We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in a hot, busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Giovy
Ranked #2,139 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I would thoroughly recommend staying at this B&B. The location is very convenient to the main station and bus station. It was also great to be able to walk to some of the key sights, plus there are heaps of declicious restaurants close by.

You really do benefit from the hostess with the mostest - so warm, friendly and welcoming which makes a huge different.

Our room was a very good size with a balcony (there is only one balcony I believe so make sure you request this). The air conditioning was very efficient which was a must and it was great to have a fridge to keep your drinks cool. The bathroom is very small and a bit claustrophobic which is my only complaint. Having said that, the shower was great.

It isn't cheap but by Rome's standards is very reasonable.

The court yard is very pretty and shaded too.

Let me know if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starshaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Breakfast Giovy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 372 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2009

We booked our room in B&B Giovy based on all the positive reviews here on the TripAdvisor and Hostelworld websites and we weren't disappointed.

The best thing about B&B Giovy is it's host, Giovanna. She's kind, funny and very caring. Upon our arrival, she sat down with us for over half an hour to show us on a map all the places in Rome: what to see, where to eat and what bus/metro would takes us there. It was very helpful and a great introduction to this hectic city.

The location of Giovanna's bed & breakfast is great - only a few streets away from Termini Station and yet in area that doesn't feel as dodgy as some of the other streets around the station do. Being close to Termini automatically means being close to the most important public transport hub in Rome and easy access to the different part of the city. On foot, you'll reach the Colosseum and the Roman Forum in about 15 minutes.

The breakfast Giovanna made us was great - it was tasty and it was a lot. One day we got up really early to beat the lines at the Vatican Museums. Giovanna prepared our breakfast the night before so we could take it with us. Very sweet.

The rooms in B&B Giovy are spacious and most importantly, they are clean. There's a hot shower, a comfortable matras and good pillows to fall asleep on after a long, hot day of exploring Rome.

Staying at Giovanna's place really helped make our visit to Rome an enjoyable and rememberable experience. If we ever go back, we'll be sure to book our room at B&B Giovy again. Thanks Giovanna!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joppe84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed at B&B Giovy for four nights (May9th to May 12th and on May 16th). This was our first time in a B&B. But, our very first meeting with Giovy allayed all our fears. She is very warm and treats her guests like they are part of her family. She recommended a restaurant (Angelo) and a gelataria (L'orso Bianco) for the first night. We went to both of them and loved them.

The room were very well maintained. The bathrooms could be a bit bigger, but for the value and the location, it is hardly something to complain about. There is free wifi available in the rooms. (We did not find this in many of the other big brand name hotels in Italy !).

The breakfast is good and fills you up before you set out for your busy day. It is a good time meet up with the other guests as well.

The location is very convenient in that it is close to Termini. Lots of restaurants/shops/internet points etc around the place. Most of the days, we returned to the B&B close to midnight, but we did not feel unsafe since there always seemed to be a bustle of activity.

On our last night, we arrived at around 9 in the night and were to leave at 4:30 in the morning to catch our flight. Giovy prepared dinner and breakfast for us. She called up the cab people and in a torrent of Italian, negotiated a good rate (40 euros instead of 50) for the ride to airport. Oh yeah, she also gave us a couple of gifts.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n2c2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

When we arrived and asked for our room Giovanna, her neice could not find our reservation (confirmed) from four months ago. When Giovanna arrived, we were told that we were being put in another hotel that her sister owns. This hotel was much smaller and was not what we had booked. The bathroom was 4 feet by 5 feet (which includes shower, toilet and sink) and had no shower curtain so everything gets wet when it's that small. There was nothing that we could do and at the last minute would be impossible to find another hotel (which they are totaly aware of) at a reasonable rate. They do this in order to completely book their hotels without empty days. All of the other places that we stayed at in Europe on this vacation were great and exactly as described. This really started our vacation in Rome as a bad note and it was hard to make it a good experience. This area is also very dirty and seen several dicarded condoms on the street. Stay a little futher northwest of this area as it is much cleaner and has better restaurants there for the same price. STAY ELSEWHERE!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaSnowdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My friend and I stayed at this B and B for two nights in May and we only wished we could have stayed longer!! The owner, Giovanna, made us feel so welcome by offering us drinks and croissants on arrival. She even gave us maps and guidebooks to take with us and was there 24/7 if we ever needed her!

I've never stayed in a B and B on holiday before but after stayng at Giovy, I'll definitely skip hotels from now on!! The service was so personal and we really felt like part of her home!

The room was a very good size and extremely clean and tidy! Breakfast was also very nice!

The B and B is very close to the train station with easy access to all the top tourist spots so please do consideer Giovy if you want a fabulous stay in Rome -at a very very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loobyloubuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

If you are looking for a place where you are treated like a king/queen, this is the place to go. Giovanna is the perfect host and treats you like family. She and her family have been doing this for about 20 years so you know they know how to do it right. Giovanna wants to make sure that your stay at her home is nothing less than perfect and she really takes pride in making her guests feel like they are one of her family. Giovanna is very helpful in providing information about anything - where to go for food, sightseeing, and will do whatever to help you out. She provided us with a nice sightseeing route given the one day we had to explore. The room is what you expect from a B&B - a place to stay with the amenities to get you through the day. If you are looking for a luxurious, lavish place to stay, then you may want to explore a hotel and its much higher prices. The place is about 2 blocks away from Rome's Termini station or you can just walk to the major sights as we did. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and will definitely hope to come again some day.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeddyKGB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed at Giovy for two nights in April 2009. Giovanna was an exceptional host. She and her small staff helped us get oriented in the city with a map, pointing us in the right direction to see the major sites of Rome. The room was clean and good sized with an attached bathroom. Location was awesome, only three blocks from the train station which made it an easy walk with luggage. The price of the room was great compared to other options we looked at in the same area. You can book online through various travel websites though these sites charge the B&B for their service and if you are interested in staying at Giovy, you would do your wallet a favor (and Giovanna's) by contacting her directly by email (giovanna.69@tiscali.it).

Giovanna was on her game in the morning, serving a breakfast of baked goods, fruit and coffee while chatting with guests. Such a beautiful and friendly person to start your day with. We were sad to leave but know we will return someday for a second visit!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PETERANGELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#378 of 1,267 in Rome
255 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#518 of 1,267 in Rome
533 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortorillo
Hotel Cortorillo
#1,131 of 1,267 in Rome
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enrica
Hotel Enrica
#2,377 of 3,709 in Rome
265 reviews
Esquilino
Matisse B&B
Matisse B&B
#1,653 of 3,709 in Rome
441 reviews
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#40 of 3,709 in Rome
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Giovy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Giovy

Address: Via Principe Amedeo, 85/a, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,139 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast Giovy 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Giovy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Giovy
Bed And Breakfast Giovy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing