We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Silla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silla
Ranked #528 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Had a great time in Rome, and the hotel was kind, friendly, clean and above all expectations! The pastry shop on the ground floor was amazing! The beds were nice and firm, The shower was top notch,
We arrived late with two tired babies and and cranky teenager, but were treated like royalty all through the three night stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmamaMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    61
    27
    3
    7
See reviews for
38
45
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Would highly reccommend stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed it. Well run clean and friendly staff. A great location for sightseeing. only negative was having to pay for air con!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I was desperate in my last minute search for a hotel in Rome and stumbled upon Hotel Silla. Upon reading the reviews, I thought I'd give it a shot.

We stayed in Hotel Silla for 6 nights and it was good! The room may be small and no breakfast was included in the price. But it located in a good and safe neighbourhood with lots of nearby cafes and restaurants. It was also a stone's throw away from the Metro and a 5 min walk to the Vatican City. The hotel was clean and we totally enjoyed our stay there. There was a patisserie just down below and we woke up every morning to the lovely smell of whatever they were baking downstairs!

I give it top marks for location too!

Just a little note. If you need air-conditioning, you'll have to pay extra. The show area is really, really tiny, so not advisable if you are really huge. It can be a little noisy if you have rooms facing the courtyard cos the patisserie opens quite early.

There's free wifi but can be a little dodgy. Other than that, it was great!

The hotel recommended us a typical roman trattoria just down the road called Ragno D'oro. It serves amazing local, homecooked dishes. And we reckon the food's really good cos it was packed EVERY NIGHT with locals! We went back there almost every day of our stay in Rome! Good recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mopeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have just stayed in Hotel Silla for 9 days and really enjoyed our time there. The staff were very helpful and friendly - Stefano on reception was very welcoming, gave useful
advice and we were grateful his English was so good as our Italian was very limited!
Ottaviano metro was very close to the hotel - just around the corner and so we could get into the centre of town in about 15 minutes. There were also cafes, restaurants and wine bars a few minutes walk away. There was a bakery sharing a courtyard with the hotel so I especially liked the lovely aroma of freshly baked pastries in the mornings!


away for breakfast

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyandRichard_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My family and I were in Rome for a relative's wedding in the Vatican, and Hotel Silla is in a great location for that. Besides the wedding, we also visited the Vatican twice (once for the museum and the Sistine Chapel, and the second time to visit St. Peter's Basilica). Hotel Silla is within walking distance of the Vatican, and it only took us about 10 minutes or so to get there.

Our room itself was pretty basic. You have to pay extra to get the remote control to turn on your air-conditioning, the shower is really small, the towels are as thin as sheets, and the bed is very hard (not a bad thing necessarily if you have a bad back like me. Most people wouldn't find the beds comfortable, though). The walls are super thin, so just keep that in mind, especially if you have family staying in adjacent rooms (you can hear each other coughing, and you could probably make out what they're saying if you tried hard enough). People in other rooms get upset if you knock on another room's door more than once because they can hear everything!

The room was pretty clean, though, and the staff was fairly friendly. In Rome, you'll probably be out all day sightseeing, so you're not in your room that much, anyway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatorTravels1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Silla in May 2010 and found it to be delightful. The host at the reception desk, Stefano, was kind, helpful, and spoke very good English. The room and bathroom are small, clean, and quaint. We could order cafe any time of day from the reception desk. The neighborhood is lovely and the hotel is right next to an Internet Cafe, which is very convenient. It is also very close to the subway, several good restaurants, an old cinema, and the Vatican--all within a short walk! We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Silla and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marysoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2010

See title. Booked hotel as part of a Delta Airlines package. Room was basic and fairly small, same for bath. Good reading lights, uncommon. Location superb, 100 metres from metro and numerous buses, close to Vatican. Iphone reception marginal. Considerate and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Il Gattopardo Relais
Il Gattopardo Relais
#756 of 1,259 in Rome
108 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#550 of 1,259 in Rome
228 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#503 of 1,259 in Rome
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Flower
#742 of 1,259 in Rome
27 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#354 of 1,259 in Rome
315 reviews
Prati
Marvi Hotel Rome
Marvi Hotel Rome
#883 of 1,259 in Rome
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silla

Property: Hotel Silla
Address: Via Silla 3, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#316 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silla 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Silla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing