3 times a day 3 in the morning and 1at night.
And if you missed any of these , you haf to make your own way to your destination or your own way back to the hotel becsuse no one will come and get you .
Some not all of the staff were polite .
This is hotel is rated 4 stars .
I would give it 2and ahalf stars
Which means i would use if i had no chioce

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank macka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We recently stayed here as with a package from Groupon as a first try to see how it would go so didn't really know what to expect. Initially, the hotel seemed quite nice, modern and clean with friendly staff. The room was spacious and had comfortable beds, however the walls were very thin and you can hear everything from the hall as if it is next to you. Next to this the heating, although it said was on a normal temperature was stuck on 32 degrees (we found this out after the first night of little sleep). The staff sent and engineer up the second night and we thought all would be sorted as he said he fixed it, but alas it was still 32 degrees. Our final night we were moved to a room that was supposed to be cooler but I reckon it was still above 25 degrees.
Next to the room, the breakfast was poor, there was no fruit to be seen or anything healthy; cakes, croissants covered in sugar and filled with custard or jam, stale bread, cereal, some yogurt, some meat and cheese.. I was rather unimpressed and felt quite ill on the second day from it.

Finally, it is rather far out from the city but we found this not to be too much of an issue, there are regular buses around the corner which also go into night buses and the staff kindly market the stops on a map for us. The buses took anywhere from 30 - 45 minutes depending on the time of day and area you are travelling to, and we never bought a ticket (no one else seemed to and it worked out fine). We had to take a taxi on the last afternoon back to the hotel which cost us just under 20 euros, so all in all it was no too much of a bother.

Overall, it was a decent first experience with a Groupon deal, the hotel was alright, but the heating and the breakfast let them down a lot for me and I will not go back on my next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimee_KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Returned early this morning from a 4 day break in Rome with sister, brother and niece. At first I was a bit worried about some of the reviews with regards to distance of hotel, the rooms & breakfast. I decided to go expecting the worst hence I was pleasantly surprise by what we found.
Firstly, the hotel is a trek from the centre of Rome but if you love finding your way around on public transport, you will love this hotel because there is a wide choice of buses & metro you can use. We purchased a B.T.I (integrated tourist ticket) for €16.50, which allowed you to jump on and off all public transport for three days. There are other ticket options available depending how long your stay is. If you don't have transfers to hotel & don't want to get taxi, you can get an airport shuttle to Center of Rome for €4, then get metro or bus to your hotel. Very easy to use, just like London underground, just keep an eye on your bags, especially on the blue B line.
Our room was on fourth floor facing court yard & pool with lovely tree views. The rooms were of reasonable size, very clean & had really comfortable beds which were a God send when you get back from all day sight seeing. Word of advice, make sure you have comfortable shoes. Bathrooms were a bit on the small size, but again very clean & fit for purpose.
Breakfast is what you expect from continental, I enjoyed it, although pastries are probably not good if your watching weight (tasted very nice though). You could opt for bacon, sausage & eggs at a cost.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. On our last day after we checked out we left our hand luggage at hotel so that we could enjoy our last day of sight seeing before our evening flight home.
Don't be put off by bad review, this was a very enjoyable stay for all of us.
Lastly, was worried about time of year we was going because I thought it was going to be really cold, but it wasn't too bad, just make sure your all wrapped up. The bonus for traveling to Rome this time of the year is that you don't spend half your time queuing to get into attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angella-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean and modern. The only problem is that it's a little too far out from the city of Rome itself. We managed it though and didn't mind too much as we like walking, but when I go to Rome again I will definitely pick a hotel that's more central as it would take us at least 45mins to get where we were going. We only stayed for 2 nights and used to walk from the hotel to the train station in the mornings (I understand you can catch a bus, but we preferred to walk) and catch a train and then metro to wherever we wanted to go in Rome. Because of the distance there was no point in returning to the hotel later on so we stayed out, but it would have been nice to go back to our hotel, get changed and then go out for the evening, but this of course wasn't really possible. We ate in the restaurant on our 1st night and the food was very nice and service very good. The breakfast was ok, a mix of continental and cakes, doughnuts etc as well as cereals, juices, tea & coffee. If you like your English breakfast you won't get one here! The room we had was at the far end of a corridor, very nice, big, comfortable and modern room with modern bathroom and everything you needed, very nice. Only problem was getting woken by the cleaners talking in the corridor and dragging their mop buckets between 6-7am in the morning which I didn't think was on, but apart from that the room was great. Overall, a good budget hotel, but as I said, when I return I will pick a hotel that is central as it saves so much time and money in the long run.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a good hotel, clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. The staff are helpful and pleasant. Breakfast is average. The downside is it's location, it is quite a way away from the city centre. On arrival at the train station we took a taxi as we didn't know where to catch the bus. The ride cost 47 euros. It is easy to get back into the city as the bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel, but the journey back in rush hour was a nightmare as we missed the stop to get off, (get off outside the catholic university, it's a five minute walk). Once you know how to find it it is easy, and the bus ride is only 1.5 euros.
If I returned to Rome, I would be happy to use this hotel again, it's tucked down a side road, with poor signage, but having got over the difficulties in locating it, I would recommend it for a budget stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraftterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Despite being a little far out from the city centre, overall this was a nice place to stay. Our room at the back of the hotel had lovely views. Room itself was simple but perfectly alright, especially for the price. Staff were friendly and helpful. When we come to Rome again we will probably stay somewhere a bit more central but it really isn't too bad taking nearby buses to the city's major attractions. So, if the price is right I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#434 of 1,291 in Rome
615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#441 of 1,291 in Rome
927 reviews
3.4 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#605 of 1,291 in Rome
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#358 of 1,291 in Rome
614 reviews
3.0 mi away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#431 of 1,291 in Rome
572 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#520 of 1,291 in Rome
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Montemario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Property: Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Address: Via Degli Scolopi 31, 00135 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Rome
#294 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Montemario 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Montemario is located in a peaceful district surrounded by the green, short distance from the Olympic Stadium, the Flaminio Stadium and 5km from Saint Peter Basilica. The perfect choice for those in town on business or leisure, the hotel is near local bus stop and is half hour from Rome downtown. All the rooms have natural light and are provided with bath with shower, hairdryer, tv and wifi. Our Resort offers an outdoor pool opened from June to August, tennis and beach volley courts, sauna, sporting club and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Montemario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excel Roma Montemario Hotel Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing