We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, you could find better value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vatican Suites Inn

Vatican Suites Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vatican Suites Inn
Ranked #720 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Stafford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average, you could find better value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2007

Stayed for 5 nights. Family of 4. We had a single room. 1 double and 2 single beds, 1 wardrobe and a broken set of chest of draws. No TV although there was tea/coffee facilities. The room was clean enough although beware of some sites selling rooms here as they say that payment is only required when you leave. In fact the owners took 25% up front on credit card and then we had to pay full in cash on arrival.

For one room with little facilities I thought this was expensive. We were charged 750 euros.

We were met by the owners on arrival for payment but then we never saw them again. We are pretty good independent travellers so that was not a problem but if you need help then this is not the place for you.

Location was great for the vatican, 5 mins walking.

Got to say guys I think for the price we paid and the facilities I think you can do better if you look around and book early enough.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value for money
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Threecandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

I had to leave writing this review for a few days so my simmering temper could neutralise!

Basically, I don't have many nice things to say about "Vatican Suites". It seems that there are three rooms there and I saw two of them. One was a small, double room with no 'suite' to speak of. My husband and I stayed in a large double room which also had two single beds. Again, it was not a 'suite'. I can only assume the third room was the two bedroom apartment that various other people have reviewed.

I found our double room through venere.com and we paid 105 euros per night for a 4 night stay. We'd arranged in advance with David to arrive at 5pm, however, we turned up at 3.30pm and it took about forty minutes to organise earlier access to our room. There is no reception so David meets you there to let you in. The buzzer for the apartment didn't work so we had to try and call him. The closest pay phone didn't accept coins or our credit card so it turned into a bit of drama. Anyway, this wasn't really David's fault so I'll move on.
Our first impression of the room was great. It is extremely close to the Vatican, restaurants and the Metro. After nearly a month travelling around Italy, we were pleasantly surprised at the large size of our room. It had a small fridge, a new bathroom and a double bed - not two singles pushed together! We happily paid David cash (except a 25% deposit which we'd previously paid on credit card) and he gave an excellent map and some suggestions for things to do in Rome.

Unfortunately, that was where our good impression of the room and of David finished...Our room was on the street and we were kept awake all night with street noise. The windows and shutters were so old that they didn't close properly. Although we were on the 2nd floor, we could hear everything from car alarms two blocks away to the details of conversations as people strolled past the building. My husband is a very heavy sleeper and even he was woken up constantly. The shutters were permanently fixed in an open position (no moveable horizontal slats) so they didn't cut much light out. Unfortunately, the curtains were shear so did nothing to darken the room. After finally getting sleep in the wee hours, we were woken before 6am when the sun rose!

For the following three nights, we learnt how to stuff the lourve slats with our own clothes and a blanket to cut out the light (it didn't help the noise though).

Although the windows were our biggest problem with the room, there were other issues that would prevent us from staying there again:
- The hot water system was terrible! Whenever we wanted to take a shower, we'd have to start running the water at least 5-10 minutes earlier. Also, whenever water was running (i.e. whenever flushed the toilet, whenever we washed our hands), the water system behind the toilet would continually kick in and was very noisy. We couldn't flush the toilet at night because of this, nor use any of the taps.
- It had the smallest shower in the world. Basically, if you dropped the soap, you'd have to get out of the shower to pick it up. Don't even think about shaving your legs...
- There were no reading lamps, only one pillow each, no mirrors except one over the basin in the bathroom and no internet. The cleaner came once but didn't restock our toilet paper. There were no toiletries (inc. soap) provided.
We emailed David in the morning after our first night with all of these issues. Late that night we got an 'out of office' reply that perhaps wasn't so automated (can yahoo even let you do out of office messages?!?). Anyway, it said that David was conveniently out of the office until our last day. Hmm, he didn't tell us that when we checked in! We didn't want to call again because he only had a mobile
number and we didn't think we should have to pay just to get feedback/help from the proprietor! Well, the final day came and went and still no word from David. We checked out and eventually emailed David from the airport and told him what we thought. He basically told us he wasn't interested in our complaints; wasn't interested in fixing anything; and that we should have rung him rather than email. We replied but have since not heard anything else.

So, would I recommend my friends or even enemies to stay here...? The
answer is NO. Next time, I would pay 10 euros more and stay in a proper hotel or B&B where you can actually get some sleep and some service from the proprietor.

  • Liked — Proximity to the Vatican & the Metro
  • Disliked — Noisy street and poor service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank burry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2007

clean and well positioned for The Vatican, however very basic in that little storage space to store clothes other than a wardrobe, IE no chest of drawers, small bathroom and the shower rail was broken meaning had to shower holding nozzle, room was not made up on second day, and on last day owner had organised a taxi back to airport for us, after waiting 10 minutes for it to arrive decided to leave and get our own which was actually 20 Euros cheaper.
Basically don't expect a suite, just a small double bedroom with small bathroom.
For breakfast went out to local bakery and brought back stuff, one on same side of street another 200m or so down, and one opposite side about 100m. Also good bar same side about 150m down ( higher numbers)
However did find great place to eat on last night, Lingua Lunga on the Piazza Dell'Unita, only about 200yards away and really good food!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ian.spence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2006

this apartment was great value. it was clean, tidy and warm (needed in winter). we arrived by a taxi from the airport ( organised by 'vatican suites') and were warmly welcomed when arrived and given great advice on where to go, where not to go and tips on where to eat out.
the apartment was a ten minute walk from st peters and a five minute walk to a taxi rank. on the street there were many take-aways, cafe`s and restaurants with a general store 2 minutes away. we stayed for five nights and our apartment was cleaned during this time which was an added bonus. we would definately go again.

thanks

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#551 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Genziana
#457 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Hotel Roma Tiburtina
#558 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Hotel Capannelle
#547 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican Suites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Suites Inn

Property: Vatican Suites Inn
Address: Via Degli Scipioni 121, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #720 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Suites Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vatican Suites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatican Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing