We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ancient Trastevere Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rome
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Lungara(Rome)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Residenza In Farnese(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sanzio(Rome)
View Hotel
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
34
13
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
13
5
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 55 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I have no idea why this B&B is rated so well by so many people. Pictures posted on the website are beautiful but not very representative of the hotel itself, which is old, hot and in a location that is not very accessible.

(1) The Room Itself
There is one fan for the whole room, which spans 2 floors. The fan is old and does not provide much ventilation. Everything looks rather old and dirty. Lots of wardrobes, etc to store things. Beds can be comfortable if not for the fact that it gets hot and stuffy with only one fan. The shower is painful and dirty for people above 1.6 m tall. Be prepared to bend forward while showering or your head will hit the wooden beams on the ceiling, which looks mouldy. The bathtub does not look very clean.

(2) The Location
Nearest bus stop is 600 m away, which may not seem very much, but when you're pulling your luggage over those cobblestones it seems like a major hassle. It is not intuitive to get to the B&B from the nearest tram stop, which is 900 m away. Bright side is that there are some nice things to eat nearby.

(3) Service
The owner replies to emails promptly and provides good service. She is quite flexible. However, not enough soap was provided for us.

Overall
This hotel is alright if you are short and you go to Rome at a cooler time of the year. If you travel light it's fine as well. But overall I would say it's not as charming as the website makes it sound. It's rather old and needs some maintenance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FireRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We've stayed in this B&B for 5 nights in May 2010.

The Room
The room is devided in a living area downstairs, with the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The bedroom is very romantic and confortable. The bathroom is small and unless you're shorther than 1,50M, you won't be able to take a shower while standing. For us it is not an issue as we just take a bath or take a shower sitting down, but it is something to keep in mind. I mean, I would not recommend my parents this B&B for that reason.

The Location
The B&B is located superbly. Just 2 minutes and you're surrounded by tons of little restaurants with nice food for good prices and shops. All the great attractions in Rome are within walking distance.. Well, we did everything by foot and I thing we walked about 10-15 KM a day.

The service provided is simple. The owner waits for your arrival and shows you around. She has a print of nice little restaurants in the area which she will provide.
The room did not get cleaned during our stay. For a couple of new towels, just ask the owner.
The breakfast is very basic and there are no fresh items. 1 croissant and 2 biscuits and only sweets to put on top of that. If you are not really into sweets in the morning, like us, this might be a problem. Milk and orange juice are in the fridge and the coffeemachine is also for your use. The coffee is not really hot, so drink fast ;)

Conclusion
I would definitely recommend this B&B for those of you who care about location an value for your money. If we ever go back to Rome I would like to go here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaikelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

An absolute gem in the Giancolo area. Am almost afraid to recommend it as I don't want it to be fully booked in the future - to allow me to return myself.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La_giaconda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This charming little B&B is certainly worth all of it's value. A little hard to find, since there is no sign on the street. But as soon as you find it it fills all the hopes we had.
The bed is comfortable, the owner Elisabetta is lovely and the location is splendid. I lived in Rome for a year earlier and if you want to stay in the most charming part of this city, this part of Trastevere is perfect. Close to everything around Santa Maria in Trastevere and Trilussa, Ponte Sisto, the cozy neighbourhood and small streets, the Gianicolo hill. And only ten minutes walk from either the Vatican, Piazza Venezia, Campo Dei Fiori and Pantheon.

The only complaint we had was the bathroom. Or the bath tub, to be moore specific. Niether one of us are especially tall, but it was impossible to stand up when we took a shower. The cieling is so low that it makes it impossible. But that was the only thing that brought down our score on this place. That and that it maybe the walls to the owners appartment are a little bit thin.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We spent 5 nights here in April and absolutely loved it! The apartment was spacious, charming and in an amazing location. The bed was quite possibly the most comfortable and largest bed we have ever slept in…and the shower perhaps the most quirky!

We were able to walk to almost anywhere within half an hour and found great places to eat every night in Trastevere which is a 2 minute walk along cobbled streets.

We enjoyed the freedom of making our own breakfast in the morning and popping back for a coffee if we found ourselves in the area during the day.

It was a truly unique place to stay in an amazing city – such a treat to be able to stay in such a great place at such a great price. We will most definitely be recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalierankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews