We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
All Comfort Astoria Palace
Ranked #1,792 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

After searching high and low for a reasonable hotel near the city center, we came across the All Comfort Astoria Palace. What a great find! The hotel was beautiful and our room was ready for us much earlier than their check-in time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is also very conveniently located - less than 2 minutes walk from the nearest Metro station. Our room also had a computer and free high-speed internet - very convenient.

We only had one problem: The day we left, we had to catch a train to the airport for a VERY early flight (6:35 am). The Metro doesn't start to run until 5:30 and you can't call much in advance to book a taxi, and they only offer their private "limo" taxi to/from the airport. While it was manageable, it was a bit inconvenient.

  • Liked — Excellent value
  • Disliked — When the Metro isn't running, it's a bit far out
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank straberryfreckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
11
34
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

Based on the negatives of the other two reviews I see I can only assume there is new management in place because this was a wonderful experience. The "all-girl" crew was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make myself and daughters feel welcome. Rooms are VERY clean. AC is VERY cold. The neighborhood is relatively quiet (can't avoid siren's given the proximity of major hospitals in the area). The Metro is around the corner from the front door and with a bit of light exploration the food choices are very good. ATM across the street (near Blockbuster) and a PAM (grocers) within 5 blocks. Breakfast is a little tedious past the first day since it's the same meal every time, but all in all I'll be staying here again and appreciating my good fortune in finding this establishment. If you have the chance book the Venere suite as it incudes 24-7 access to a very nice patio.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lostyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2005

DO NOT STAY HERE! I booked the Luna room, paid my deposit and even emailed the owner a few days beforehand. Arrived at 1200 noon to find that they had sold my room to someone else and wanted to charge me 110 euros per night for another room. When I said that this was not on, the owner was extremely aggressive and intimidating and put my suitcase outside the hotel. He said that he didn't want me to stay in his hotel. After an argument he threw my deposit back at me and said I would be back as I wouldn't be able to find another hotel for 110 euros. I was very upset and left in tears. I spent the rest of the day (6 hours) trawling Rome and eventually ended up staying at with the Youth Hostel International Association (for 21 euros per night). However, the Astoria had kept my passport and I had to make the bus/metro journey back late at night to pick up my passport as they failed to fax a copy through to the Youth Hostel so that I could get checked in. I was travelling alone and find their behaviour appalling. Extremely prompt at putting my suitcase outside - not so in returning, or faxing through a copy of, my passport. Also, the hotel does not have the facilities it advertises. For example, there is no safety deposit box, fridge or internet access! REPEAT - DO NOT STAY HERE!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, UK
Level Contributor
262 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2005

The hotel is situated on the 4th floor of a building which has other offices in it. There is a nice old fashioned lift which takes you to the top floor. I am glad I booked this hotel because given the price and location it is a true find. I will admit that it is not in Centro Storico but having seen the quality of hotels in that area especially the noise, then I have no regrets. The good thing is that the hotel is situated practically in front of the hotel which is ideal for accessibility. The coach from the airport dropped me at Termini and from there it was two stops to the hotel, no dragging my luggage through the busy streets of Rome - Perfect. I stayed in the Luna suite which was tastefully decorated and very clean. My room was the only one without a en suite bathroom but it is only across the landing, literally four steps and was never used my anyone else. It was decorated in gold gilt and marble. It was truly a pleasure to shower in there. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, pre packed croissant, toast, butter & jams as well as yoghurt - enough to sustain you until lunch.

Positives - location, subway nearby, restaurant next door if you don't want to travel for dinner, coffee bar on the corner, VERY CLEAN and tastefully decorated hotel, air conditioning, nice view from the top of the building.

Negatives - They would not hold my luggage until my evening flight which I thought was a bit much considering I had just spent 5 days there, the safe key was not offered at check in and I only discovered the safe existed in my room on my last day, the tv channels are all in Italian. There was no internet access in my room although I didn't need it. Lastly, I did some shopping on my last day and came back to my room promptly at 11am (check out time) to find that they had already removed my bag and someone else was in my room. CHEEKY !!!

In spite of this I would recommend this hotel and would use their services again because at 55 euro's per night in Rome you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Onelifeliveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel
Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel
#410 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
San Lorenzo
BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel
Hotel Regina Margherita
#1,060 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Imperia Suite
Imperia Suite
#515 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Roma Room Hotel
#1,406 of 3,758 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
B&B De Blasio
#1,321 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to All Comfort Astoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All Comfort Astoria Palace

Property: All Comfort Astoria Palace
Address: Via Giovanni Maria Lancisi 31, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,792 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — All Comfort Astoria Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Comfort Astoria luxury suites is located on the top floor of a very elegant Palazzo, with access by elevator. The whole floor was totally renovated in January of 2004 and occupies 300 square meters of the building.There is a 360° view of Rome from our guest house, which is located in the centre of Rome, its main University 'La Sapienza' and the main line train station for Rome 'Termini'. We are easily accessible by Bus, Tram or Underground (line B Station Policlinico).We offer a true 'First Class' service to all our customers, with attention to every detail and all of your needs. Together with the elegant and ambient surroundings, we offer all the comforts of a Grand Hotel and more, with a price that will please..Our accommodations are not just rooms but elegant 'suites' all these suites have on-suite bathrooms, air conditioning, television, telephone, safe and mini-bar.Each suite also has Wireless connection , internet is free. .All our suites are Ideal for anyone visiting on business or pleasure.Included in the room price are the use of the air conditioning, message service, wake up calls, plus local telephone calls .. All our suites are non smoking, however we do allow smoking in certain designated areas.Circling the guest house are several sun terraces (200 square meters) were you can enjoy our hospitality and socialise with other guests.For the perfect start to your day Breakfast can be served either in our dining room or on the terrace in the sun with fantastic views of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your All Comfort Astoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Comfort Astoria Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing