We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis close to the city of Rome”
Review of Black Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Hotel
Ranked #655 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An oasis close to the city of Rome”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have now stayed twice at The Black Hotel, on the outskirts of Rome and have not been disappointed.
The hotel is quirky but extremely elegant and well presented. The theme is Black and the décor reflects this. The rooms are comfortable and stylish and the en suite bathrooms clean and well equipped. There is a wonderful terrace where one can relax with a drink after a hectic day in Rome. The area is an oasis of calm. On our first stay we were awakened by a Gregorian chant from the convent in the woodland opposite! Very atmospheric.
The breakfasts are superb and set you up well for a day touring the sights. The hotel shuttle takes you to the nearest metro and then it is a short ride to the centre. All for E1 : 50. The Vatican and St Peter's are close by.
The staff are extremely helpful and bent over backwards to print out our Terra Vision(bus) tickets.
The prices are so much cheaper than in the centre- the rooms not so small and the environment calmer and cleaner. Travelling into the centre is only a minor inconvenience.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We always have a room facing the front of the hotel/ opposite the convent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    242
    202
    117
    104
See reviews for
137
362
35
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked a short break (3 nts) via a groupon deal-the hotel they had advertised did not have availability when we needed so we were offered The Black as an alternative. We read a few reviews which sounded OK and gave the 'ok' to this particular hotel to the weekender breaks company over the phone. After booking, I spend a long time reading everyone's reviews of this hotel and to be honest was dreading it based on many of the reviews.....however we were pleased so here is my description of a few points made in some of the other reviews.....Hotel and room was clean and tidy. Serviced daily with fresh towels as you would expect. Air con in room was 'on' yet it didn't seem to make any difference in our room so we ended up having the window open- air con was much better in the rest of the hotel but never icy cold like you get in some places - which personally I don't like anyway..There was a fridge in the room but no kettle/tea etc. Our bed was made up as a double when we arrived even though we had specified a twin - but staff were helpful and it was immediately resolved. Toilet seat was broke when I sat on it (it was already cracked and i'm only 9st so it's not because i was too heavy!!) but they fixed it straight away. Water in shower was plentiful and good temperature dial. The doors on the shower meant that if you were in there for some time or had the spray angled against the side of the door, water went outside the shower area - this wouldn't happen if you were careful - I wasn't and on one occasion flooded up to half way into the bathroom and took two towels to mop up! Other days was more careful and only ended up with half a wet shower mat outside the shower cubicle. Wardrobe had 5 hangers and two drawers. Rather annoying chain mail curtain over the front but I think this was part of the 'modern arty' design of the place. Breakfast - never ran out of food and staff were helpful when asked. Buffet style, 3 types of cereal, variety of yoghurt, fresh and tinned type fruits, cake and pastries, boiled eggs (cold), scrambled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, coffee, variety of teas and fruits juices. Adequate for us. Evening meal in the restaurant was lovely - simple but freshly made and tasty. Roughly 15 euros for a main, 6 for a side, 20 for a bottle of wine....
Pool was small but lovely, quiet and peaceful area with about 8 sun chairs, nice music playing and staff available to bring towels (we were not charged for these).
No gym or spa but massage was available if requested in your room. we paid 30 euros for an hours treatment.
Distance from centre was as others have said - this was more of an issue with cost of taxis etc. Free shuttle bus running in the mornings (last one 9.30) to Metro station from where tickets were 1.50 and also valid on buses. Do not use the hotel shuttle to the airport as it is 50 euros which is more than it would cost to get a taxi. 5 Minute walk from hotel down hill to Panorama supermarket which also has bus stops to get to Metro, Numbers 246/247(quickest into Rome on Metro rather than buses). Couple of stops on metro to Vatican city, longer into other parts. Metro is soooo much nicer than London underground - spacious and clean and easy to navigate even if you don't speak Italian. So, if you are happy to travel about half an hour by shuttle then metro or bus then metro into Rome this Hotel is fine. If you want to walk out of the hotel and be in the city centre then don't book this one. Staff were helpful, some very friendly, and overall we were pleased with our stay. In fact, the only 'rude and arrogant' staff we encountered on out entire trip were the Ryanair staff at Stansted - Italians are much friendlier - must be the sun! Anyway, so I guess yes you could say it's more of a 3 star than 4 but it certainly wasn't as terrible as some the reviews I read...hope that helps!!

Room Tip: We stayed on level 1 - that's what our reviews were based on. Pool is on level -1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wessals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Ether you love the hotel or hate it. As the name itself says, it is Black Hotel, simply because it is literally a black hotel. The exterior is painted black, and even the interior halls are black. The entire ambience of the hotels relies on the "black elegant" feel with some highlights of other colors used for furnitures. Some people may find this a bit too dark, but some may also find this blackness the attraction. The architecture is also unique. The shapes and designs are anything but ordinary. What brakes the black feel would be the rooms which are in plain white. Service is great. Staff feels warm and accommodating. Perhaps the only thing that can be criticized would be the lack of variety in their breakfast buffet and being a little far from the main road, in which some people might not be comfortable with the slightly uphill walk. Other than those, this is a great hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is Awsum! I like its theme and it's comfy ambiance. I had a few problems concerning service and it's location. It's a bit far and from downtown and since it's not one of those huge hotels which I usually don't like, the service is not always good as the staff disappear sometimes! However, the hotel is clean and tidy. It's a nice place to stay at :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdhamAdassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ok where do i start!!! Visit 10-15 april 2013
Upon booking the hotel i had read many reviews online. It was going to be a romantic joint birthday getaway for myself and partner. It offered massage, sauna, pool and gym facilities and it looked very stylish. Excellent!!
After booking i then found the trip advisor reviews. I felt slightly dishearted as it would be my other halves 30th! We decided to soldier on and go anyway.
So on arrival the hotel looks great, go to check in, receptionist was as described in previous reviews, she was rude and not very helpful, we were given our key, were not shown or told how to get to our room! Something we had to work out for ourselves.
When entering the room it was quite warm, so looking at the wall mounted aircon unit there was no way you could turn it off. Oh the room key card!! No explaination as to where the key goes, oh in the unit!! So i did this and the option then was off or 27c which had to be adjusted everytime you came in your room. :(
Bathroom clean, but shower seal had gone on the glass screen so water would go all over the floor when showering! Internet at the hotel could only be used in reception. I managed to pick up neighbouring hotels wifi.
Breakfast as described in previous reviews, limited and if you dont get up early, forget it!!
We were awoken several times by chambermaids one particular day 3 times and a call from reception. That was a passion killer thats for sure :(
The facilities hmmm no onsite massage, pool was closed and sauna and gym you were left to you own devices in what seemed like a dingy unused room!
Location was ok once you understood the buses. Metro quite far away :( but it gave us the opportunity to find some great authentic local foods. :)
Great supermarket nearby but with no footpaths walking to the shops or bus stops can become quite hazardous!! :(
Macdonalds close by but then at night turns into a prostitution point. :/
After reading the online negative reviews We tried to see beyond them but they were all right!
I can see this hotel was great once, not sure how it still holds its prestigious title. Its sad as you can see with the right management it would be a great place to stay.
Avoid if you can!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent trip to Rome. The hotel itself is quite clean and fairly quiet at night which was good for sleeping.
Biggest downside of our stay was that we encountered some extremely rude staff which seems to be a common complaint on the reviews. I'm finding it very difficult to understand why management has not addressed this problem as it comes up a lot. Of our five day stay we encountered only two staff members who were nice and that was on our last day. Our room was extremely stuffy and hot even though we had asked at reception to have our aircon turned down which is what their information booklet says to do. I would say this hotel is more of a three star than a four! Other than that it was a good hotel but there is a Holiday Inn and a Jolly Hotel in the same block. I would stay at one of these next time in hope of friendlier, more helpful staff and a room with proper temperature control.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiebeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandroupoli, Greece
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

i came with a friend we had good time in the lobby! Not ideal location and problem with transportation! nice breakfast and stuff!we had an unfixed problem with the a/c but the beds was soooooooooo comfortable !!!!!!!! value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank Regina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Midas
Hotel Midas
#575 of 1,256 in Rome
64 reviews
3.4 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
0.6 mi away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#407 of 1,256 in Rome
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Aurelia
Occidental Aurelia
#228 of 1,256 in Rome
1,062 reviews
6.1 mi away
All Time Relais & Sport Hotel
9.1 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#397 of 1,256 in Rome
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hotel

Property: Black Hotel
Address: Via Raffaello Sardiello 18 | Centre - Aurelio, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #655 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing