We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do NOT stay in this terrible hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Ranked #646 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay in this terrible hotel!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The only star I give this hotel is because of the renovated rooms. First, if you are looking to stay close to the touristic attractions this place is out of the way (about a 20 min taxi ride). Staff is extremely rude, dismissive and unhelpful...they can care less about you, after all you are just another foreigner tourist.
Our bathroom sink was clogged and did not drain the water, and the shower had only 2 temperatures, freezing or scolding hot.
When we arrived we wanted to enjoy the pretty pool, so we went down to the pool area only to find out we could not swim unless we rented a £5 swimming cap. Towels were also for rent for £3. Nowhere on the hotel site was that listed, and when I complained on the front desk they did not care or offered me an alternative, just shrugged.
I will not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel, neither will we come back.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    363
    254
    159
    111
See reviews for
236
355
62
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a week in this Hotel in 2011. I find the location very good to active people who want to stay a lot in the city. The transport is very good at day with more buses takes ca. 20 near to the Vatican or the metro. Night is harder but with taxi you can go down to the nightbus-station so not so bad at all.
The personal were friendly and helpful, only negative what i found, that the nightshift was always worse in english:)
Ther room was beautiful, modern, the air-conditioning worked well, the garden was beautiful also.
The breakfast was fine, i was always full, and the tiramisu they have made one morning was one of the best i have ever eaten:)
We had only one problem, with the Bathroom. The last few days smelled the bathroom like sewer, and we asked for cleaning but it helped only a little.

Summary: I think Rome is a must-see-city (more times) and when you go there Excel Roma Montemario is a very good Hotel for a reasonable amount of money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_Shoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Good points. ..
Very nice hotel! It has everything u need for your stay in Italy. It has great views and is well presented as u approach it through the front gateway.
The staff were all very friendly, professional helpful.
Food was also very good, to a high standard and arrived at the table very promptly.
Room was comfortable and clean though in need of updating.
Not good points...
only one not so good point was that rooms are not very sound proof, so anyone in the corridor could b be heard clearly but apart from that... Great Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed in the Excel Roma Montemario with a friend for 4 nights early June.
I read all the reviews prior to our trip so I knew in advance this hotel is not in the city center. It is definitely not in walking distance but there is a bus right outside the hotel road, 5 minutes walk from the hotel that passes every few minutes to take you to the city center and from there we took an additional connecting bus to our destination.
The bus ride to the city center takes about 25 minutes in the morning traffic, we used the 907 line that enables to buy tickets on the bus and the 911 line.
Make sure to buy bus tickets in advance at the tobacco and newsletter stands as you can't buy a ticket on the bus in Rome except for the 907 line.
A taxi from the city center will cost about 15-17 Euro depending on the traffic.
The hotel's staff is nice and helpful, they will give you directions how to get to anywhere you want to go and provide you with a city map.
There are quite a few stairs to lead you from the courtyard to the hotel lobby and the incline to assist you from lifting your suitcase is so tilted that I preferred to lift my suitcase as any other option seemed a bit dangerous and not very user friendly.
The continental breakfast buffet is not a hit, but it's average, bread rolls, cold cuts, cheese, jam, yogurt, cereal and terrible coffee... Good thing we were in Rome so started the day at a coffee shop each morning.
The rooms are clean and comfortable but the shower is extremely small so if you are a large person you will have a problem to fit in.
As the hotel is not in the city center it was nice and quiet and we were able to get a good night sleep with the window open to get fresh air inside.
Wifi is available but it's not that good so you can use WhatsApp Messenge or Skype but we were not able to download pictures or send out any.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel if you're the type of person that needs a rest in the middle of the day and must come back to the hotel, it's fine and good value for money for those going into the city center in the morning and returning to the hotel in the evening.

Room Tip: If you are a large person try to ask in advance if they have a room with a adequate shower size othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel has excellent service with all the staff being happy to help with any issues.
There's only really one Italian restaurant locally which is nice but means you don't have a big choice unless you go into Rome which is between 40-60 minutes journey. The travel is cheap so if you don't mind the commute its not an issue. I was on the top floor which must house the cheaper rooms. The double bed was two singles put together with one mattress overhanging the bed. The lock on the door didn't really work and we had to be ultra careful about how we opened it or a lock would jam. The toilet once flushed would leak from the system above and spray water on you. The shower door didn't close properly and the fridge for the mini bar was pointless as it wasn't cold at all. They did come in every day to make the beds and provide new towels. Big disappointing factor about the hotel is the pool which looks lovely but you can only go in if you agree to wear a swim hat male or female, this is advertised nowhere. Trying to sleep, got woken to days in a row at 7 by the gentleman next door making breakfast arrangements on the phone provided. So the walls are thin and you can hear most conversation. The mattresses are ok but a little on the hard side. Breakfast was nice with a selection of croissants and cake type things. Can't comment on the gym as I never used it. Wouldn't recommend the hotels restaurant foods ok but takes ages and they on two nights tried giving us someone else's food. Also this review is only really for the cheaper rooms other rooms may have been nicer. But I do think 4 stars is a stretch. If your looking for somewhere cheap but not to far from its ideal. If you want to stay at the hotel no entertainment is really provided no real bar no pool table darts or anywhere to chill in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby,UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

There is another review,by Emmacabs of Glasgow, whose stay must have overlapped with ours as we agree with almost everything in her review.
We stayed for 2 nights in mid May prior to going on a cruise.This hotel was booked by the cruise agent and we were told it was city centre! Fat chance.
In its own blurb the hotel claims to be 8km from the centre and 5 mins from a bus stop.It is nearer 10 mins to the bus and you need a ticket before getting on(from a kiosk 30 yards away except they had run out!).So you chance it with no ticket or wait for the on bus on which you can pay cash.Our full day there was a sunday so restricted services applied.Work it out --10 mins walk to bus stop;wait for bus;bus trip to terminus (near Vatican Museum)25 mins ;walk to Metro and then to Centre.You are lucky if the total is less than an hour.
In daylight the hotel looks good externally but it is down a narrow dingy ill lit road which felt unsafe in the dark.
The hotel corridors were wood and the floors in the rooms hard tiled so this created a lot of noise(think Italians;they do make a lot).Our next door neighbours were night owls ie back in at 1.30am and then you had clump clump of high heels on tiles and then TV full blast.Quiet it was not.Our room on the second floor was very small with 2 single beds in a L shape .The shower cubicle was extremely small--easier to coat it with soap and spin round against it than try and wash normally.
Breakfast was a joke.Allegedly served until 10am but our first morning we turned up at 9.35.
95% of tables had dirty crockery on them; no plates for fruit;no bowls for cereals;no milk;stale bread rolls.No service except"in a minute".The second morning was marginally better.
On the plus side our encounters with reception staff found them very helpful.
There were 2 restaurants about a quarter of a mile away plus a McDonalds and another good local restaurant another 200 yards beyond.None of them a rip off as you can encounter down town.
Would I go back?Not a chance.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#464 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#460 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
3.4 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#633 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#386 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#489 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.0 mi away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#417 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Montemario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Property: Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Address: Via Degli Scolopi 31, 00135 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Rome
#299 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Montemario 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Montemario is located in a peaceful district surrounded by the green, short distance from the Olympic Stadium, the Flaminio Stadium and 5km from Saint Peter Basilica. The perfect choice for those in town on business or leisure, the hotel is near local bus stop and is half hour from Rome downtown. All the rooms have natural light and are provided with bath with shower, hairdryer, tv and wifi. Our Resort offers an outdoor pool opened from June to August, tennis and beach volley courts, sauna, sporting club and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Montemario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excel Roma Montemario Hotel Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing