We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Go In This Hotel!!!!”
Review of Antica Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antica Locanda
Ranked #504 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 27, 2008

The hotel staff notwithstanding. The owner’s father served a meager breakfast to our group, was very impolite to us and rushed us through it each day on the pretense of having many guests to feed. we were treated poorly (again) by staff and were placed in two older, run-down buildings, separate from the Antica Locanda Hotel. The rooms were filthy, the ceiling was falling apart in the bathroom, the toilet leaked and there were bugs all over the floor!!!

It was not the kind of departure from this picturesque city and country that our group wanted or anticipated.

the room have bugs and it is dirty and disgusting!!!!
plus
1.bathroom is in disrepair, sloppy repairs to wall (needs painting)
2. the bath light is hanging by it's wires, unsightly and dangerous.
3. bedside lamp is badly melted
4. toilet leaked, floor area unsightly, bugs everywhere. I was only able to photo 1 bug (blurry) because at 3am in the morning, we were in a hurry to go to the airport, and the bugs all scurried back into the wall cracks.

do not go at the hotel antica locanda in Rome...

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank marianne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2008

We loved this hotel. It was quiet, charming, and quaint. Not extravagant, but clean and located conveniently for walking to the Colosseum, Forum, and not too far from the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, and other sights. Breakfast was nothing special, but we enjoyed the quiet ambiance of their little cafe. Bathroom was very small, but clean and very functional. We loved that the place was small and quiet - the entrance to our room was on a tiny side street, which meant that there was almost no noise from cars. Would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreadnaught_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Don't be fooled by the website for this inn, there are so many better choices in Rome. I was shocked when we returned and looked up our room on their website - it is as if they went to great lengths to make it worse after the photo was taken! Room was miniscule (about 1 foot around the outside of the bed, that was it), and the bed was old, cheap, and covered in cigarette burned linens. The entire hotel reeks of smoke, as most places in Italy do, but it was really difficult, we had to leave the window open 24/7 even when though it was January and quite cold. The breakfast was not served every day and when it was, was horrid, bad coffee and pre-packaged croissants. Also beware of the hotel staff - they are only on duty sporadically (we got locked out several times), and when we asked for a taxi, we were charged double the going rate, they seem to have a scam going with a taxi company. At any rate, Rome is filled with wonderful little hotels, this one is just not worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

stayed three nights in this great B and B, we were housed a seperate apartment block just around the corner from the main reception, actually in a Roman apartment block, the room was spacious with a great tiled, arched ceiling, ensuite and fridge.The breakfast was a little disappointing but there are plenty of little pizza places around offering cheap and tasty snacks. Just five minutes from the coloseum and the main road where you can catch a bus to vatican city. had a brilliant time

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

As we were given a tour of this hotel four years ago and it was lovely and the staff extra friendly, we decided to stay there upon our return to Rome. In four years things had changed. Considerably.

The reception staff was moody and inconsistently helpful. The room was nothing like the pictures on the website or in the brochure. It was dated and tiny. Breakfast was not worth getting up for. Smoke wafted into our room up three flights of stairs and snoring could be heard through the walls as if we were in the same room as the people next door.

The room was clean and bed comfortable. The location is sensational. It's a charming neighborhood and you can walk everywhere. Price paid (approx 100 euros per night) seemed reasonable given the location but we will definitely stay elsewhere next time we are in Rome.

.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lilapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Antica Locanda is a small, moderately priced "bed & breakfast" hotel on a comparatively quiet street several blocks north of the Coliseum. Its strongest feature, in my experience, is the interior architectural details preserved in its renovation as a hotel (such as its tile and wood-beam ceilings). Under these charming ceilings, however, service proved to be less than gracious.
My room was quite clean, but very cramped even by European standards, with barely enough room to walk around the bed and the need to sit side-saddle on the loo. The wall-mounted A/C unit did not work properly, and the slide-door on the shower hung precariously off its top track.

More importantly, service was painfully mixed. Be forewarned:
although the owners are happy to take credit card authorization and indicate that credit cards will be charged for last-minute no-shows, they will accept ONLY CASH for the payment of the bill on the premises. Wording of terms on my booking documents indicated nothing about this and suggested that credit card payment would be possible. On the morning of my departure, with a train and a plane to catch, I was directed to a sign behind the reception counter that indicated cash payments only. I had not seen this previously, nor had I been advised of this critical (and unusual) detail. I pleaded for consideration given a tight travel schedule, but was told only that I should have gotten the required several hundred Euros from a cash station. Where? They said only "at the end of the street." After 15 minutes frantic search around the area and three inquiries en route, a bank cash station was found. I ended up missing the train to Fiumicino Airport, requiring a much more expensive taxi ride.

Be forewarned, too, about "breakfast" -- a meager "buffet" of rubbery bread slices, a bowl of corn flakes, a flask of juice, runny packaged peach preserves, and small mass pre-packaged objects vaguely resembling croissants. Something called "coffee" was available upon request, but this proved to be a bitter and undrinkable brew -- incredible in a city and country devoted to Coffee as High Art. I went elsewhere for breakfasts on subsequent days. FRESH pastry and superb cappucinos can be had for a mere 4 Euros at nearby caffes. There was no excuse for the stingy, inedible, and undrinkable fare at A.L.

Lastly, the owner had a noticeable habit of barking at customers -- about mistakenly double-locking the entry door, about where (or where NOT) to put a breakfast cup, or (to me) about the unyielding demand for cash payment of the bill balance (no matter how tight the customer's departure schedule or the fact that there was no clear forewarning of this expectation).

All in all, the quality of service and customer treatment was, in my experience, too stingy and ungracious to recommend Antica Locanda.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LinYutang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

I had a very good experience at the Antica Locanda. Even though we had to trek up 2 flights of stairs, they gave us a suite for the price of a regular double room. The continental breakfast will do enough until you're ready for lunch. The hostess and hotel employees are very nice. I still felt that $200 a night was more than this place was worth, but the location is great (close to the Coliseum and metro line). There is a small streetside restaurant just across Via Boschetto that is cheap, but delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#128 of 1,271 in Rome
1,129 reviews
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#310 of 1,271 in Rome
426 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#30 of 1,271 in Rome
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#152 of 1,271 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#567 of 1,271 in Rome
222 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda

Address: Via del Boschetto 84, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $84 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antica Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing