We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character and an excellent nights sleep”
Review of Hotel Boccaccio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boccaccio
Ranked #610 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is one of those hotels which is on a floor of a large grand old roman building. It's on the first floor and there is a lift. There's a beautiful central garden and all the ceilings are massively high. Buckets of character, feels welcoming and safe and it's on a nice street in a great area, lots of restaurants nearby and not far to walk to everything you want to see in Rome. The only downside is the shared bathrooms could do with a bit of a face lift. I liked that dressing gowns were provided from getting to the bathroom though, nice touch. Warm welcome from Patty who runs it. I loved it here, despite the bathrooms and slept like a log - dark and quiet rooms!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Medicdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelboccaccio1, Proprietario at Hotel Boccaccio, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

I think your description is not correct as regards the bathrooms, because it have been restored 3 years ago. I hope see you again, grazie e arrivederci
patty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boccaccio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 132 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

The owner was very kind,,, these rooms are small,,, but affordable especially if you phone direct and reserve then pay cash. The location is great near Trevi Fountain, the Spanish steps , the Barberini metro station. The owner provides you with everything you need tips as to where to go ect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early October of this year, and though it's called a hotel, Patty - the owner, made our time there more like staying in the home of an Aunt, or friend of a friend. The location is great for access by foot to the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, as well as the Barberini metro station. Can't say enough about Patty's gracious manner, and her willingness to map out directions, suggest restuarants, and to even arrange cab/shuttle picks ups when needed. She even told us estimated cab fares, so we were well informed when an unscrupulous driver tried to overcharge us on our last ride from her location to the train station. If we're ever in Rome again, I can't wait to see Patty's smiling face when we check in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank West_on_40th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hi everyone,
I just returned from a few night at the Boccaccio. Its my third visit spaced between many years, and it was, once again a very nice experience. You can't beat the location: a quiet small street right in the centre of the city, thankfully, a fraction off the beaten path.You can't beat the affordability of the rooms (in an expensive to stay city), and the bath and share areas– spotless and homey. Perfect for the solo traveler, day and night.
Patty, the proprietress was as helpful and nice as ever. With the transition to an "eco-hotel", the stay was actually more comfortable: with nicer towels, soaps and other more hotel-y details.
This is always my first choice in Rome, I hope only that the prices stay affordable so that i can continue to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simone65l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Boccacio from the 20th to the 25th of September 2012 and I wasn’t expecting to have such an amazing time. The owner, Patty, was lovely towards me. She provided me with everything I needed to have the best holidays ever. My room was very clean, tidy & comfortable. The location is the best, it is just 3 minutes walking distance from Fontana di Trevi and 2 minutes from Barberini metro station. I shared the toilet with other customers, which for me was not an inconvenient at all as was clean and with a nice smell and the pressure of the shower was good. I will definitely come back there next time Patty! Tante grazie for your hospitality! Nice to meet such a nice people like you, ci vediamo presto! :) Lorena

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pupi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The owner, Patty, is very sweet and helpful. She helped book a shuttle for me to get to the airport at 5am to make my early flight. The room was small, but just fine for a single traveler. No air conditioning, though there is a fan in the room, but it can be a bit noisy. Had a shared bathroom, but never ran into any problems since I was taking my showers very early in the morning. There is no housekeeping available, so if you plan to stay long, you may want to bring your own towels. The hotel was a bit hard to find from the street. It's by the corner of Via del Boccaccio and Via Rasella. It's just a 4 minute walk from the Fontana di Trevi, and very close to the Spanish Steps as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaleena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed two nights in this little Hotel near the Fontana di Trevi (3 Minutes to walk). The room was nice, clean, comfortable and quiet. You can reach very easy all the important sights in the center of Rome. The owner Patrizia is a very friendly italian Lady who helps you with everything.
Please note that in the summertime it can be very hot in Rome, our room was without air con but with an ventilator.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lella1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#387 of 1,267 in Rome
135 reviews
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#670 of 1,267 in Rome
72 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#333 of 1,267 in Rome
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#505 of 1,267 in Rome
271 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Cinquantatre
Hotel Cinquantatre
#466 of 1,267 in Rome
402 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#157 of 1,267 in Rome
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boccaccio

Address: 1 Piano Via del Boccaccio 25, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #610 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $85 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Boccaccio 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and confortable hotel in the center of Roma is member of EcoWorldHotel, the first Group of environmentally-friendly hotels in Italy to adopt a unique and innovative philosophy in a new project aimed at safeguarding the environment. It is located in a quiet alley at the foot of via Veneto (dolce vita) in a charming historical building. The spanish steps, the trevi fountain, and pantheon can all be easily reached on foot. Therefore, when you stay at an EcoWorldHotel, you are making a responsible lifestyle choice in safeguarding the environment, even while you are on holiday. You get into the first floor of the building with a small elevator or through comfortable stairs and you can enjoy a calm and quiet Rome from an internal balcony of the flat. the peculiarity of the rooms are the very high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Boccaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boccaccio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing