We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saturnia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia
Ranked #543 of 1,284 Hotels in Rome
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two years ago and decided to use it again this year because we found it so convenient and friendly. We were travelling through Rome at the beginning and the end of our holiday and so stayed in it both times we were in Rome.

The location is excellent. A ten minute walk from Termini station (trains, buses, metro) and ten minutes from the Imperial Forum and the Colosseum.

It is not the most modern or plush of hotels but it has a lot of character. The rooms that we have experienced were very suitable for our needs - enough space to put things away and to move about, good bathroom, and very clean.

The breakfast is very adequate with the usual choice of meat, cheese, pastries, and fruit that you tend to get in hotels in Italy. We were well able to get ourselves fuelled up for our morning explorations.

There is no lift and this could be a problem for some people but the staff are always willing to take the luggage up to the room. WiFi is available but the reception can be weak in some rooms.

I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a good hotel in a very attractive and convenient location.

Room Tip: Room 108 is tiny. We are not big but we could hardly move about. Room 404 is on the top floor but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seemakell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    226
    107
    49
    39
See reviews for
99
404
74
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived in Rome during a thunderstorm, and when we looked in our bathroom on the second floor we saw that water was dripping through the light fitting on the ceiling. This turned out to be a lucky break however, as when I went down to reception to tell them, the chap gave me a key to a room on the top floor which turned out to be much bigger and have a large rooftop balcony with a nice view (which was shared with one other room, but whose occupants we never saw apart from their towels). I assume this was a superior double for which we would have had to pay more, the first room we saw was a standard double very compact but would have been acceptable had it not been for the leaking ceiling. The staff were pleasant and the continental breakfast was absolutely fine. The location is extremely convenient, within a few minutes walk of the main station if you're arriving by train, the bus from the airport which we took also stops there. Within a few hundred metres of the hotel, which is in a quiet side street off the main road, are small shops and bars, an Irish Pub and Santa Maggiore Church which has an amazing interior. A ten minute walk down the road will take you to the Colosseum which is also worth a visit!

Room Tip: Could be worth paying more for a superior room with a balcony as the standard rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingolfing, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel offers truly excellent value for money. For the price you shouldn't expect 5* luxury, but frankly whilst visiting Rome you should be exploring the city, not lazing around in a hotel room. The front desk staff were helpful, the room pleasant, the air conditioning operational, the bathroom clean, the location central, the character memorable, and the breakfast wholesome. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dingowasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good value, great location, place has a lot of character unlike many more expensive places to stay in Rome. Alejandro, the front desk staff and the sweet girl from Romania were more than just employees but rather were a true help in our trip with everything from making sure that we had an enjoyable stay to helping us rent a wheelchair when my wife broke her foot. Definitely above and beyond the call

The breakfast was good the whole staff made our stay there as good as it could be.
Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very good value for the price! Excellent English speaking staff ... very friendly and helpful !! The room was a bit small but with everything you need. The shared bathroom was pretty clean and breakfast was very good. The location is perfect, you can walk to the city center and train station safely at any time. I had a good time at the Hotel Saturnia, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TF0rbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a good time in Hotel Saturnia, very friendly staff and very helpful. The breakfast was good and so was the room itself. The beds were not so good in our room but that was the only thing that was not good. The location was very good enough places to eat for a good price within walking distance and so was the city centre. We enjoyed staying there, thank you staff of Hotel Saturnia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel with really friendly and service-minded staff. Booking through their website it is not really clear about AC and shared bathrooms. Decent breakfast, nothing special. Bit noisy traffic outside if you get rooms towards the main street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sircantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Verona Hotel
Verona Hotel
#276 of 1,284 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#221 of 1,284 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Monti
Hotel Canova
Hotel Canova
#512 of 1,284 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#255 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fiori
Hotel Fiori
#759 of 1,284 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#353 of 1,284 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia

Property: Hotel Saturnia
Address: Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saturnia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Saturnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturnia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing